3.6k Posts 838 Posters 1.1m Views 2 Watching

a lot of parents staying in Bedok are dying to enrol their child in Red Swastika.

You ask Bedok residents around - which school you targeting at ? Many will reply, \"i just pray hard my son / daughter can get into Red Swastika\". :nailbite:
      http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3487&start=250

2011 phase 2C -
      Red Swastika was 3.5 times over-subscribed. Yes ! so hot in demand !

Pei Chun -
      in contrast, only 1.9 times over-subscribed.
      so you know how popular RS is!
      http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=462&start=1160

you stay too far from Pei Chun Toa Payoh.
      one trip alone is enough to make you tired. Why not ... you try out yourself first. Because if you enrol your child in Pei Chun, this is the realistic truth he's going to experience everyday. Make a few trips up and down from your home in the east to Pei Chun, for ONE week consecutively. If you're an adult and can't tahan, what more for a young child at P1. You know the answer in your heart.

at the same time, call up Pei Chun school driver to your area. Ask how long is the travelling time journey to pick up pupils staying around your area. If you can accept the travelling time, decide carefully.

but if you really desire Pei Chun and want to shorten travelling time on school bus, then try to rent / shift nearer for next 6 years.

if you don't want to shift but still want to go for Pei Chun, maybe persevere for minimal 2 years first. After 2 years, then transfer him out to Red Swastika, if RS has vacancy.

eeyore_wei:
        Hi jheng & cherrygal ,

I'm a old sch girl from Red Swastika, Hubby is old school boy from Pei Chun.
        From what i read, I feel that Pei Chun is better than Red Swatika, am i right?
        I just worried about the travelling time for the kids. Not sure if it is worth the travel as i stay in the east.
        Red Swastika is a good school in the East, Pei Chun is in Toa Payoh. You are fortunate to have priority in 2 good schools. Traveling time is no joke for a young kid. Don't forget there is CCA & supplementary lessons along the way. With more traffic on the roads now, think long term for kids.

SP Mum

Dearl All,

Need some advice on St Margaret Primary and Marymount Convent School. Say if distance is not an issue, which is a better school? Anyone with kids in these schools to provide insights (school culture, quality of teacher, homework load, etc.)? My girl in P1 is offered a place in both schools, which to choose? Thanks.

mummy of 3

SP Mum:
            Dearl All,

Need some advice on St Margaret Primary and Marymount Convent School. Say if distance is not an issue, which is a better school? Anyone with kids in these schools to provide insights (school culture, quality of teacher, homework load, etc.)? My girl in P1 is offered a place in both schools, which to choose? Thanks.
            I will choose St Margaret PS

DD Mommy

cherrygal:
              DD Mommy:

hi fellow parents!

i'm DD Mommy. Desperate & Delirious πŸ™‚
              Can I get some help on preparation for balloting in primary schools?
              Does anyone know if there's affiliation for members of Teochew associations?
              Thanks!!!

Which school you looking at? I never heard of schools formed by the Teochew association. Only the Hokkien Huay Kuan has a group of schools under their care. The best is to call up your association and ask them.

Hi Cherrygal. Thanks for your reply! I am hoping to get my girl into St. Nic or CHIJ AMK but my chances are almost 0 as my eligibility seems to be in Phase 2C. Am staying in Punggol now but planning to change my address to my mum's place in Bishan soon. Have you heard of Kheng Cheng Primary? Any good advice will be greatly appreciated πŸ˜„

SP Mum

mummy of 3:
                SP Mum:

Dearl All,

I will choose St Margaret PS

Dear Mummy of 3, thanks. Why SMPS? Can you help to provide insights?

Anyone else can help? TIA.

cherrygal

DD Mommy:

Hi Cherrygal. Thanks for your reply! I am hoping to get my girl into St. Nic or CHIJ AMK but my chances are almost 0 as my eligibility seems to be in Phase 2C. Am staying in Punggol now but planning to change my address to my mum's place in Bishan soon. Have you heard of Kheng Cheng Primary? Any good advice will be greatly appreciated πŸ˜„
                  St Nic's is the CHIJ located in AMK. You could try to volunteer and be eligible for Phase 2B. But they only take in PVs who live within 1km. Think even your mom's Bishan address is out of the 1km. But even doing all that does not guarantee you a seat coz balloting is very hot.

Another good school in Bishan would be Kuo Chuan Presbyterian depending on which part of Bishan. This one is easier to get in.

Sorry, no knowledge on Kheng Cheng. You can visit the Parents Networking Group and ask those parents.

cherrygal

SP Mum:
                    Dearl All,

You said your gal is offered a place in both schools? What are you waiting for? Of coz St Margaret's!

Marymount is OK but dunno why most parents only wait till Phase 2C Supp to apply for it as a last resort.

Choose Marymount if you want a Catholic environment. St Margaret's is not a Catholic school... dunno which Christian denomination... :?

smurfynut

cherrygal:
                      You said your gal is offered a place in both schools? What are you waiting for? Of coz St Margaret's!

Marymount is OK but dunno why most parents only wait till Phase 2C Supp to apply for it as a last resort.

Choose Marymount if you want a Catholic environment. St Margaret's is not a Catholic school... dunno which Christian denomination... :?

St Margaret's is Anglican.

SP Mum

Hi Cherrygal & Smurfynut,

thanks for your responses. Seems like St Margaret is the obvious choice… is St Margaret better because of academic performance or emphasis on character building?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 94 / 358