MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni

2.0k Posts 174 Posters 460.8k Views 1 Watching
      limlim

laughingcat:
      dorisp:

:? Sorry loh if I wrong number, P2A got cap? Would someone please help clarify? :roll:

Jialat lah........read here lah as quoted from the MOE website eh \"Should the number of applications exceed the number of vacancies for Phase 2A to 2C Supplementary, places will be balloted according to the home-school distance category in the following order of priority.\" :pokeeye: you need spectacles liao lah :evil:

That is why there are both registration date and announcement date for phase 2A to 2C sup.

The cap is the \"total\" vacancies.. meaning, like vicki said, if it happens, there'll be no places for P2B and later.

There is \"no cap\" in the sense that the limit is not a fraction of the total vacancies, but its entirety.

limlim

laughingcat:
        Just for sharing on my alma mater school. In fact i didn't know of this until one of the forumer shared this and i went to confirm this with the board.

The vacancy for alumni in 1990 Pri 1 registration actually exceed what the school had specified. The NYPS board decided that they could not absorb all its alumni. The cut-off was outside 2 km and families with less than 3 children. They were rejected with no chance of ballot.
        Information of this nature is not on MOE website.

However, such info is on KSP website. If not true, better alert Kiasu chief.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/understanding-singapore-primary-school-registration-processes
        http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/understanding-singapore-primary-school-registration-processes\" url=\"http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/understanding-singapore-primary-school-registration-processes:
        Distance Prioritization

Any student that applies for Phases 1 up to 2A2 will be successful. Therefore, there is no need for distance prioritization.
        http://i41.tinypic.com/mkur9z.jpg\">

absolut_vodka

agree - as I've posted before, its only the few popular schools that is causing so much grief... the rest of the schools in SG don't have many places filled up by alumni/old boys/old gals anyway so its people who cannot get their children into these few popular schools that are making so much noise.

will it really come to a stage where ALL the places are filled up by old boys/old gals? I honestly don't think so since birth rate is obviously going downhill. many of my friends are still single and even those married ones, not many want to have children.

On the other hand, the fact is that property prices are already very high now and properties around good schools still command a 10 - 15% price premium so pushing for proximity alone is definitely also not fair.

One is a fact and one is speculative (possibility of happening only)

aiyo, really, wasting so much ink arguing on alumni

the alumni problem affects only ACS, and recently CHS, and long time ago once affected NYPS, recently NYPS no problems on alumni with intake of 390, even after reducing from intake size of 420 due to single session school

actually ACS and CHS can solve the alumni problem by increasing one more class

talk as if the whole singapore all got alumni problems......if anyone noticed at all, most schools alumni phase of registration are having few take up, really pak bang on those days of registration

limlim

talk as if the whole singapore all got alumni problems......if anyone noticed at all, most schools alumni phase of registration are having few take up, really pak bang on those days of registration
            Why not look at it this way..

Alumni priority is not highly regarded for most/many schools.. why not just remove it? :evil:

on the other hand..

Everyone wants the school \"to be\" at the doorstep if they could.

Some may appreciate alumni school \"more\" than \"the\" nearby school.. but that is their individual preference..

Fact is, for the sch that they attended, EVERYONE appreciates it to be nearby. Who doesn't like to attend \"a school that is nearby\"?

Never hear anyone complain \"This popular school that my kids attends is right next door.. so irritating.. better for it to be further away.....\".. No right? so, distance is ALWAYs appreciated.

On the other hand.. you may hear \"I'm not interested in the alumni school\".. OR \"My alumni sch which is so popular is so far away.. not practical for my kids\".. So, alumni priority is NOT always appreciated. (Of coz, the very rich alumni can shift house and buy the nearby house for a guaranteed place.. I'm talking about average SC..)

Hence, Which one should have more priority? Naturally, the one that serves the greater interest.. right? right??

\"Shorter travel distance is ALWAYs welcomed\" (regardless of whether it is valued over alumni)

πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

absolut_vodka

well, if you appreciate 'proximity' so much, then move next door to a not so popular school. On top of enjoying the convenience of being next door to the school, you will probably free up some cash too. πŸ™‚

vratenza

I must echo Janet again... Alumni has 2 phases.... Phase 2A1 - pay to be member should go. Phase 2A2 - old boys/old girls should stay.

clarification: don't you need to be old boys/old girls before you can join as alumni? :scratchhead:

limlim

A person want to attend the school near to his/her house does not imply that he/she is willing to move his/her house to be near to that school.

Not everyone will shift house for the sake of being close to a school.

I for one, will Not. How many here will?

see.. You got it wrong again..

I like where I stay, and there a school near my place. My choice of school weights heavily on proximity. I choose the school based on where I stay.

Not choose where I want to stay based on where is the school..

absolut_vodka:
                  well, if you appreciate 'proximity' so much, then move next door to a not so popular school. On top of enjoying the convenience of being next door to the school, you will probably free up some cash too. πŸ™‚

• laughingcatL Offline
                    laughingcat

laughingcat:

Just for sharing on my alma mater school. In fact i didn't know of this until one of the forumer shared this and i went to confirm this with the board.

The vacancy for alumni in 1990 Pri 1 registration actually exceed what the school had specified. The NYPS board decided that they could not absorb all its alumni. The cut-off was outside 2 km and families with less than 3 children. They were rejected with no chance of ballot.

Information of this nature is not on MOE website.

However, such info is on KSP website. If not true, better alert Kiasu chief.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/understanding-singapore-primary-school-registration-processes
                    http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/understanding-singapore-primary-school-registration-processes\" url=\"http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/understanding-singapore-primary-school-registration-processes:
                    Distance Prioritization

Any student that applies for Phases 1 up to 2A2 will be successful. Therefore, there is no need for distance prioritization.
                    http://i41.tinypic.com/mkur9z.jpg\">

Mr limlim, it was true. No speculation. I have seen the memo from the MOE but don't know how to upload. However, if you have the time, you can still find it in the MOE website media center bah. Dated 1990. Bear this in mind, what I have shared was 1990 and the policy link that you have shared are not the same as 1990.

If kaypoh enough, can always call NYPS to confirm this. :evil:

MotherHen

For some schools, the alumni is part of its tradition and has helped to shape its identity. You step into these schools and that sense of kinship and family is almost palpable. I think alumni of these schools will know what I am talking about. And I know (correct me if I am wrong), that many of us will think it a shame if this spirit is gone.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying proximity to school is not important. But what one values more – whether proximity or alumni connection – boils down to the individual, and I think we have to respect each other’s choices. Sarcasm and insinuations do not go down well either way.

I might be accused of being maudlin for saying this, but while we often mourn the demise of traditional values, of the kampong spirit, etc etc, why are we so eager to discard alumni connection? I just think that there is a place for alumni – even within our public school system.

• laughingcatL Offline
                        laughingcat

Anyway.......not going to spend my time in here. Not much use.....rather spend more fruitful time elsewhere bah. :siam:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 113 / 197

MandyLibM
                        MandyLib