Smalltou

I just received an email from e school to submit an application on the topics few posted… Any prev pv here with tips on how best to write the "essay"? Fqw? Hee

Drickymummy - lucky u got in thru balloting! Or it would have been upsetting? Was phpps worth e "stress"?

Janet - thanks for e advise! We will see how the pv application goes. If hubby and I are lucky enough to be selected we will probably then move within 1 km to cement the chances. As it is also a stretch on finances to move over to tt area at this juncture. If not we just gotta ballot for the sch nearest to us currently which is actually even more oversubscribed at 1 km than phpps which was part of e reason why we considered shifting. This patroller school is a neighborhood school but doesn’t accept pv…

drickymummy

Smalltou:
        I just received an email from e school to submit an application on the topics few posted.. Any prev pv here with tips on how best to write the \"essay\"? Fqw? Hee

Drickymummy - lucky u got in thru balloting! Or it would have been upsetting? Was phpps worth e \"stress\"?

Janet - thanks for e advise! We will see how the pv application goes. If hubby and I are lucky enough to be selected we will probably then move within 1 km to cement the chances. As it is also a stretch on finances to move over to tt area at this juncture. If not we just gotta ballot for the sch nearest to us currently which is actually even more oversubscribed at 1 km than phpps which was part of e reason why we considered shifting. This patroller school is a neighborhood school but doesn't accept pv..
        No no no. We didn't have to ballot for kids born in 2002 n within 1 km.. If not I would have been v angry for rejecting my request for PV! :evil:

Scary

Joyfulhands,

Think just follow the circular that was given to us before end of Term 1 for the Chinese Show and Tell. Should be quite safe.

Daddies and Mummies,
          Ya. . I agree that my expectation is rather demanding at times cos I was not a careless gal last time esp. in lower primary. Carelessness for me kicks in as I grow older. :rotflmao: Am comparing DS vs myself which I know is unhealthy. End up always tell DH that it must be his genes.

One thing that adds to the fire is DS's handwriting. Used to be neat and nice. However, since entering PH, it became untidy and messy. Reason given by DS: Need to write fast. Sigh. .. . told him he must train himself to be neat, nice and fast.

drickymummy

Scary:
            Joyfulhands,

Think just follow the circular that was given to us before end of Term 1 for the Chinese Show and Tell. Should be quite safe.

Daddies and Mummies,
            Ya. . I agree that my expectation is rather demanding at times cos I was not a careless gal last time esp. in lower primary. Carelessness for me kicks in as I grow older. :rotflmao: Am comparing DS vs myself which I know is unhealthy. End up always tell DH that it must be his genes.

One thing that adds to the fire is DS's handwriting. Used to be neat and nice. However, since entering PH, it became untidy and messy. Reason given by DS: Need to write fast. Sigh. .. . told him he must train himself to be neat, nice and fast.
            Scary mummy, carelessness is a common issue among kids ...sometimes could be due to situations like a timed test..they can be v Gan chiong too.. And that will happen to adults as well.. My Ds is also super careless but wat to do, just have to remind n remind n when comes to papers, teach him self checking methods to minimize mistakes lor. But these days, on top of carelessness is the worst nightmare of laziness! Like Ds, he just choose to ake short cuts by cutting out steps in math calculations n made lots of mistakes! This is bad! :frustrated: for carelessness, just remind can Liao..

Handwriting being messy is pretty unforgivable most of the time! In sch, sometimes I can understand they r rushed to finish their work.. Though I still find that he can at least try to write better, I can still let it go... But at home, and writing still as messy will sure kanna fr me too :rant: We have been gg thru correction tapes as though they are free :moneyflies: he needs a new 6m roll almost every wk for his sch bag n this is not taking into account the extra tape he uses at home! 😓 he gets angry when I ask him to write n rewrite again n again n he can be still stubborn at times..but I usually win in the end lor..after a molehill of correction tapes on the same spot... But sometimes when he does his work with more care n neatness I do remember to praise him for sure n he loves that.. So dun forget to praise your Ds too ah!

Funx3

drickymummy:

Scary mummy, carelessness is a common issue among kids ...sometimes could be due to situations like a timed test..they can be v Gan chiong too.. And that will happen to adults as well.. My Ds is also super careless but wat to do, just have to remind n remind n when comes to papers, teach him self checking methods to minimize mistakes lor. But these days, on top of carelessness is the worst nightmare of laziness! Like Ds, he just choose to ake short cuts by cutting out steps in math calculations n made lots of mistakes! This is bad! :frustrated: for carelessness, just remind can Liao..

