Nan Chiau Primary
Hi all,
I would like to ask if I am a Singaporean, a member of SHHK but lives >2km from Nan Chiau, does my child get a chance to ballot for a slot in primary one? I am quite unclear of the criteria. Can someone please enlighten me?
Thank you very much! -
joanne_mas:
If your child is a Singaporean then s/he has priority over a PR in that particular phase.Hi all,
I would like to ask if I am a Singaporean, a member of SHHK but lives >2km from Nan Chiau, does my child get a chance to ballot for a slot in primary one? I am quite unclear of the criteria. Can someone please enlighten me?
Thank you very much!
What u really need is the recommendationletter from shhk to qualify for 2B which gives u a better chance than 2c.
How distance will come into play among Singaporean applicants this year is an unknown w/o govt releasing a breakdown of past statistics.
Previous years ncps only accept <1km or up to 2km in some years for 2B n <1km for balloting in 2c.
How the distance will come into play among Singaporeans applicants -
Vevey:
Hi Vevey, thks 4 yr info. Meaning that the smart phone which will be giving out to all P3 can be returned to school when we parents feel that our kids use it inappropriate manner. Must the P3 students need to carry the smart phone to school? I was thinking to keep the phone at home and let my girl uses it after school. Worry that she will either surfing net using the smart phone during lesson or loses it in school. Anyway, 2 more yrs to go.....
Most likely is to take photos.ectanz:
Heard from my girl that they will be given a smart phone or iPod during their excursion to the zoo next wk. Is it true? I told my girl to handle it well cos afraid that I hv to pay if she loses or damage it.
If it is true, may I know the purpose of giving the kids either the smart phone or iPod during the zoo trip?
All p3 were given 1 smart phone 24/7 for a year as part of research study but I gotten ds to return his to sch for good as he was surfing recreational websites during lesson time. He has enough distraction as it is le. -
ectanz:
Hi Vevey, thks 4 yr info. Meaning that the smart phone which will be giving out to all P3 can be returned to school when we parents feel that our kids use it inappropriate manner. Must the P3 students need to carry the smart phone to school? I was thinking to keep the phone at home and let my girl uses it after school. Worry that she will either surfing net using the smart phone during lesson or loses it in school. Anyway, 2 more yrs to go.....
Yes, can opt out of the research project anytime. Teacher is then supposed to replace the experience w \"traditional teaching materials\". :?
We gave it a try for 2 mths but it really didn't work out for DS1 who lack the self-discipline. They hv to bring the phone to sch & sometimes, use it for some miscellaneous work at home.
While at home, I kept the phone until he finished the rest of the work b4 letting him fiddle w it but at sch, it's out of our control. Yet, his teacher was unable to monitor their usage closely in a class of 40+ kids...
It's really unhealthy to see some kids still glued to their smartphone while walking out of the sch gate. The discipline master had to confiscate phone from a kid watch u-tube during last Wed assembly & I guess that's only the tip of ice-berg.
I still can't figure out why the sch is so keen on giving them a smartphone 24/7 when a humble calculator is yet to b allowed at his level. :siao: -
I was a little disturb today. I went to school today and pick up my DS (afternoon session), and I saw a teacher screaming and shouting at a school boy, in front of the boy’s mother. Later I asked my DS, and got to know the teacher’s name Mrs D. I am pretty shock to see a teacher behaving like that in a school compound. I think, if there is any problem with the kid, it should be taken into an office and talk, if the conversation needs to be done in a public area, then I think the teacher should exercise some restraints, shouting and screaming as a teacher just doesn’t look good… What are your thoughts and have you all have experience with this teacher?
So far, Ds’ teachers had spoken to me calmly at both PTM n gate, except for a younger teacher who was more animated. I put that down as her inexperience. Ha…
isjuke04:
I was a little disturb today. I went to school today and pick up my DS (afternoon session), and I saw a teacher screaming and shouting at a school boy, in front of the boy's mother. Later I asked my DS, and got to know the teacher's name Mrs D. I am pretty shock to see a teacher behaving like that in a school compound. I think, if there is any problem with the kid, it should be taken into an office and talk, if the conversation needs to be done in a public area, then I think the teacher should exercise some restraints, shouting and screaming as a teacher just doesn't look good.. What are your thoughts and have you all have experience with this teacher?
My DD was taught by her , also form teacher 3 yrs back. She belongs to 'old teacher' type. very blunt, and not so bother abt her appearance teacher... My DD aso dun like her, fierce..
but what to do, have to tahan till the whole yr lor..
I believe that in any schools, there are definitely good and not so good teachers. Like this yr, I just commented to my DD last nite, her this yr form teacher, eng teacher not good, unlike last yr's.
Oral exam next wk and till now, aso have nt revise with the class. Last yr, they had one to one practice. Eng Compo also. Neber give helpful keys to write better. My DD said her Eng teacher lazy wat.... -
It is true. If the kid is not self discipline, he will end up watching you tube & playing game at home instead of doing homework or read books. We as parents have to monitor. Take away the Smart phone from the kid if necessary.
Vevey:
From recent yrs, if you stay >2km, no chance even at Phase 2B as places all taken by those staying <2km. Not sure how this yr but guess equally bad.
If your child is a Singaporean then s/he has priority over a PR in that particular phase.joanne_mas:
Hi all,
Thank you very much!
What u really need is the recommendationletter from shhk to qualify for 2B which gives u a better chance than 2c.
How distance will come into play among Singaporean applicants this year is an unknown w/o govt releasing a breakdown of past statistics.
Previous years ncps only accept <1km or up to 2km in some years for 2B n <1km for balloting in 2c.
How the distance will come into play among Singaporeans applicants -
VJA:
my DD tells me that her maths teacher formerly from Raffles girls primary and the teacher always like to comment that the girls there are more quiet and in terms of tests always all have full marks.Keep commenting why my DD's class why not all have full marks. Dunno this teacher considered good or high standard or what?isjuke04:
I was a little disturb today. I went to school today and pick up my DS (afternoon session), and I saw a teacher screaming and shouting at a school boy, in front of the boy's mother. Later I asked my DS, and got to know the teacher's name Mrs D. I am pretty shock to see a teacher behaving like that in a school compound. I think, if there is any problem with the kid, it should be taken into an office and talk, if the conversation needs to be done in a public area, then I think the teacher should exercise some restraints, shouting and screaming as a teacher just doesn't look good.. What are your thoughts and have you all have experience with this teacher?
My DD was taught by her , also form teacher 3 yrs back. She belongs to 'old teacher' type. very blunt, and not so bother abt her appearance teacher... My DD aso dun like her, fierce..
but what to do, have to tahan till the whole yr lor..
I believe that in any schools, there are definitely good and not so good teachers. Like this yr, I just commented to my DD last nite, her this yr form teacher, eng teacher not good, unlike last yr's.
Oral exam next wk and till now, aso have nt revise with the class. Last yr, they had one to one practice. Eng Compo also. Neber give helpful keys to write better. My DD said her Eng teacher lazy wat....
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.