Is GEP really necessary?
drickymummy:
Because of this DSA thing, some schools (maybe not RI/HCI level) do give a bye and CO to these kids for the fact that they r GEPPERS.Mommies n daddies,
Correct me if I m still in a dreaming state..
May I know what short cuts did MOE gave to the GEPpers?
Also, the T-score for GEP to get the EESIS is alot lower than mainstream.
Perhaps I shd not have use 'short cut'...'advantage' wld be better, ya? When I was typing, I was thinking like GEP can somehow cut queue....*LOL* -
For the benefit of all chosen for this programme, the actual number shld first be reduced to 200-250 pupils max. Undivided attention can than be given to the selected ones.
The above suggestion can help to significantly reduce those who are planning to attend the prep classes and may even ensure that more bona fide ones are chosen. -
Edureach:
...so that would be the top __ percent har? :? Getting more and more prestigious liao :rubhands:For the benefit of all chosen for this programme, the actual number shld first be reduced to 200-250 pupils max. Undivided attention can than be given to the selected ones.
The above suggestion can help to significantly reduce those who are planning to attend the prep classes and may even ensure that more bona fide ones are chosen. -
For application for scholarships, local and foreign uni places, top courses, interviews etc, there’s no column for one to fill in whether u are from gep or not neither do the interviewers ask.
So for those who are intending to send their kids for the prep prog, why not save the money and use it for overseas top unis later?
Let go because this prog is really not significant to long term academic success. -
Its all in the parents' mind and perception. Nothing prestigious really.
...so that would be the top __ percent har? :? Getting more and more prestigious liao :rubhands:Edureach:
For the benefit of all chosen for this programme, the actual number shld first be reduced to 200-250 pupils max. Undivided attention can than be given to the selected ones.
Edureach:
Its all in the parents' mind and perception. Nothing prestigious really.[/quote]Actually, true. When overseas, you say GEP. They say har? :siao:
...so that would be the top __ percent har? :? Getting more and more prestigious liao :rubhands:concern2:
[quote=\"Edureach\"]For the benefit of all chosen for this programme, the actual number shld first be reduced to 200-250 pupils max. Undivided attention can than be given to the selected ones.
The above suggestion can help to significantly reduce those who are planning to attend the prep classes and may even ensure that more bona fide ones are chosen.
You say I top XXX international exam or qualify for XXX top university with XXX scholarship, they say :udawoman: :udaman: So, yes. I'm just wondering what parents are doing these days, burning kids out at this rate. -
And really, forget about the GEP DSA. Nonsense!
2ppaamm:
Haha! We are on the same frequency. if a pupil can score 80% and above in their gep, no problem to score above 262 in psle.
Even if he/she misses due to unforseen circumstances such as an illness during psle exam, can always make amends in sec school and choose to transfer later if he/she wishes. -
2ppaamm:
:rotflmao: That's more straight to the point. But hor, it takes a lot of thinking and analyzing for parents to come to this conclusion. Probably the 1 percent of parents. Hahaha! -
Edureach:
2ppaamm:
we had read in other thread cases of P6 parents last year whose children offered DSA and had accepted the offer. However after PSLE results came out, they wanted to get out of their DSA offer, rush down quickly to another Secondary school make appeal, change school !
so isn't \"GEP DSA advantage\" slapping herself ?
if indeed is an advantage, then we shouldn't be witnessing these happening ! If have to rush down and make appeal, means \"GEP DSA\" had turned into a DISAdvantage instead!
agree with 2ppaamm. Forget about \"GEP DSA advantage\".
Every child just wait for PSLE results to determine which Secondary school to enter.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.