By Election for Hougang

926 Posts 87 Posters 198.2k Views 1 Watching
      php

raysusan:
      Pritnam speech is really good

I am totally impress by him.
      He will be the next shining star in WP after LTK, SL and CSM.....

Strparent

raysusan:
        Pritnam speech is really good

I am totally impress by him.
        Raysusan,php, :celebrate:
        I concur ( it should be Pritam Singh )

20May By-election rallies by PAP as below
        ( DC supported only by TCH and DP and a couple of calafares, and I couldn't get to see any clear and accurate shots/vids of the whole crowd/group/attendees 😉 :evil: )

Desmond Choo ( imho, sounded a bit too religious-like - no offence intended .......
        also noted his style of public speaking seems to be quite similar to TingPehLing ? :scratchhead: mabbe same speech trainer?? :siam: )

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAeKCks00w8][/youtube]

Denise Phua
        [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsbQafK6Ppw][/youtube]

Teo Chee Hean in Mandarin and Malay
        [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ue75OKlPJtU][/youtube]

Teo Chee Hean in English
        [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wc0NQtMq1Tg][/youtube]

Teo Chee Hean in English and tumpo Teochew
        [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9OqBlmiBRLU][/youtube]

PAP person in Malay
        [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QgPwaG9n1q0][/youtube]

PAP person in Tamil
        [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o-rt9kCh-aM][/youtube]

• MMMM Offline
          MMM

I attended both rallies over the weekends.

Yes, I agree that Pritam was good. He can speak really well. It also become apparent that things are not as pure as white. Though the crowd is not as much as last year. It was 60%. But I gathered that many are probably the HG voters??? I see families setting up their mats, dressing in blue to support WP. There are many who bought the flags and umbrellas. I kept hearing comments that they have run out of stock for umbrella. Saw a lady being pushed in her wheel chair to the rally. PEH’s speech in hokkien and EL was not bad. Personally, I like CSM as he is always in the neighbourhood without a group of volunteers protecting/ surrounding him. Just like a man on the street talking to the residents. This is what I like and never see that from a PAP MP, where volunteers always seem to have to prepare the residents in advance to meet these MPs when they do their rounds. Macham like superstar??? They are here to serve.

Meanwhile for PAP, I feel that too much harp on YSL issues. There was nothing new to add. But Denise Phua was good in her speech as she gave another outlook from a independence point of view. DC sounds real about his feelings and committed. There was quite a sizeable turnout after a while (besides their own supporters). I attended their rally last year and it was pitiful. But I really cannot tahan the incessant whistles by the supporters. We sat at the side and observed that there are some who are always clapping hands/ cheering for them. Maybe they belong to the 35%??? or are non-voters. While there are many, who are probably like me, who is there to see if they can convince me. We didn’t clap at all. Just listen and observe.

Between the two, WP’s supporters are more real and spontaneous. But maybe because it’s a warm up, I observed it’s not as spontaneous as their last GE 2011 rally at Serangoon stadium last year. I think the last rally on thursday will sort of size up how people really feel. PAP supporters I feel are mostly their own people. People wearing white, shouting, chanting all the time, etc… I wonder how many HG voters are in there. But on the other hand, with the PAP rally turnout, I sort of feel that this is really going to be a tough fight. Like PAP mentioned, there are already 4 WP MPs for Aljunied, they don’t need to depend on HG voters anymore. HG voters are free to vote who they want, etc… This might swing the votes.

Some key takeaways from WP : Hougang is not for sale.
          Some key takeaways from PAP : DC has been there for 15 months even though he lost badly.

limlim

Pris.tang:
            But they did not acknowledge that low made a wrong judgement call. Heard from relatives staying in hougang they tot low will make a formal apology about putting through another election but he did not.
            YSL made an apology. And it is what that matters.

He was the one who caused HG to thru the by-election.

If, the elected MP is guilty of an offense, like corruption, fraud etc.. then yes, the party should be responsible for their selection process. But if it is due to private affairs like adultery, then, IMO, the party is not at fault.

No matter how stringent is the selection process, it is almost impossible to guarantee that the person will not commit adultery. This was highlighted in PS's speech.

iFirefly

I attended both rallies over the weekends.