Handwriting being messy is pretty unforgivable most of the time! In sch, sometimes I can understand they r rushed to finish their work.. Though I still find that he can at least try to write better, I can still let it go... But at home, and writing still as messy will sure kanna fr me too :rant: We have been gg thru correction tapes as though they are free :moneyflies: he needs a new 6m roll almost every wk for his sch bag n this is not taking into account the extra tape he uses at home! 😓 he gets angry when I ask him to write n rewrite again n again n he can be still stubborn at times..but I usually win in the end lor..after a molehill of correction tapes on the same spot... But sometimes when he does his work with more care n neatness I do remember to praise him for sure n he loves that.. So dun forget to praise your Ds too ah!
              Ha Ha .... I Can Just Imagine ....
              molehill of correction tapes on the same spot 😆 😆

But - Word of Caution on Correction Tape, though ....
              Not Exactly Encouraged.

When it Comes to Exam in Sec Sch ....
              Both My ds R Very adamant - Correction Tape is Not Allowed!
              They R Told to Cancel whatever Written Wrongly, and Re-write Again.

And with the Mole-Hill of Correction Tapes that your Son is So Reliant On ....
              Doing So Later .... Can Get Withdrawal Symptom -hor! :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Carelessness cannot be avoided...it can only be cut down if the child puts in effort to be careful and not kancheong to finish work/exams. My kids have the tendency to leave out essential alphabets or words. :stupid: for comprehension OE, sometimes these are key words. Missing a letter for synthesis or editing means the answer is wrong.

dolphin

FQW:

It was certainly a luxury to sleep till 8. Back to 'work' 2moro. Tuition at 930am.

Janet, you tutor hur? Thought you are SAHM. :scratchhead:
                  Scary:
                  Many P1 parents went MIA liao.

Pretty busy with their homework. DS didn't have much rest during the Mar holidays. Had to do book review, wrote about the first day of school, etc.

Term 2 Chinese spellings, mini tests, show and tell start. So parents busy with all these. Machiam going back to school for us. Actually worst, P1 standards like my P3/P4 standards last time. I don't even remember I had show and tell, only optional story telling competitions. :slapshead:
                  Last year my son like very free liddat leh, maybe because our standard not so high. I remembered he even can spend a few mths practising handwriting until I'm finally satisfied with his penmanship - since no need to prepare for CA/SA. But looking back, it was worth the effort as now at least his 4 don't look like 9, 7 don't look like 1, 人don't look like 入 (if you know what I mean).

Hi FQW,

Any pointer to improve handwriting for both English and chinese?

I have been nagging my DS since K1 ... Writing like a Doctor's handwriting on medical record card .... See Liao will faint

php

dolphin:
                    FQW:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]
                    It was certainly a luxury to sleep till 8. Back to 'work' 2moro. Tuition at 930am.

Janet, you tutor hur? Thought you are SAHM. :scratchhead:
                    Scary:
                    Many P1 parents went MIA liao.

Pretty busy with their homework. DS didn't have much rest during the Mar holidays. Had to do book review, wrote about the first day of school, etc.

Term 2 Chinese spellings, mini tests, show and tell start. So parents busy with all these. Machiam going back to school for us. Actually worst, P1 standards like my P3/P4 standards last time. I don't even remember I had show and tell, only optional story telling competitions. :slapshead:
                    Last year my son like very free liddat leh, maybe because our standard not so high. I remembered he even can spend a few mths practising handwriting until I'm finally satisfied with his penmanship - since no need to prepare for CA/SA. But looking back, it was worth the effort as now at least his 4 don't look like 9, 7 don't look like 1, 人don't look like 入 (if you know what I mean).

Hi FQW,

I have been nagging my DS since K1 ... Writing like a Doctor's handwriting on medical record card .... See Liao will faint[/quote]no worry la...your ds is learning to become a doctor....hahaha...

dolphin

Hi FQW,

I have been nagging my DS since K1 ... Writing like a Doctor's handwriting on medical record card .... See Liao will faint[/quote]

no worry la...your ds is learning to become a doctor....hahaha...[/quote]

Aiyo, if he can't even copy or write properly ... How to become doctor. Later kanna sue for misuse of drugs :yikes:

Smalltou

Drickymummy - oic.. Wld u mind sharing with me why u chose phpps? My \"feel\" is that phpps has a rich culture and strong focus on values and at e same time academic emphasis is also tt. Is that true? Thanks! 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1656 / 2049