aiyoh:
Real or not...can hv ceremony in singapore?...employer favorite ahh....baby father got connection with employer or not???..want baby just anyhow get man issit...no need get husband one??..wah like dis very decent meh?moonee:
Ahhh, pregnancy!! something that we have to accept if it happens. My relative was shocked when her burmese maid was pregnant last december, kind of unexpected coming frm this maid who is really decent, anyway she had hr wedding ceremony in spore n left last month as she didnt want to put too much stress on the baby, she taught the new maid everything before she left, she too is my relatives favourite maid as she was very trusting, well she had her reasons for wanting a child as she always wanted to start a family....So, sometimes we hv to expect the unexpected.
Yah leh, very decent maid, 5 yrs in spore, had ceremony in a mynmar association and buddhist monk officiated her wedding. The husband is her relatives friend and they really wanted the baby even tho she was advised to abort. She was in love!!! She mentioned she knew her now husband for near 2 years, but got together for a year.... I have her invitation card but not too good to attend. She had like 80 guest athe ceremony. She showed me the wedding pictures.
No, employer never met or knew she had a man. Well wen it comes to matters of the heart, decent or not decent they wanted to start a family, btw shes 32 and knows what shes doing altho my relative was dissappointed and shock when she told them of her pregnany, seems like she was planning for it, so she aint that stupid. Anyway she served her employer very well all these years and looked after the house well.
Actually, the man is lucky to have her as his wife today. -
moonee:
Real or not...can hv ceremony in singapore?...employer favorite ahh....baby father got connection with employer or not???..want baby just anyhow get man issit...no need get husband one??..wah like dis very decent meh?aiyoh:
[quote=\"moonee\"]
Ahhh, pregnancy!! something that we have to accept if it happens. My relative was shocked when her burmese maid was pregnant last december, kind of unexpected coming frm this maid who is really decent, anyway she had hr wedding ceremony in spore n left last month as she didnt want to put too much stress on the baby, she taught the new maid everything before she left, she too is my relatives favourite maid as she was very trusting, well she had her reasons for wanting a child as she always wanted to start a family....So, sometimes we hv to expect the unexpected.
Yah leh, very decent maid, 5 yrs in spore, had ceremony in a mynmar association and buddhist monk officiated her wedding. The husband is her relatives friend and they really wanted the baby even tho she was advised to abort. She was in love!!! She mentioned she knew her now husband for near 2 years, but got together for a year.... I have her invitation card but not too good to attend. She had like 80 guest athe ceremony. She showed me the wedding pictures.
No, employer never met or knew she had a man. Well wen it comes to matters of the heart, decent or not decent they wanted to start a family, btw shes 32 and knows what shes doing altho my relative was dissappointed and shock when she told them of her pregnany, seems like she was planning for it, so she aint that stupid. Anyway she served her employer very well all these years and looked after the house well.
Actually, the man is lucky to have her as his wife today.[/quote]Alamak, this marriage not recognized in Singapore and probably Myanmar too. Buddist monk in Singapore cannot officiate wedding. Even if they do, it is not legally binding. Singapore law does not allow WP holders to get married here. Hope she went back and got a proper cert. Maybe if held at Myanmar embassy ( if got one here), then will be recognized back home. But frankly, decent girls get married before getting pregnant. Where got get pregnant then get married one. Unless their society like that lor.... -
I know someone who deducts $50 for every day that the maid wants to go out. If she chooses to go out on 4 Sundays, then 4 X $50 = $200 off from her pay.
The employer claims that this is agreed in the contract with the agency.
My question is: Is this even legal ? -
I would think it depends on how much the employer is paying the maid and what the contract says.
Assuming the contract says pay is $400 and extra pay of $200 is given each month for payment in lieu of off, then I suppose it is right to deduct $50 each time she takes off. -
UncleLim:
I know someone who deducts $50 for every day that the maid wants to go out. If she chooses to go out on 4 Sundays, then 4 X $50 = $200 off from her pay.
The employer claims that this is agreed in the contract with the agency.
My question is: Is this even legal ?
Aiyoh UncleLim ah......simi not legal?....cannot deduct issit?...or what leh? -
i highly doubt the s$50 is suggested by the maid.
moonee:
\"Yah leh, very decent maid, 5 yrs in spore, had ceremony in a mynmar association and buddhist monk officiated her wedding. The husband is her relatives friend and they really wanted the baby even tho she was advised to abort. \"
Actually, the man is lucky to have her as his wife today.
All the above shows means that she is \"decent\"? Just cannot see the logic. Which parts support that? .... buddhist monk officiated her wedding? ,......she was advised to abort.??
\"She was in love!!! She mentioned she knew her now husband for near 2 years, but got together for a year.... I have her invitation card but not too good to attend. She had like 80 guest athe ceremony. She showed me the wedding pictures.\"
Yes she is in love I agree but..What has this got to do with being decent?
\"No, employer never met or knew she had a man. Well wen it comes to matters of the heart, decent or not decent they wanted to start a family, btw shes 32 and knows what shes doing\"
What has this got to do with being \"decent\"? I am blurred already.
altho my relative was dissappointed and shock when she told them of her pregnany, seems like she was planning for it, so she aint that stupid.
Ahh..now we are getting somewhere. She can be described as \"deceptive\", \"not truthful\" ,even \"cunning\" ( certainly not stupid) but \"decent\"??
Anyway she served her employer very well all these years and looked after the house well.
Actually, the man is lucky to have her as his wife today.
We can call her \"efficient\", \"effective in the job\" but certainly not \"decent\". \"Descent\" would mean socially or conventionally correct; refined or virtuous. Very had to find the pregnant maid fitting into any of the traits of being \"decent\" leh.. -
The world has changed. If that maid only slept with her BF & married him, maybe still ok lah. Look at the youngsters these days, many are no longer virgin by 18?!?! And many are so open (in behaviour & dressing) & change BF/GF easily..... Which is worse ??

i highly doubt the s$50 is suggested by the maid.
Umm...market rate $20 for one day off right.. .. :? -
BeContented:
The world has changed. If that maid only slept with her BF & married him, maybe still ok lah. Look at the youngsters these days, many are no longer virgin by 18?!?! And many are so open (in behaviour & dressing) & change BF/GF easily..... Which is worse ??

While it is true that premarital sex are more common these days as society's values changes, majority of people still get married before getting pregnant, at least in Asia. Further for someone from Myanmar, I would have thought that their society being less developed is less tolerant of unwed mothers. Probably why she needs to have a make believe wedding here before going back, lest she becomes a pariah when she goes home.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.