S'poreans to get priority for P1 places during balloting
carilyn:
Her kids is Singaporean right? If yes, than no problem at all.My sis in law is a malaysian by birth, but her whole family has uprooted to Singapore. All her siblings are Singaporean and parents PR. Since she did not meet the criteria before marriage, she remains a blue IC holder. After the birth of her 2nd child, she finally got her PR. She is anxiously waiting for her citizenship now.
Now, she dun understand a single word of Malay, no relatives, no home in malaysia. She was here since young and all her friends and families are here. But she is still a PR now. Does that mean her children should be discriminated? I think there are plenty of cases like this out there. So how do we differentiate what is what and who is who? There ate also many Singaporeans, even amongst my friends, who has totally every single intention of migrating once opportunity arises. They, too, tap on our education subsidies, etc but many have totally no intention of returning. So this group how? -
Ya, what I am trying to point out is - we shouldnβt go into such detailed division of kar Kee lang and not kar Kee Lang. I think we should just be more tolerant since we are sharing not only the same planet but the same little red dot. Well. The whole world does not revolve around only this issues, I am sure there are many more bigger issues in life to tackle.
My bro and sis in law are alumni- less (sorry, use this thread, should go the other thread but just to illustrate my point) since all the primary schools near our area has been torn down few years back. Later they built another school, but due to discipline etc the enrolment is low. A rather good, but not super school moved here around the same time. My nephews will be school age in another few years time and all along we thought they will have no problem since the better school is within 1 km. but alas, I later found out that at least 2 of my friendsβ children were in this school tho they stayed more than 2 km away. They got in through PV and grassroots or what. Of coz, there agree also many PRs who moved here to get into that school. So you see, there are just many factors why we dun get into the schoo, of choice, besides PR problem. I am not sure if the new policy will give us better chances, but better than none.
KSP:
or BC issued by ICAOMG :yikes: simple thing make till so cheem....
SINGAPOREAN = PINK IC, regardless when/where you came from
Yes totally agree.Since MOE has made the decision to give priority to Singaporeans with immediate effect, we should be satisfied. It's disturbing to read some of the posts.
It's not easy to be granted Singapore citizenship. Of course there are some who get this privilege and misuse it. We should not have any discussion to further differentiate between PURE Singaporeans and those converted ones...this will cause differences and rifts.
Just to nitpic
or BC issued by ICAKSP:
OMG :yikes: simple thing make till so cheem....
Not necessary.
Any Child born to PR parents will also be issued a BC by ICA. -
Sun_2010:
Just to nitpic
or BC issued by ICAlimlim:
[quote=\"KSP\"]OMG :yikes: simple thing make till so cheem....
Not necessary.
Any Child born to PR parents will also be issued a BC by ICA.[/quote]okie.. let me qualify it with
BC with the words stated \"Singapore Citizen\"...... coz small kids no pink iC.. -
Is this the post everyone's talking about? :scratchhead:for next change of rules, suggest MOE tighten up loop holes:-
a) fine tune definition on the word, \"absolute Priority\".
it should truly reflect \"absolute priority for All pure SC - throughout the Entire P1 Registration process\", NOT just some
miserable \"absolute priority of SC over PR - within each phase\" only.
ie. Phase 1 to 2C reserved solely to admit pure SC kids.
by right, this word \"absolute\" should not be used loosely.
Then create a new phase called \"2D\" - admit next round of impure SC and PR kids, fill up remaining vacancies (if any).
definition:-
impure SC kids - are those with only one PR parent converted to SC, not both.
PR kids - are those with two PR parents.
http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/showthread.php?60909-Tan-Jee-Say-says-that-MOE-not-telling-the-whole-truth-about-P1-priority-DUN-BE-DAFT
b) for popular, branded schools - whole family (Father, Mother and child) to convert to SC.
Abolish \"half PR, half SC\" parents to give their PR child SC status so easily.
Right now, this group of impure SC come in readily compete direct head on with us, pure SC parents. There are many PRs even if one of the spouse is SC. This is not absolute priority given to us, pure SC.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=410&start=380 -
:slapshead: alamak, that post was almost buried and you dug it up again. :razz:
Orh.......... :razz:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.