How much household income is enough?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    156 Posts 40 Posters 82.8k Views 1 Watching
      puff

nobodybutchiew:
      Sorry to borrow TS's thread. I have a related question/situation so hope I can hear some people's opinion.

My wife and I are both still working, she's 14 weeks pregnant now. It's been a tough 1st trimester, and hopefully her symptoms will improve. However, she's not optimistic and feels dread when she's going to work. As such she's thinking about quitting and just wants to focus on giving birth. I empathise with her and wish that I could give her a good life too, but my take home salary is about $3,800.

Furthermore, our new flat is coming about the same time as the baby. So the costs of baby stuff and renovation will all be coming at the same time. We have savings about $30k, but dunno will it be enough anot.

Of course, the health and happiness of my wife and baby is top priority, but at the back of my mind i'm also thinking, if she can just hold out until she gives birth, it will help so much! Women are entitled to like 4 months maternity leave and get paid to rest! It's like free money...

Has anyone been in this situation before? What was the final choice you made and how did you cope?
      Bring home $3800 can be enuff provided
      1.your new HDB loan monthly installment is fully paid using CPF n no cash involved
      2. You dun have to pay for car liability eg car loan , rd tax
      3. You dun have excessive insurance policies
      4. You dun take up Reno loan

You can also consider rent out a room of your flat to increase income. Happiness is wat $ can't buy ๐Ÿ˜„

nobodybutchiew

Yes, her case sounds pretty severe. Hopefully with 1st trimester passed, her condition will be significantly better. Has she tried small but frequent meals? My first trimester with the 2 girls were bad. The smell of the canteen can make me puke. Also while people enjoy their food at the restaurant, the look of it makes me sick. The \"blessing\" is that after delivery, I don't have much to lose since I was \"losing weight\" while pregnant.

But I share the view that depression is the key concern for her especially with those issues going on. With or without a job also another factor to worry..... Really not easy.

Maybe ask her to take it slow. Take one step at a time and buy time. If she really cannot take it, then resign. Provide your emotional support to her. Money though important cannot buy everything. In situations like that, we got to step back.

How about asking her to join some of those motherhood forum. So that she can talk about the problems she faced. She might come across other mothers who are in the same condition and that will provide some support on how to handle and emotionally as well.
        Yup, she's tried small and frequent meals. She was also constantly losing weight up till 13 weeks. Thankfully when the doctor weighed her yesterday, she's put on 1kg! I'm really happy for that.

Yup, i've advised her to go online and read up on what other mothers are going through. She's not really in the mood these days, but hopefully while she's on her 2 week MC, she'll take the time to do some homework. I believe if she sees that other mothers go through the same things, she will feel that it's normal and won't feel so dejected. (she thinks everyone else have easy pregnancies)
        puff:

Bring home $3800 can be enuff provided
        1.your new HDB loan monthly installment is fully paid using CPF n no cash involved
        2. You dun have to pay for car liability eg car loan , rd tax
        3. You dun have excessive insurance policies
        4. You dun take up Reno loan

You can also consider rent out a room of your flat to increase income. Happiness is wat $ can't buy ๐Ÿ˜„
        Thanks so much, I really needed to hear that.

1. Thankfully when we booked our flat, the 4-room flats had already sold out, so we were forced to buy a 3-room flat. Although small, I'm very thankful that our CPF can fully cover for it.
        2. We don't have a car, although we have a very high reliance on taxis.
        3. Not sure what's excessive. Mine is about $200 a month, hers is $300 a month.
        4. We'll probably get a no-interest loan with a perpetual payback period from our parents. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

hquek

OT. My fren had morning sickness the whole of ten months and she lost weight during the pregnancy. Baby was fine (baby will suck up mummy's vitamins). Not all have it easy.

It could be hormones at play. Suggest that you sign her up at http://www.babycenter.co.uk. Their website is excellent and they give monthly/weekly(?) updates as to how your baby looks like now.

Hope all goes well for you!

peapot

What is OT?

Anyway I think 30K for the time being should be enough to tide you through as you do not seem to have any other loan Plus your parents are providing financial help.

