All About Getting Help for Students Weak in English
parent_in_west:
Dear parent_in _west, I stay in west and am looking for a good tutor for my P4 boy. can you please pm me Ms Serena's HP no?
Hi, have you managed to contact Ms Serena? I received a pm from one of the parents asking about Ms Serena too so I msg her. She is busy with the setting up and registration of her own learning centre so she has probably missed your call. I think it is better to sms her and leave your contact details.yeomaylin:
Dear Parent-in-west,
I tried to contact Serena but to no avail. She must be very busy. I have emailed her too. Can you kindly ask her to call me? My no is 9821 2040. Thank you very much. -
WOW! Lotsa good and useful information to digest and use! :lovesite:
:thankyou: everyone. I will make use of the pointers here to help my nephew. (he is the only nephew i have, no nieces, plus my girl is at mom's place, that explain why can \"concentrate\" on him frequently. If can read once and benefit both kids, why not?
)
I have started with doing sight reading using his existing story books and those assessment books i bought from popular. That is a small start. His mom also enrolled him to a small group phonics reading enrichment, hopefully he can improve from there. We will frequently ask the teacher for feedback now.
Just the other day, after reading a book to him, i encouraged him to pick up books to read (on his own) during his free time n dun just play, he replied \"i don't know how to read.\" that made my heart wept, all the more want to help him. :xedfingers:
You guys have been most helpful. :love: next is to check out the books mentioned... -
hokkiengirl:
Thanks hokkien girl! I just ordered some of the books you recommended. Never knew about this free delivery website! Great...Here's a selection of books which kindergarten or lower primary kids may enjoy:
1) The shorter Roald Dahl's children's stories (The Twits, The Fantastic Mr Fox, The Enormous Crocodile, The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me)
2) Crook Catcher series by Karen Wallace
3) Minnie and Moo series by Denys Cazet
4) actually, most books by Denys Cazet
5) anything by Arnold Lobel (Frog and Toad series, etc)
6) The Mr Men series
7) Tales of Oliver Pig series
most books by Margaret Wise Brown
9) The Frances series by Russell Loban
cherrygal:
You're welcome! Nothing like a good book to get children hooked on reading.hokkiengirl:
Here's a selection of books which kindergarten or lower primary kids may enjoy:
Thanks hokkien girl! I just ordered some of the books you recommended. Never knew about this free delivery website! Great...
YY1205:
I stay in west and am looking for a good tutor for my P4 boy. can you please pm me Ms Serena's HP no?
Contact details can be found here : http://serenagreenhouse.blogspot.com/p/about-me-serenas-greenhouse-aka-mdm.html -
hi hokkiengirl and all
How long did it take for your books from Books Depository to arrive? Did it come in one package or a few at a time? Still cannot believe that there is free worldwide delivery⦠hahaha -
Hi, cherrygal!
Book Depository is pretty reliable. The books can come in individual packages or all together in a bigger package. The books usually come after two or three weeks, and they are in excellent condition. I've used them for a few years and have never been disappointed.
Thanks! Great to know...

Dear budsiLoveChubby:
Hey buds...
Heyya iLoveChubby! :peekaboo:iLoveChubby:
Wow! My very own stalker! :please:It's me again...your \"stalker\"... :rotflmao:
Take heart that you're not alone. :evil:
There are many more! :rotflmao:iLoveChubby:
I'm not siam-ing laa.. :hugs:Dont :siam: first , want to chk w u sth...really lah....
....: Does purely reading storybooks suffice on their memory of sight words or do we really have to get \"sight word readers\"?
The frequency of the reading plays a part and so does the child's best ways of absorption or retention. You see.. different children have different learning styles. Meaning different children learn BEST in many different ways. When we can bank in on how they enjoy learning best, that is when the learning will come from the heart and not because it is forced upon them. With this, the progress or acceleration of their learning pace will and can be faster.
I got to pick up reading from both phonemic awareness and sight reading... and my mumsie was not English educated. I shared it here in this http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/how-i-started-reading
iLoveChubby:
Yes. Scholastic has plenty to choose from plus some are easily available at Popular bookstores these days. I personally used Peter and Jane cos that was what Mumsie used for us.Do you have gd recommendations on any specific titles on sight word readers? I thk there are some under Scholastic?
It is a wee dry after a while especially for children who enjoy more colourful or more cartoonish graphics and more interesting story line that they can relate to.
Thematic readers are also fine. Good phonics readers will contain sight words inclusion to ensure children grasp both phonics and sight words as learning in tandem makes more sense in the reading and also the fluency. Without sight words, proper sentences are impossible to be constructed. I have shared some thematic readers at this http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=3082&hilit=thematic+readers
I love these at this http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=28603#p28603, plus it is free for when you want it done with your kiddies. Enjoy!
I have more of course, but haven't had the time to update... as usual. :politebleah: Just remember, they don't hafta be expensive to be effective. :celebrate: Some best things in life are free.
:thankyou: for taking time to share with me & e rest of the parents on KSP. :hugs:
Your posts are always worth reading over and over again.
P&J is a widely popular series that I know many parents have used them to work wonders on their kids. But somehow my kid does not like it.
Like what you mentioned, we have to try to find out what is best for them, what books/activities they truly enjoy so as to be able to maximize their learning ability.
Learning comes most naturally when one is enjoying the process.
One of the few books that my kid is willing to pickup and read aloud is from innovative kids series (thanks for your recommendation :imcool: )... sentences like \"a big pig jigs and slips on his wig..\" tickles him q abit. -
My son was in ICR but it didnβt work well for him. He was there for 2 years. Till today, because his foundation is weak, he still struggles.
So when my daughter was in k2, I send her to mrs Sam learning formula. She can read and write well. She was in their magic spell program and they do guarantee the result. However, it is not easy to send your kid at this stage a it is a 4 times a week for 4 consecutive months.
Give them a all for a free assessment and they may help to point out your kid weakness.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.