why Zoe Tay’s son was accepted into HPPS??

130 Posts 41 Posters 84.5k Views 1 Watching

Whichever school it is her son went into, cannot be via alumni route… which I suppose is the stem of the anger. She can only go in one more school of choice via 2C.

bbc

csc:

Err...sorry to intercept here.

I thought I read in the papers today that HPPS has clarified that her son is not a student of the school. 😄

I don't subscribe leh, jie.. can the a snapshot n post up here anot? :please:

http://epaper.mypaper.sg/cnd/fvxcn/fvxp/fvxpress.php?param=2012-05-04
        Flip to pg 6-7.

csc:
          Err...sorry to intercept here. I thought I read in the papers today that HPPS has clarified that her son is not a student of theschool. 😄

which paper did you read today that clarify her son is Not a student of Henry Park primary (HPPS) ? is it Straits Times, what page ?

if Henry Park primary school confirm in black and white over newspaper press that her husband was never from HPPS, then next logical qn to pursue is - was he ever an alumni from which other school ? SJIJ ?

i) if her husband was SJIJ alumni - they could have registered under phase 2A, SJIJ. If they had registered under this earlier phase, then nothing wrong. He is an alumni, and in accordance to MOE P1 registration rules, his child can enter. Period.

ii) but if her husband wasn't an SJIJ alumni - means she can only register her son under phase 2C, since she failed to quality for Nanyang under phase 2B, because she stayed more than 2 km, wasn't given any chance to ballot.

so next logical qn to ask is :
          under 2C, what is the distance from her house to SJIJ ?
          is it < 1km, 2 km or greater than 2 km ?

if she stay less than 1 km or less than 2 km that doesn't require balloting or she got in SJIJ through balloting, then is ok. Nothing wrong. is her luck that brought her in.

2011 balloting info (SJIJ)
          http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=487&start=330

2011 Henry Park
          http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=424&start=1920

regardless of whether celebrity or not -
          During P1 registration exercise, the rules do not bend \"special\" for anyone in particular. If public suspect any \"foul play\" DURING Registration exercise, then public has the right to question the Principal there and then. He has to step forward and answer to public.

But AFTER the entire P1 exercise ended, P has the authority to overide and decide which child he wants to take in next.
          P doesn't need to explain to public why he take in this child, and not another child.

blessed777

AC_Power:
            I simply ignore Temasek Times.

That blog is just a shit stirrer and publishes anything sensational without verifying the accuracy or the source. (Pardon my language)
            I agree

KSP

http://i47.tinypic.com/2cpti0k.png\">

i like her reply, that's her personal thing and why should she share with the kaypoh netizens.....

AC_Power:
                I simply ignore Temasek Times.

That blog is just a shit stirrer and publishes anything sensational without verifying the accuracy or the source. (Pardon my language)
                is it true ?

csc

csc:

Err...sorry to intercept here.

I thought I read in the papers today that HPPS has clarified that her son is not a student of the school. 😄

I don't subscribe leh, jie.. can the a snapshot n post up here anot? :please:

Psst.. I'm craving Subway foot-longs as soon as I saw you online. 😉
                  Was at Yew Tee recently (doing banking & cda) and saw the Subway.. Immediately thought of u.

off topic a little here.

:oops: ... so sweet of you , buds mei mei 🙂 u have a fantanstic memory...muak 🙂

KSP:

since HPPS school confirm her son not studying there, so why did that HPPS parent complain ? :? case closed

pinky

KSP:

i like her reply, that's her personal thing and why should she share with the kaypoh netizens.....
                      in the above report, she stated that she did not apply to both NYPS and HPPS leh..

tutormum

From what I know (not trying to side with Zoe cos she's celebrity or what). If a child, say John, is unsuccessful in phase 2A at X school, he can try phase 2B at other schools. However, if another child who was successful in phase 2A at X school but decided to give up the place, then John would be offered a place if he had requested to be put on waiting list. No principal will risk their rice bowl to help a parent (who for goodness' sake will definitely be a stranger) to get a place through other than the prescribed routes. Even if the means is through 'back door', somehow it can be 'legalised'. I know of parents putting their children in neighbourhood schools but after P1 year end results shown that these children top their classes or even levels, they applied to branded schools and were warmly welcome. This is also one of the 'legal' means. Another mean is make sure your child enters the school through GEP lor if you think your child is being deprived of a place and has no trouble coping in a branded school. :siam: So, if your child has what it takes......just do what you deem fit. If Zoe's child cannot make it, he will be squeezed out of whichever brand school he's now in. Why get so upset? The most important question that all parents should ask is whether their child can shine in that school and what value can the school add to their child. :roll: :slapshead: :slapshead:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 13