Singapore for Singaporeans?
Got better discount boh ? Freebies add in with purchases ?fightingmom:
I also experience the same reaction - some of my neighbours , especially those who just shifted in , thought I hail from China. I always tell them jokingly \"Aiyo, 我从头到脚都是 made in Singapore lah ! \"
I find that at most places if I speak mandarin to those prc, I get better service some times.....maybe i was always in jeans, 3/4 pants, tees and with hair clipped up? :scared:
If have, I can speak ahem quite good mandarin you know ?
Got better discount boh ? Freebies add in with purchases ?LOLMum:
[quote=\"fightingmom\"]
I also experience the same reaction - some of my neighbours , especially those who just shifted in , thought I hail from China. I always tell them jokingly \"Aiyo, 我从头到脚都是 made in Singapore lah ! \"
I find that at most places if I speak mandarin to those prc, I get better service some times.....maybe i was always in jeans, 3/4 pants, tees and with hair clipped up? :scared:
If have, I can speak ahem quite good mandarin you know ?
[/quote]throw in their tongue-twisting slang and maybe they will call you 'tong zi'
:rotflmao: recently overheard from 97.2 FM a supermarket advertisement in which the characters speak in mainland accented (I am sure the DJ is a local) Mandarin. -
Discount no lah, but a few times laska got more hiam.
Staff also from no smile to smile leh. -
:rotflmao:Discount no lah, but a few times laska got more hiam.
so you've got more chilli (hiam) or more hum (cockles)?? :? :rotflmao:Discount no lah, but a few times laska got more hiam.
pinky:
Good one, pinky! :rotflmao: :rotflmao: OMG! I burst out laughing so loud that the people around me thought I :siao:
so you've got more chilli (hiam) or more hum (cockles)?? :? :rotflmao:LOLMum:
Discount no lah, but a few times laska got more hiam.
if it was more hum then worth your effort
more hiam mah... try harder next time or maybe they are implying 'dun even bother to try' :evil: -
Oops, more cockles....hum....

ah..I see, the harmful hums :evil: :rotflmao: -
the one last time say go across causeway to live in old folks home when old[/quote]OIC, no wonder. Because his home there mah.
got ah? Who?? SoImami:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
even some ministers in the government are recent converts to SG citizens, some in oppo too
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.