MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 460.2k Views 1 Watching
      dorisp

scotia:

I totally disagree with what u wrote!

If moe removes all connections and other phases, just go by distant n sibling. in d long run average Singapore will suffer too! All rich parents will have d means to buy within 1km of branded, so welfare of the rich kids are well taken care of!

After 5 yrs of staying there, they can sell their flat at even higher pricing, becos the next rich Singaporean parents will take over. In 10 yrs time, average singaporean will not be afford to move near 1km of all this branded school.

Now, u can see average Singaporean staying near this area, is also becos they r different phases for P1 registration. Once u removes them, I m sure that so call 'kiasu' parents will pay their way to get with the 1km mark!

Who loose out in d long run? Poor and average Singaporean' children, no welfare for them anymore.

Did you read my post in full?

All kiasu parent will pay their way to get within 1km? All those with no schooling kids will sell their flat?

Do you have data or statistics to show?

I repeat here again.. if, there's a flat for sale, at 20% above market rate for similar flat. It is within 1km of a very popular school whereby every year the SC there needs to ballot for a place. Successful rate is approx 50%.

Will you pay the 20% premium for a non-guaranteed place? Will you? Will all kiasu parent do that? I highly doubt so.

Will the rich give up the luxury of a big bungalow to squeeze into a HDB to have a try at the non-guaranteed place?

If, the flats cannot guarantee a place, will it still command a 20% premium?

Will it rise to 100% premium and squeeze poor Singaporean out of the picture? I guess some of the worry is really too far stretched.

Plus, let's consider the average income families.. if they are the alumni of a popular school but they stay very far away. WILL they go for the alumni sch? if they don't have car, no maids, both working.. will they? We have seen from this forum, that some do NOT. they choose a nearby school.

I guess, alumni priority with no distance consideration favors the rich even more!

Rich alumni hog the place of popular schools.
      Poor alumni give up their priority bcoz they stay too far. They simply can't afford to travel.
      Poor SC staying <1km squeezed out of the picture bcoz significant portion of places taken by rich alumni >2km.

So how? poor and average SC, no welfare for them!

PS: I hv no data.. you speculate I also speculate.. anyhow whack.. :evil:

:goodpost:

I enjoy reading your post. Very sincere in your discussion and didn't give names such as \"sour grapes\" to those who didn't agree with you. :evil:

• laughingcatL Offline
        laughingcat

dorisp:
        wayne lai:

Alumni is prioritized before grassroots/PV without any cap.

In future, there may be a situation (e.g. dragon year applicants) where the alumni takes up ALL the remaining spaces in a popular school. There will not be any spaces allocated for anyone else, regardless whether you are SC, PV, grassroots, or stay within 1km!

This intake will be siblings and alumni. Period.

Bring the grassroots/PV argument in ONLY after we have imposed an alumni CAP. We should continue to focus on old boys/girls until MOE has done something about this....

Aiyoh! Please lah, look at the MOE website again leh. There is cap on phase 2A lah. Both of you are wrong lah. Don't anyhow give wrong info leh.

Like I mentioned before, there used to be a cap at NYPS for dragon year babies. They cap for families with 3 children onwards when the applicants exceed vacancy.

absolut_vodka

so it's not 'sour grapes'? Check out the prices of properties near all the good/popular schools - that would tell u if there is a premium or not. It has also been reported before that people will pay a premium to be near a good school. That is statistics you can easily retrieve. it all comes back to the point of the problem 'good school' or not.

The point is different groups of people have different vested interest. To be really, really fair, then scrap all the phases.

dorisp:

I enjoy reading your post. Very sincere in your discussion and didn't give names such as \"sour grapes\" to those who didn't agree with you. :evil:

I was told I am sitting on a gold mine several times…my flat is walking distance to Pei Hwa. Even though my son is going to Sec 1 next year, I do not see the possibility of selling my flat.

dorisp

absolut_vodka:
              so it's not 'sour grapes'? Check out the prices of properties near all the good/popular schools - that would tell u if there is a premium or not. It has also been reported before that people will pay a premium to be near a good school. That is statistics you can easily retrieve. it all comes back to the point of the problem 'good school' or not.

The point is different groups of people have different vested interest. To be really, really fair, then scrap all the phases.
              dorisp:

Am only keen to discuss the topic and issues involved. I agree that others may disagree. It is more well respected that way.

dorisp

Found this article:

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC120328-0000064/Review-2-more-areas-in-Pri-1-admission

dorisp

laughingcat:
                  dorisp:

[quote=\"wayne lai\"]Alumni is prioritized before grassroots/PV without any cap.

In future, there may be a situation (e.g. dragon year applicants) where the alumni takes up ALL the remaining spaces in a popular school. There will not be any spaces allocated for anyone else, regardless whether you are SC, PV, grassroots, or stay within 1km!

This intake will be siblings and alumni. Period.

Bring the grassroots/PV argument in ONLY after we have imposed an alumni CAP. We should continue to focus on old boys/girls until MOE has done something about this....

Aiyoh! Please lah, look at the MOE website again leh. There is cap on phase 2A lah. Both of you are wrong lah. Don't anyhow give wrong info leh.

Like I mentioned before, there used to be a cap at NYPS for dragon year babies. They cap for families with 3 children onwards when the applicants exceed vacancy.[/quote] :? Sorry loh if I wrong number, P2A got cap? Would someone please help clarify? :roll:

• laughingcatL Offline
                    laughingcat

dorisp:

:? Sorry loh if I wrong number, P2A got cap? Would someone please help clarify? :roll:

Jialat lah........read here lah as quoted from the MOE website eh \"Should the number of applications exceed the number of vacancies for Phase 2A to 2C Supplementary, places will be balloted according to the home-school distance category in the following order of priority.\" :pokeeye: you need spectacles liao lah :evil:

That is why there are both registration date and announcement date for phase 2A to 2C sup.

vicki

laughingcat:
                      dorisp:

:? Sorry loh if I wrong number, P2A got cap? Would someone please help clarify? :roll:

Jialat lah........read here lah as quoted from the MOE website eh \"Should the number of applications exceed the number of vacancies for Phase 2A to 2C Supplementary, places will be balloted according to the home-school distance category in the following order of priority.\" :pokeeye: you need spectacles liao lah :evil:

That is why there are both registration date and announcement date for phase 2A to 2C sup.

I hope u mean this as a joke. If the abv situation happens, that will mean NO MORE spaces at all for 2B n 2C!

Which is why I strongly feel that it should be limited.

• laughingcatL Offline
                        laughingcat

vicki:
                        laughingcat:

[quote=\"dorisp\"]

I hope u mean this as a joke. If the abv situation happens, that will mean NO MORE spaces at all for 2B n 2C!

Which is why I strongly feel that it should be limited.[/quote]I don't quite catch you? :? Which part is a joke or confusing? I am just correcting forumer wayne lai that no way a school will only admit alumni and siblings only. There is a set of vacancy for phase 2A on the school discretion. Because there will be a slated vacancy set for 2A, confirm there will be remaining vacancy for subsequent phases. Hope i am not confusing you any further? Confirm i am right because i have been helping out at the school board on this.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 110 / 197