2010 P1 Registration Exercise for 2011 In-Take

1.9k Posts 193 Posters 724.5k Views 1 Watching
      sc88

Vez:
      Hello... I'm new here. I need to register my gal next year for P1. Really need all the KS experts advise...

Was hestiating whether to register her to Hong Wen School or not since I'm a old girl from this school. If i'm not wrong i should be in phase 2A2. Chances very high to get into the school right?? But... that school has moved to a place which has no direct bus from our house (I'm staying at Central). So transport is my main concern.

I understand that Pri school is very impt. Hope to enrol her to a good pri school also. :?:
      Hi Vez,

My Nephew is actually studying at Hong Wen too .U can drop at Toa Payoh MRT and take 145 Bus (Takes around 10 mins journey)and drop off in front of the Bus stop of ITE College West ( Balestier Campus) and walk in passing by Blk 120 . There's one coffee shop(Mcnair Road),a bit further Blk , there U can ask them how to walk right in to Hong Wen school.Actually U can take a look around the Blk 120 and Blk 119 Mcnair road HDB houses, the school is very near actually.

If going back ,go to the OTHER SIDES of the road Bus stop of the ITE school (walk across the pedestrian bridge) and take 145 bus back to Toa Payoh Mrt stations/Interchange.

• E Offline
        Emelyn

my DD (3rd child) will be registering for P1 next year too.

We have 2 choices.

Either DS1 and DS2 school… Bukit Panjang Pri School, or my almar matar… St Nicholas Girls… I have joined the alumni backed in 2008.

A lot of thinking to do.

BPPS is a double session sch…
        SNGS is a single session

I am planning to work part-time… ie, knock off earlier everyday at 3pm… so Single session will be better.

But… SNGS is very far lei… in AMK… and we stay in the West.
        But… my office is near SNGS… so, mayb not so bad.
        But…if I am on MC… still need to travel so far to send/fetch DD… (We don’t intend to let her take school bus as she will be spending too much time on the bus.)

Must think think…

Any suggestion from anyone ?

Vez

HI Emelyn,

If I were you I will register her to BPPS. Is her 2 brothers still in BPPS? If yes, why not. They can take care of her also.

• E Offline
            Emelyn

Vez:
            HI Emelyn,

If I were you I will register her to BPPS. Is her 2 brothers still in BPPS? If yes, why not. They can take care of her also.
            They will be in different session.
            In BPPS, P3 to P6 are in morning session.
            P1 and P2 afternoon session.

titank

Hi Emelyn

BPPS would be a better option.As you are near mean save time & $$.

• E Offline
                Emelyn

titank:
                Hi Emelyn

BPPS would be a better option.As you are near mean save time & $$.
                Agree with you... that nearer distances mean save time & $$.

hmm.... but SNGS is a full school....and the Sec Sch section is one of the best Sec Sch (that offers 'O' levels)... so I don't need to be so worried abt her PSLE....

dilemma lor.

fifimummy

Can anyone advise if you are under phase 2B - your child will be automactically / guaranteed a place in the school?

I really confused with all the P1 registrations rules…

fifimummy:
                    Can anyone advise if you are under phase 2B - your child will be automactically / guaranteed a place in the school?

I really confused with all the P1 registrations rules..
                    No. being in Phase 2B does not guarantee you a place in school.
                    You are still subject to balloting according to the distance bracket (ie <1km, 1-2km or more than 2km) if the number of applications exceed the number of vacancies.

take you time to read all the relevant threads in this forum, especially this one.
                    http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3311&start=0

dubaimom

We are back for good and after settling my kids’ kindy. Now I am stuck in dilemma No 2- My boy P1 registartion next year. I’ve 2 choices: Catholic High and De La Salle. Its a no brainer to put him in CHS cos daddy is in the alumni, we also have no problem placing him in DLS thru Phase 2B. Both travelling distance is about the same as I am in West Coast area. Any advice?

BigDevil

dubaimom:
                        We are back for good and after settling my kids' kindy. Now I am stuck in dilemma No 2- My boy P1 registartion next year. I've 2 choices: Catholic High and De La Salle. Its a no brainer to put him in CHS cos daddy is in the alumni, we also have no problem placing him in DLS thru Phase 2B. Both travelling distance is about the same as I am in West Coast area. Any advice?

Your profile shows you have a younger daughter?
                        Then I think you should seriously consider DLS since logistically, it would be MUCH easier sending both kids to one school.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 187