All About Erhu
That is what I feel lor. Got so expensive erhu meh? :roll: :roll: Yes his tutor is selling. I don't know much about erhu. When my hubby told me what the erhu tutor said. I am really SHOCK!!! Thinking is it true or not. She told my hubby $1K+ is lower grade while $5K+ is good grade. Aiyo... my son is only P3, giving him $5K+ erhu..... isn't it too much luxury!!!!! I see from some website... the most expensive erhu I see is US1999. So I start thinking is it she all the way to \"CON\" us. :oops: :oops: Hence, I am asking opinion here as I am totally knowing NOTHING about erhu. My colleague said maybe the wood is good. :? But $5K erhu... I stilll unable to swallow it. :sad:
Got S$5K erhu, ah? Your son's teacher is selling, is it? That price range not common, leh - not like violin.
I would think erhu S$1k very good liao! Can't totally say brand/model bc erhu manufacturing not exactly like violin - have strict standards of quality. Same for erhu bows. *sigh*. -
MrsSeah:
S$5k erhu maybe have gold and diamond. haha.
That is what I feel lor. Got so expensive erhu meh? :roll: :roll: Yes his tutor is selling. I don't know much about erhu. When my hubby told me what the erhu tutor said. I am really SHOCK!!! Thinking is it true or not. She told my hubby $1K+ is lower grade while $5K+ is good grade. Aiyo... my son is only P3, giving him $5K+ erhu..... isn't it too much luxury!!!!! I see from some website... the most expensive erhu I see is US1999. So I start thinking is it she all the way to \"CON\" us. :oops: :oops: Hence, I am asking opinion here as I am totally knowing NOTHING about erhu. My colleague said maybe the wood is good. :? But $5K erhu... I stilll unable to swallow it. :sad:phankao:
Got S$5K erhu, ah? Your son's teacher is selling, is it? That price range not common, leh - not like violin.
I would think erhu S$1k very good liao! Can't totally say brand/model bc erhu manufacturing not exactly like violin - have strict standards of quality. Same for erhu bows. *sigh*. -
I use rosewood erhu too. From what I remember about what my teacher told me, it’s the wood, maker, and the quality of snake skin. Erhu made by different people will have different quality, but I can’t remember which are the better ones. However, it has to be said that not every good erhu is suitable for everyone, and not every expensive erhu is good. My teacher gave me a selection of 3 erhu to choose from, and recommended one for me. But I didn’t buy the one he recommended. The reason I chose the one I bought is because I am able to play it best so that it produces the best tone. When I played the other 2, including the one he recommended, I felt that I had to try harder to produce the sound, and the quality of sound wasn’t that good. So if possible, get your son to try a few erhu, and he will know which one he likes, and which is suitable for him.
5k is too expensive. My erhu cost $300+, but it was with discount, so maybe around $400, and I’m playing at grade 6 now. -
twilight:
Ah... my ds with his vintage S$500 rosewood erhu is gr 9 and he's been using it for past 3 yrs, I think. So since about the time he was going to do his Gr 5 exam. Before that, he was using an erhu passed to him.I use rosewood erhu too. From what I remember about what my teacher told me, it's the wood, maker, and the quality of snake skin. Erhu made by different people will have different quality, but I can't remember which are the better ones. However, it has to be said that not every good erhu is suitable for everyone, and not every expensive erhu is good. My teacher gave me a selection of 3 erhu to choose from, and recommended one for me. But I didn't buy the one he recommended. The reason I chose the one I bought is because I am able to play it best so that it produces the best tone. When I played the other 2, including the one he recommended, I felt that I had to try harder to produce the sound, and the quality of sound wasn't that good. So if possible, get your son to try a few erhu, and he will know which one he likes, and which is suitable for him.
5k is too expensive. My erhu cost $300+, but it was with discount, so maybe around $400, and I'm playing at grade 6 now. -
I used an erhu that is like $50 until about grade 2 I think. Then my teacher went to China and bought back a few erhu, so I bought one, and have been using it till now.
So basically, you don’t need an extremely good erhu for grade 3, unless your son also requests for one. I think I requested to have a better erhu, as I used my teacher’s erhu at times, and felt that it was much better than mine, and that I would be able to play better with a better erhu haha. -
So a few hundred erhu can go up to grade 9.
I don't mind buying $400 - $500 erhu for my son. But 1K to 5K erhu........OMG......
$1K is still on a lower grade of erhu......
Now I am thinking how to tell the tutor nicely that I would like to change a new tutor for my son because she is my son school chinese orchestra teacher. (The school employed her from outside.) I don't want my son to suffer during the orchestra lesson and make him lost interest in learning.:( -
MrsSeah:
Check with eason, hope you could get a good advice from them. http://www.eason.com.sgMy son is learning 1-1 erhu recently. His teacher said that he can take grade 3 in November liao but he required to buy a GOOD erhu. She said a good one cost 1K+ to 5K+ :yikes: OMG... 5K+ I can buy a piano liao!!!
So I want to know what is a good ERHU? Is it the wood? Or manufacturer? Or country make? or Brand? So what is the famous brand and model for erhu? Which can take for all the grade exam.
BTW, I am not related to them in anyway. I bought a piece from them and I'm satisfied with their service. -
MrsSeah:
Doubt my ds will be changing to anyother Hu for diploma.So a few hundred erhu can go up to grade 9.
I don't mind buying $400 - $500 erhu for my son. But 1K to 5K erhu........OMG......
$1K is still on a lower grade of erhu......
Now I am thinking how to tell the tutor nicely that I would like to change a new tutor for my son because she is my son school chinese orchestra teacher. (The school employed her from outside.) I don't want my son to suffer during the orchestra lesson and make him lost interest in learning.:(
CO situation tricky. I will PM you on that later . -
peterch:
Their service is very good and I often buy accessories from them, I find the instruments a little too \"mass-market\". I'm sure you can find something within your budget though. I'd advise not to get the S$200 erhu though bc of sound quality, bc Eason does have erhus below S$200 as well.
Check with eason, hope you could get a good advice from them. http://www.eason.com.sg
BTW, I am not related to them in anyway. I bought a piece from them and I'm satisfied with their service. -
MrsSeah:
My son is learning 1-1 erhu recently. His teacher said that he can take grade 3 in November liao but he required to buy a GOOD erhu.
May I know if u r referring to NAFA-China Conservatory exam or NUS exams? How's the grade progression like ie. how long before starting exams, at which grades, any grades that ur child skips and so on? There's very info on Erhu... thanks in advance.twilight:
Ah... my ds with his vintage S$500 rosewood erhu is gr 9 and he's been using it for past 3 yrs, I think. So since about the time he was going to do his Gr 5 exam. Before that, he was using an erhu passed to him.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.