By Election for Hougang

926 Posts 87 Posters 197.6k Views 1 Watching
      dorisp

dorisp:

[quote=\"limlim\"]

let's help each other keep a lookout..

if got MIW rally giving free umbrella, we organize outing okie.. 😉

Latest news says inflation very high. We auntie no income. Ok lah, free won't hiam liao, take ah!!!

Er, can choose color or not? 😉

either white or blue[/quote]Er, auntie mah, very simple, if have choice, which colour umbrella stronger, more durable and more willing to protect auntie rain or shine I take lor......

😄

daisyt

A starightforward and clear explanation. I wonder who is the wikileak hor?

http://wp.sg/2012/05/sgs-explanation-on-the-sidetracking-issue-of-ncmp-22-may-2012-hougang-by-election-rally/

Dear voters of Hougang and supporters, good evening.
        This Hougang By-election is full of surprises. Let me now explain the process of the NCMP selection of WP and put it in perspective.
        Png Eng Huat’s statement to CNA during the interview said that he took his name “out of the ballot”. He was not referring to the ballot paper, but the “ballot” as in the voting process and running for the NCMP position.
        I had anticipated that there could be differences of opinions about how NCMP seats should be filled. Hence, in Jan 2010, after Parliament passed the amendment to the Constitution to increase the number of NCMP seats from 3 to 9, the CEC passed a resolution to set up the process of NCMP selection via secret voting.
        I had prepared the ballot paper for the extra-ordinary meeting.
        Png Eng Huat had told me before and after the General Election that he was strongly against the NCMP scheme and did not want to be considered for the NCMP position, just as Eric Tan had told me of his desire to be an NCMP. However, I still listed the names of the whole East Coast GRC team because they were all part of the team.
        Personal preferences had to be set aside; the selection of the NCMP lies solely with the CEC. Therefore, whether a candidate personally wanted to be an NCMP or not, the decision is not his. It would be the collective decision of the CEC. This is how I believe a collective leadership should function in a political party.
        I confirm that the minutes circulating over the Internet and published by the paper is the minutes of the Workers’ Party on the selection of the NCMPs.
        I do not want to speculate how the anonymous source obtained the minutes. However, this is obviously a calculated move, made at this point of time to intentionally damage the Workers’ Party and sabotage the Workers’ Party candidate in Hougang.
        But this is a weak attempt at discrediting the Workers’ Party. In fact, I would invite all of you to take a look at the minutes. It shows that the Workers’ Party functions in a fair and transparent manner, where decisions are made collectively. In addition, it also dispels rumours that the CEC is made up of all yes-man and women, or even fully controlled by Low Thia Khiang!
        In this case, the CEC was not unanimous in its decision. Png Eng Huat had previously stated his stand against the NCMP position to me and some other members of the CEC, but he still got 1 vote. The majority voted for Gerald Giam. When the voting result was concluded, only Eric Tan decided to resign. The other CEC members stayed united and on course with the Workers’ Party.
        This shows that the Workers’ Party, as a credible party, can embrace different opinions while working together as a team and moving forward.
        I urge the voters in Hougang to focus on the by-election and not to be distracted by the issue.
        I stand by what I said when I introduce Png Eng Huat to you last Saturday. Png Eng Huat is a man of integrity.
        Low Thia Khiang
        Secretary-General

Chenonceau

daisyt:
          A starightforward and clear explanation. I wonder who is the wikileak hor?

http://wp.sg/2012/05/sgs-explanation-on-the-sidetracking-issue-of-ncmp-22-may-2012-hougang-by-election-rally/

Dear voters of Hougang and supporters, good evening.
          This Hougang By-election is full of surprises. Let me now explain the process of the NCMP selection of WP and put it in perspective.
          Png Eng Huat’s statement to CNA during the interview said that he took his name “out of the ballot”. He was not referring to the ballot paper, but the “ballot” as in the voting process and running for the NCMP position.
          I had anticipated that there could be differences of opinions about how NCMP seats should be filled. Hence, in Jan 2010, after Parliament passed the amendment to the Constitution to increase the number of NCMP seats from 3 to 9, the CEC passed a resolution to set up the process of NCMP selection via secret voting.
          I had prepared the ballot paper for the extra-ordinary meeting.
          Png Eng Huat had told me before and after the General Election that he was strongly against the NCMP scheme and did not want to be considered for the NCMP position, just as Eric Tan had told me of his desire to be an NCMP. However, I still listed the names of the whole East Coast GRC team because they were all part of the team.
          Personal preferences had to be set aside; the selection of the NCMP lies solely with the CEC. Therefore, whether a candidate personally wanted to be an NCMP or not, the decision is not his. It would be the collective decision of the CEC. This is how I believe a collective leadership should function in a political party.
          I confirm that the minutes circulating over the Internet and published by the paper is the minutes of the Workers’ Party on the selection of the NCMPs.
          I do not want to speculate how the anonymous source obtained the minutes. However, this is obviously a calculated move, made at this point of time to intentionally damage the Workers’ Party and sabotage the Workers’ Party candidate in Hougang.
          But this is a weak attempt at discrediting the Workers’ Party. In fact, I would invite all of you to take a look at the minutes. It shows that the Workers’ Party functions in a fair and transparent manner, where decisions are made collectively. In addition, it also dispels rumours that the CEC is made up of all yes-man and women, or even fully controlled by Low Thia Khiang!
          In this case, the CEC was not unanimous in its decision. Png Eng Huat had previously stated his stand against the NCMP position to me and some other members of the CEC, but he still got 1 vote. The majority voted for Gerald Giam. When the voting result was concluded, only Eric Tan decided to resign. The other CEC members stayed united and on course with the Workers’ Party.
          This shows that the Workers’ Party, as a credible party, can embrace different opinions while working together as a team and moving forward.
          I urge the voters in Hougang to focus on the by-election and not to be distracted by the issue.
          I stand by what I said when I introduce Png Eng Huat to you last Saturday. Png Eng Huat is a man of integrity.
          Low Thia Khiang
          Secretary-General
          :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

concern2

LTK is clear, and very straight to the point. I like his style.

LOLMum

The picture of peh in the rain in new paper, hm...., I like it. So the the best picture taken of him.

And for ltk's letter, 😄

• MMMM Offline
                MMM

PAP confirmed having rally tomorrow evening as well. Just heard the announcement when the lorry passed by.

This Mr Teo is still harping on the NCMP thingy…when everyone has moved on… They are losing political points… Also, Eric Tan, the WP guy who resigned when he was not nominated to be NCMP, read that he told TOC that he can attest to PEH saying that he is against NCMP and is not interested to be one. Someone who has left the party and is supposed to be neutral now can say that… PAP should move on.

hquek

The more TCH harp on the issue, the more points he is losing for DC. I’m wondering who dug the hole for who to jump…sorry, too much conspiracy theory.

• MMMM Offline
                    MMM

I am really interested to see the rally turnout tomorrow. PAP will definitely be filled with its bus load of supporters from outside HG...

Unfortunately, I've a dinner appointment with my boss's boss from US :roll: Just hoping that it will end early and I can be home by latest 8pm.... But dilemma dilemma... in case the turnout is good.... I must plan my route well otherwise I will be stuck on the road. :scratchhead: The key speakers usually speak from 8.30pm. I don't want to miss Pritam's speech. 🙏

fightingmom

Pray for good weather too for tomorrow. 🙏 :please:

LOLMum

Pray for good weather too for tomorrow. 🙏 :please:

Yeah lor pop fair starts tomorrow, weather better be good 😆

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 51 / 93