Primary school maths: A vicious circle (from TODAY May 8)

536 Posts 86 Posters 140.1k Views 1 Watching
    • raynregR Offline
      raynreg

Hi Chen

Can I join? DD P3 but DS in Nursery…abit kiasu i know.

Sun_2010

sun_2010, your child has completed PSLE?
        yes DD took it in 2010, not sure how much has changed
        and its DS now - different ball game 😉

Chenonceau

Sun_2010:

sun_2010, your child has completed PSLE?

yes DD took it in 2010, not sure how much has changed
          and its DS now - different ball game 😉

Your DS is in P1 & P2? I dun think it has changed that much... but well... if you still wanna come, is fine. Can just come and makan... bring a bit of food to share.

munchkukie

munchkukie:

kekeke...my dd2 in P1 next year, can join?

Waaaah! Kekekekeke! You already came for the Motivation Workshop leh... but yes... you are most welcome. This is for parents only. It is not a therapy session. I should be able to handle up to 15 paxes. Once I get 10 paxes, I will organise.

Learnt a great deal from you in the last workshop, there's some improvement. Will see how she performs in June when I give her new stuff....now my dd just barely passed her CL paper 2 SA1. Will also need to consider how to jumpstart her CL.

My dh is always frustrated at the dilly-daillying of my dd2, cos she took so long to finish piece of work, interjected by toilet breaks, snack breaks etc.

Chenonceau

raynreg:

Just curious... which lower primary parent (P1 & P2) would be interested to attend a free workshop (should I decide to conduct one) on How to teach/strategise your Lower Primary kids' learning in order to be prepared for a less-stressful PSLE in P6 AND without resorting to tuition for 4 subjects?

Hi Chen

Can I join? DD P3 but DS in Nursery....abit kiasu i know.

(1) Silverhorse
              (2) mummy of 2
              (3) munchkukie (attended Motivation Workshop)
              (4) mum2b
              (5) alng
              (6) freesia (attended Motivation Workshop)
              (7) oneheart
              (8) resgmom
              (9) poohbear (attended Motivation Workshop)
              (10) bluepanda
              (11) sun_2010
              (12) musings
              (13) tigermum
              (14) raynreg (some stuff can be done in nursery)

Chenonceau

munchkukie:

[quote=\"munchkukie\"]kekeke...my dd2 in P1 next year, can join?

Waaaah! Kekekekeke! You already came for the Motivation Workshop leh... but yes... you are most welcome. This is for parents only. It is not a therapy session. I should be able to handle up to 15 paxes. Once I get 10 paxes, I will organise.

Learnt a great deal from you in the last workshop, there's some improvement. Will see how she performs in June when I give her new stuff....now my dd just barely passed her CL paper 2 SA1. Will also need to consider how to jumpstart her CL.

My dh is always frustrated at the dilly-daillying of my dd2, cos she took so long to finish piece of work, interjected by tolet breaks, snack breaks etc.[/quote]Good... I will follow up with you after June. Give Mommy a bit of time to practise the strategies I taught. Do remember to videotape yourself when you work with her and do a self-critique. All the best! I'm happy you're joining the party.

sean wife

Hi can I join too? My kids are in k1…

Tks.

Poohbear

My bro and wifey will b interested too if pre-primary not too young 🙂

Bro's DS1 - K1
                    DD2 - N1

Chenonceau

sean wife:
                      Hi can I join too? My kids are in k1...

Tks.
                      (1) Silverhorse
                      (2) mummy of 2
                      (3) munchkukie (attended Motivation Workshop)
                      (4) mum2b
                      (5) alng
                      (6) freesia (attended Motivation Workshop)
                      (7) oneheart
                      (8) resgmom
                      (9) poohbear (attended Motivation Workshop)
                      (10) bluepanda
                      (11) sun_2010
                      (12) musings
                      (13) tigermum
                      (14) raynreg (some stuff can be done in nursery)
                      (15) sean wife

Ok... the registration for this workshop is now closed. I will not be running any other after this because I'm just doing this for fun and to have a party whilst also sharing what I have learnt in the course of teaching my son.

All those involved, please be prepared to bring a teeny bit of food to share. Thanks!! I will PM my email to you eventually and do email me with your Name + KSP Nick so I know who is who. Co-ordinating stuff via PM is a nightmare.

• O Offline
                        oxyleo

Dear Edureach,

Firstly thank you for sharing. I am happy to hear your views too, and you obviously sound like a very responsible parent. I apologise that I am new to this forum and am posting this thru an iphone, so I haven’t quite figured out how to quite your post, which would allow for better cross referencing.
                        I do not disagree with your tips on how we can help our children, they are indeed useful. But my key contention with today’s education system is that performance seems to be underscored by having smarter parents or good quality tuition. The tips u mentioned to help a child would first and foremost need to be executed by a parent who has both time and the intellect to source for the right material to address any gaps. Bear in mind for kids who do not attend tuition, the gaps when identified need a fix fast, as the exams are spaced out 3 months apart. Where does that leave children who do not have parents with time nor aptitude? We are talking about public education after all, so why are thee barriers to performance as such?
                        U also mentioned about your children choosing 2 different pathways. I admire their choices, for I am sure at the back of their minds, they will know there are huge differences in experiences for both pathways.
                        I’ll give u an analogy, using 2 babies, A and B.
                        Baby A walks at 8 mths, B at 14 mths. Assume we impose that the baby that walks before 12 months has the best potential, as we are doing thru the IP. And we then say given the huge potential, Baby A qualifies for Program A: daily walks in the park, excursions to the zoo, trips that build and develop all the other senses. Better still,bring Baby A overseas, so they experience the climate changes we don’t get in SG, the best of art, and music in Vienna, the best educational course. Baby B, sorry to say, misses the cut-off. Sad to say, let’s put him in Program B. well, the poor baby can’t even walk yet, so let’s have him just play around in the room, just leave a radio on in the background. Feed him, give him the basics. We all know eventually Baby B will grow up and walk, but what have we done to him by consciously keeping him away from those playground trips and sensory building outings? Yes, they do walk eventually, just as we argue all pathways can lead to university, but one would have seen the world, and the other would have remained myopic. If baby B has rich parents that can enrich him anyhow, good for baby B. what if Baby B’s parents arent? We do not have a convincing argument to ask parents not to push the panic button.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 19 / 54