S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting
Kudos to Mr Heng for the new P1 registration rule! :rahrah: Though I still feel this shld be implemented long ago. But I seriously wonder how this new policy will impact those applying for the elite schools like ACS, MCS etc...which not many PRs will apply, rite?
caroline3sg:
where got... Dun anyhow hantum lah...
Unless Principals select SG volunteers. But still there is also grassroots volunteers and they are mostly PRs
Hip hip hooray :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:
From today’s ST…
"‘The new announcement really takes a lot of stress off my mind,’ said Singaporean housewife Phyllis Lee, 37, who has been worrying about the competition her five-year-old daughter Leah will face when she applies to the school next year.
Ms Lee and her family live about 1.5km away from the school, and both she and her husband are not Tao Nan alumni. Leah has an older brother in St Stephen’s School."
Ha… Good example of who will be joining the ballot Q… -
\"But training and development director Shweta Garg, a 32-year-old Indian national who moved to Marine Parade to give her six-year-old son a chance to get into schools there, said: 'A rule is a rule. There are always international schools. But I believe if he has the ability, he can study at a neighbourhood school and do well.'\"
Well said... :siam: -
caroline3sg:
Unless Principals select SG volunteers. But still there is also grassroots volunteers and they are mostly PRs[/quote]LOLMum:
[quote=\"Freesia\"]The PR still has Phase 2B leh....
you cant get rid of them totally but you can reduce the no. and it could be a great reduction.
i dont think it would matter much because they would have the last bite of the cake in phase 2b.
eg if phase 2b in a school has 30 places and 35 application with 9 are pr.
i rather have this new rule whereby all 26 citizens get in and the 9 pr have to ballot for the remaining places instead of all 35 application ballot for a slot (even if citizens have 2 papers and pr has 1) cos chances of all 9 pr getting in is higher. -
I’m a PR, with a daughter about to enter school next year. I think this change is pretty major, and will have an impact on PR’s in Singapore and how they feel about being here.
I could easily send her to an international school, but I’d choose not to for several reasons - the primary one being I want my kids to integrate as much as possible, and I feel international schools have a tendency to produce kids who can be a little arrogant and ‘entitled’. It’s a common debate among expats, and there are always a significant minority who feel the same way I do.
I’ll never go SC, why would I want to? I’ve no desire to give up my UK passport, and my wife would never give up her Aussie passport. If Singapore keeps forcing the issue with moves like this I’ll leave, there are plenty of other countries which would value my skills and aren’t quite as hostile as Singapore is starting to appear to be to foreign talent.
Property will be impacted, those areas with good schools in the past had higher property prices for school reasons, now though there’s no point when an SC 10KM away will have priority over you.
Schools will be impacted, as mentioned PR’s will find it very difficult now to get into good schools. What this will mean for those schools, and the knock on effect on other schools remains to be seen, but clearly it’s a game changer. Will some PR’s leave because of it, absolutely - education of your kids is an essential part of most peoples lives, and one of the reasons people come to Singapore is because of the reputation of the schools. This move clearly changes that dynamic for PR’s.
I understand where this move has come from, and the frustrations of SC’s losing out to PR’s for school places, I’d feel the same way. But as in all thinks in life there are consequences and while I’m not sure we know fully what these will be with this move, I’m certain there will be some fall out in the longer term not just for PR’s but for Singapore in it’s global reputation for foreign talent given the main reason most of us come here is as much about family as the financials. -
Straits Times, March 26, 2012
Singaporean parents cheer new rules for P1 registration
Two mothers in Marine Parade both want to get their children into Tao Nan School, a brand-name school in the area that sees intense competition for its coveted Primary 1 spots every year.
But they could not have had more diverse reactions to the announcement by the Education Ministry on Sunday that Singaporeans will get 'absolute priority' over permanent residents (PRs), when there are more applicants than vacancies in specific registration phases.
'The new announcement really takes a lot of stress off my mind,' said Singaporean housewife Phyllis Lee, 37, who has been worrying about the competition her five-year-old daughter Leah will face when she applies to the school next year.
Ms Lee and her family live about 1.5km away from the school, and both she and her husband are not Tao Nan alumni. Leah has an older brother in St Stephen's School
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_781758.html -
in the past, schools like Tao Nan if you don’t stay < 1km, ZERO chance.
now for SC staying > 1km, think got chance ? -
Well said snaw...
I'm sure, as parents, we do not want to be in your situation as well.
All the best.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.