Did your wife try Eu Ren Sen chinese doctor? They can give some medications to provide relief during a difficult pregnancy. My relative was pregnant at 40 with twins!! imagine!! She constantly went for consultation at Eu Ren Sen and she gave birth to healthy baby twins boys. Today, they are already 8!!! I remembered she told me the medicine helps her alot.

cherrygal

OT = Off Topic?

Haha... this income thread become nausea thread... ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, get your wife to tahan another 5-6 months... dun rugi the maternity leave coz if she leaves now, no company will hire her. And if she really dun want to stay in this job, just do the bare minimum. The company cannot sack her during her pregnancy. Just leave on the dot, push the deadlines, tell gynae to give her as many MCs as possible... most gynaes are very generous with MCs. Then she can quit 2 months after her maternity leave stating that she wants to stay home for the baby. Many of my frens did this...

Her boss will pull hair... hahaha

autumnbronze

Get 2nd hand baby/educational stuff.

Check out ksp garage sale or Singapore motherhood forum.

My 2 cents ๐Ÿ˜„

cnimed

Yes, no need to splurge on babyโ€™s stuff or renovation. Keep things to necessities if possible. My parents always tell me how they started with a flat with no furniture except a bed and a table. They didnโ€™t even have chairs. For us it was just a bit better - we had chairs, a sofa, and a TV and that was all. I was glad we were prudent because baby had a congenital condition and we paid 15k for the two operations. It was the sum I was just paid for my last project, and the money goes so quickly when there are medical issues. My husband was then a fresh grad waiting to start his contract and had zero savings, and I really pat myself on the back for my financial prudence over the years.

But you know, kids grow up and financial situations do improve as long as one is prudent, so once you have done your calculations and see where you can save, donโ€™t worry too much.

autumnbronze

:hi5: deminc

DH and I started out with bare necessities too when we moved out from my in-laws. While my peers were drowning in reno debt in addition to other expenses, we lived simply. Over the years, we have been able to slowly acquire some good furniture.

The other thing we did was to plan ahead with our purchase of fixtures. The flat was vacant for some time before we moved in. We would trawl along Balestier and other areas for sales of bathroom fixtures and floor tiles. We got our Grohe at a really good deal. Also our marble flooring, which was from a wholesaler who was clearing stock.

nobodybutchIew,

I hope your wife gets better. it's very important that she stays positive at this point of time.

All the best :celebrate:

• FunzF Offline
                      Funz

cherrygal:
                      OT = Off Topic?

Anyway, get your wife to tahan another 5-6 months... dun rugi the maternity leave coz if she leaves now, no company will hire her. And if she really dun want to stay in this job, just do the bare minimum. The company cannot sack her during her pregnancy. Just leave on the dot, push the deadlines, tell gynae to give her as many MCs as possible... most gynaes are very generous with MCs. Then she can quit 2 months after her maternity leave stating that she wants to stay home for the baby. Many of my frens did this...

:skeptical: And we wonder why pregnant women are being discriminated against. :razz:

If really don't want to work anymore, do everyone, boss, fellow workers and yourself a favour. Quit on a good note.

• MMMM Offline
                        MMM

cherrygal:

OT = Off Topic?

:skeptical: And we wonder why pregnant women are being discriminated against. :razz:

If really don't want to work anymore, do everyone, boss, fellow workers and yourself a favour. Quit on a good note.

I have to agree with Funz on this. I think we should all behave professionally since we are paid to do the job. Being pregnant doesn't give us the priviledge to act like queen bee on the job. All these behaviors will potentially be considered during performance appraisal. I've also heard of friends who were given the \"handshake\" when they returned after their maternity leave for poor performance. They tried to appeal to MOM but to no avail.

If it is due to performance issues, the company can still sack someone during pregnancy. I've seen that before. They will pay for notice period and out of good will, few more months. But imagine the pregnant lady cannot get a job during this period. It's not discrimination if the company can prove that it is due to performance issues. But in most big companies, they try to be compassionate.

I personally feel that one needs to be very open with the boss as to what she is going through. Everyone's experience is different. Unless the boss is someone stone hearted, they will usually understand. I had a single mum coming to me that she is gg to deliver in 2 weeks time. :shock: What to do? We just got to be compassionate and make arrangements. But I personally thought it's good she came clean with me so that we can support her in the future.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 14 / 16