By Election for Hougang
Actually, it's kinda off topic, but since we are all here...
This is all I need to know... that even detractors acknowledge this is good.Intermezzo:
Of course, there's nothing wrong with wanting better textbooks and better resources.
I think what I would want would be a really comprehensive textbook with practically EVERYTHING that can be tested found inside. Then, even if the teachers are awful (not so uncommon nows-adays) and there isn't enough time to cover the syallbus, the kids who are willing to put in the effort to master the textbook would be rewarded for their diligence during the exams. And if the kid is bo-chap, then so be it. It's a personal choice.
Actually, if you think about it, that's how we were tested in Uni? The lecturer gives a tons of notes and those who bother doing the work end up answering the question better. Even if the lecturer was totally inept, it was ok cos we knew we would be all right once we did the work!!!!
Ok, ok, :offtopic: I slap myself on the wrist first. Bad, bad Hokkien Girl! -
hokkiengirl:
Actually, it's kinda off topic, but since we are all here...
This is all I need to know... that even detractors acknowledge this is good.Chenonceau:
[quote=\"Intermezzo\"]
Of course, there's nothing wrong with wanting better textbooks and better resources.
I think what I would want would be a really comprehensive textbook with practically EVERYTHING that can be tested found inside. Then, even if the teachers are awful (not so uncommon nows-adays) and there isn't enough time to cover the syallbus, the kids who are willing to put in the effort to master the textbook would be rewarded for their diligence during the exams. And if the kid is bo-chap, then so be it. It's a personal choice.
Actually, if you think about it, that's how we were tested in Uni? The lecturer gives a tons of notes and those who bother doing the work end up answering the question better. Even if the lecturer was totally inept, it was ok cos we knew we would be all right once we did the work!!!!
Ok, ok, :offtopic: I slap myself on the wrist first. Bad, bad Hokkien Girl![/quote]Yeah... this is what I mean lor... it helps those who wanna help themselves. Little children of 7, 8 and 9 cannot be expected to traipse off to the library on their own to keep up with their own exams. If you don't have a SAHM then how?
I think kids would benefit from youtube links sent via email... a bibliography... than simply either...
(1) no notes
(2) poor quality notes
(3) high quality notes
... depending on which school you go to. -
Chen, not just a SAHM, but one who can teach and one who can teach their own children... :off topic:
Yeah... this is what I mean lor... it helps those who wanna help themselves. Little children of 7, 8 and 9 cannot be expected to traipse off to the library on their own to keep up with their own exams. If you don't have a SAHM then how?
What Hokkiengirl says about textbook is cool. Yes, if the child is willing to work hard, he /she could make it. But it is not the situation now. Children are expected to run and compete in a race when they might still toddling. -
Yup! Hokkiengirl... real cool.
Chen, not just a SAHM, but one who can teach and one who can teach their own children... :off topic:Chenonceau:
Yeah... this is what I mean lor... it helps those who wanna help themselves. Little children of 7, 8 and 9 cannot be expected to traipse off to the library on their own to keep up with their own exams. If you don't have a SAHM then how?
What Hokkiengirl says about textbook is cool. Yes, if the child is willing to work hard, he /she could make it. But it is not the situation now. -
Yup! Hokkiengirl... real cool.[/quote]you mean it is cool to be hokkien ?
Chen, not just a SAHM, but one who can teach and one who can teach their own children... :off topic:concern2:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
What Hokkiengirl says about textbook is cool. Yes, if the child is willing to work hard, he /she could make it. But it is not the situation now. -
alamak, please note, I have NO political affiliation or leaning.
is ok...u belong to the middle 30%....just make sure you swing to the right side....but..but.....unfortunately u doesn't belong to HG.... -
If MIW adopt ur approach, a possible consequence in subsequent election is ppl
If they have put HG first in the priority in upgrading and with more convenient services (buses and everything else) introduced, they could have won back HG long ago....but then they played their card wrongly, always rubbed the wrong way, being reactive rather than accommodating and looking out for their welfare. Giving LTK great amount of ammunition for 20 years and built up so much resentment among citizens over 20 years. Now people can always judge the PAP to be very vindictive. Even sorry could be too late.
Sometime politicians need to have paradigm shift too and think out of the box, including ballot boxes, and do some unconventional things.
(those who deemed d carrots impt) r gonna vote for more opp to get ahead of d queue.
IMV hor, PAP is vindictive, but not stupid.
Dis vindictive tactic really pisses me off for its injustice of discriminating citizens
who hv different political persuasions n MIW using common shared resources to meet its own political ends. -
But you know... HG voters are also tax payers. So why should they be discriminated. Eg. I know one of houses at the corner own the dragon brand, another own some mattress company. Alot of them own their own businesses. So what rights do they have to use tax payers' monies for their political purpose :?Dis vindictive tactic really pisses me off for its injustice of discriminating citizens
who hv different political persuasions n MIW using common shared resources to meet its own political ends.
It was funny.... dh received his tax notice ytd and felt :stupid: :frustrated: :stompfeet: he said that will affect his vote. He is undecided. -
I wonder how much Potong Pasir has improved after PAP has taken overโฆ
This is all I need to know... that even detractors acknowledge this is good.Intermezzo:
Thanks
But not Every parent wants / needs them.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.