Yes, I agree that Pritam was good. He can speak really well. It also become apparent that things are not as pure as white. Though the crowd is not as much as last year. It was 60%. But I gathered that many are probably the HG voters???? I see families setting up their mats, dressing in blue to support WP. There are many who bought the flags and umbrellas. I kept hearing comments that they have run out of stock for umbrella. Saw a lady being pushed in her wheel chair to the rally. PEH's speech in hokkien and EL was not bad. Personally, I like CSM as he is always in the neighbourhood without a group of volunteers protecting/ surrounding him. Just like a man on the street talking to the residents. This is what I like and never see that from a PAP MP, where volunteers always seem to have to prepare the residents in advance to meet these MPs when they do their rounds. Macham like superstar???? They are here to serve.

Meanwhile for PAP, I feel that too much harp on YSL issues. There was nothing new to add. But Denise Phua was good in her speech as she gave another outlook from a independence point of view. DC sounds real about his feelings and committed. There was quite a sizeable turnout after a while (besides their own supporters). I attended their rally last year and it was pitiful. But I really cannot tahan the incessant whistles by the supporters. We sat at the side and observed that there are some who are always clapping hands/ cheering for them. Maybe they belong to the 35%???? or are non-voters. While there are many, who are probably like me, who is there to see if they can convince me. We didn't clap at all. Just listen and observe.

Between the two, WP's supporters are more real and spontaneous. But maybe because it's a warm up, I observed it's not as spontaneous as their last GE 2011 rally at Serangoon stadium last year. I think the last rally on thursday will sort of size up how people really feel. PAP supporters I feel are mostly their own people. People wearing white, shouting, chanting all the time, etc.... I wonder how many HG voters are in there. But on the other hand, with the PAP rally turnout, I sort of feel that this is really going to be a tough fight. Like PAP mentioned, there are already 4 WP MPs for Aljunied, they don't need to depend on HG voters anymore. HG voters are free to vote who they want, etc... This might swing the votes.

Some key takeaways from WP : Hougang is not for sale.
              Some key takeaways from PAP : DC has been there for 15 months even though he lost badly.
              I usually do not bother to listen to PAP speeches (will usually fast forward or stop half-way) but this time, amazingly, i watched and listened to Desmond Choo & Denise Phua's speeches, all the way to the end.. :shock:

Desmond Choo seems to have improved so much, in his oratory skills & confidence, compared to GE 2011.. Denise Phua is, and has always been, good.. Did not bother to listen to Teo CH's speech though.. :evil:

I am not voting, though I wish I am.. I have always been a great fan of Thor, but DC comes across as a very sincere and honest candidate (much better than that fella in Potong Pasir, whose looks makes me :sick: ).. and each time DC smiles, this aunty's heart melts :oops: 😉 ..

• MMMM Offline
                MMM

firefly38:
                and each time DC smiles, this aunty's heart melts :oops: 😉 ..

Frankly.... I wondered if some of swing votes will be from those \"lusty\" aunties who hankered after his boy looks :evil: :siam: 🦆

I prefer mature men so he is not my type and his smile has not melt me yet 😉 :rotflmao:

Actually when the crowd commented about him being yan tao and how those auntie supporters added and cheered, it gave me goosebumps.

• O Offline
                  Oppsgal

If know all the problems already, what are the solutions :?

• O Offline
                    Oppsgal

I still prefer speakers who don’t read from scripts or papers in front. Hardly see any though.

iFirefly

firefly38:

and each time DC smiles, this aunty's heart melts :oops: 😉 ..

Frankly.... I wondered if some of swing votes will be from those \"lusty\" aunties who hankered after his boy looks :evil: :siam: 🦆

I prefer mature men so he is not my type and his smile has not melt me yet 😉 :rotflmao:

Actually when the crowd commented about him being yan tao and how those auntie supporters added and cheered, it gave me goosebumps.

Oh, so you were one of the ''lusty'' aunties who were at the rally ah, who hanker after Teo CH's very 'mature' looks (since you prefer MATURE men) :drool: ..

FYI, I was NOT at the rally.. I only watched the videos posted by Strparent, so I am definitely NOT one of the aunties you saw at the rally hor.. 😉

And FYI again, one does not have to be OLD to be mature.. One can be YOUNG (age) but mature (in thinking), like my DS.. And old (age) yet not so mature (in thinking), like my DH lor.. :evil:

• MMMM Offline
                        MMM

:imanangel:

firefly38:
                        Oh, so you were one of the ''lusty'' aunties who were at the rally ah, who hanker over Teo CH's very 'matured' looks (since you prefer MATURE men) :drool: ..

:yikes: :shock: You must be joking.... I thought CSM would be a better bet ??? But no lah... none of them appeals to me. :imanangel:

But TCH really aged alot in recent years. I think he looked better when he first enter politics.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 32 / 93

sparklycocoaS
                        sparklycocoa