By Election for Hougang

926 Posts 87 Posters 198.6k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

Intermezzo:
      hokkiengirl:

Actually, it's kinda off topic, but since we are all here...

I think what I would want would be a really comprehensive textbook with practically EVERYTHING that can be tested found inside. Then, even if the teachers are awful (not so uncommon nows-adays) and there isn't enough time to cover the syallbus, the kids who are willing to put in the effort to master the textbook would be rewarded for their diligence during the exams. And if the kid is bo-chap, then so be it. It's a personal choice.

Actually, if you think about it, that's how we were tested in Uni? The lecturer gives a tons of notes and those who bother doing the work end up answering the question better. Even if the lecturer was totally inept, it was ok cos we knew we would be all right once we did the work!!!!

Ok, ok, :offtopic: I slap myself on the wrist first. Bad, bad Hokkien Girl!

hi hokkiengirl,

yes personally i think that would be nice... πŸ˜ƒ

but i can also foresee what is likely to happen.. another group of parents would take a look at the new textbooks and start a new round of KPKB about stressing out our kids, teaching too much, loss of childhood etc...

no matter how, there will always be people who complains..

But no matter, we don't have to wait for MOE to change the textbooks, whether they intend to or not. I just thought of a quick solution for your worry above.

It is said that the Science textbooks are the worst culprits. They are always not up to the level tested correct?
      So for PSLE, it is said that they test some secondary school stuff right?

Don't worry, just go to the Popular Bookshop, get some secondary 1 or 2 textbooks, O levels, whatever level your child can handle and enjoy. I think that would make a good backup for a motivated students if the teacher is really awful, what do u think? πŸ˜ƒ

So.... don't test secondary stuff at PSLE and in P5 and P6. Also... why don't schools switch their chick lit Science textbooks for 'O' level texts? My DS studies for Science from his older sister's Sec 4 textbooks.

Then parents dun have to buy 2 or 3 books?

Way2GO

But you know... HG voters are also tax payers. So why should they be discriminated. Eg. I know one of houses at the corner own the dragon brand, another own some mattress company. Alot of them own their own businesses. So what rights do they have to use tax payers' monies for their political purpose :?
        Yes I know. Besides taxes, d other contentious point is NS.
        Every fit male citizen has to serve, regardless of whether one is in PAP or oppo wards. Why don't MIW differentiate dat?
        D unfairness in d carrot/stick tactic is unjustifiable.
        We shd all be treated as SGreans first n foremost,
        not by d colour one wears.

It was funny.... dh received his tax notice ytd and felt :stupid: :frustrated: :stompfeet: he said that will affect his vote. He is undecided.
        Why don't u hammer some sense into him? :rotflmao:
        Failing which, threaten to withdraw privilege tonite. :evil: :evil:

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: [/color]
          if hammer does not work, use lightning !

fightingmom

:rotflmao: if not can try use both ti tui and :lightrod: πŸ˜†

concern2

Oh dear, MMM, at first, I didn't think it appropriate to mock at DC's tears, but after watching the last part of his speech, I actually burst out laughing!

He got my attention when he started with β€œζˆ‘δΊ²ηˆ±ηš„οΌŒ(pause) δΊ²ηˆ±ηš„οΌŒ(pause) ζˆ‘δΊ²ηˆ±ηš„εŽζΈ―ε±…ζ°‘....” He continued by rubbing his hands when talking about the voting this saturday, like trying to close sales. Then his tone changed to sober, he shook his head like when singing a love song, licked his lips, his hand came up like he was going to reach for the moon or the stars for you ... I just couldn't help it :sick: and burst out laughing :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Way2GO

Not just that, Way2Go. I am listening to DC now on video, and my thoughts drift to Potong Pasir. Has anything actually changed? How are the people in Potong Pasir feeling now, whether they have voted PAP or WP? Are there any big plans like what \"new beginning\" that DC is promising to HG residents? Or like what GCT had told HG residents years back that HG would be given one million dollars? What is honesty to them? Sorry, maybe ST did not promise them anything..or did he?
                MIW also previously dangled carrots to PP voters;
                but they, like HG voters, didn't bite.
                These episodes in PP n HG really make me feel great pride
                in these residents of PP n HG, in dat they stood for higher principles
                n demostrated dat they cannot be bought.

Methink SPP n Lina lost PP; not dat AYS won.

• MMMM Offline
                  MMM

[quote=\"Way2GO\"]

:rotflmao: if not can try use both ti tui and :lightrod: πŸ˜†[/quote]Wow you guys/ girls are all very excited huh :evil:

I already issue ultimatum last night. If fails to huat ahhhhhh, all privileges will be withdrawn. πŸ˜‰

In addition, I asked him not to waste time at HG stadium last night. Ask him to go directly to the open field and I will treat him to fish ball and ice cream πŸ˜‰

wonderm

Intermezzo:
                    Don't worry, just go to the Popular Bookshop, get some secondary 1 or 2 textbooks, O levels, whatever level your child can handle and enjoy. I think that would make a good backup for a motivated student if the teacher is really awful, what do u think? πŸ˜ƒ

This is a good suggestion for an interested, self motivated student. But that will mean learning much more than what is going to be tested, doesn't help someone who only wants to know enough to handle ALL exam questions. :roll:

Intermezzo

So.... don't test secondary stuff at PSLE and in P5 and P6. Also... why don't schools switch their chick lit Science textbooks for 'O' level texts? Then parents dun have to buy 2 or 3 books?
                      look chen, if u ask me why this why that, i oso dunno why..
                      there is whole spectrum of parents and kids out there.
                      do they all think PSLE is difficult?
                      do they all want to read O level texts?

all i'm trying to do is to offer a possible solution to a motivated parent who is concerned NOW.

• MMMM Offline
                        MMM

Oh dear, MMM, at first, I didn't think it appropriate to mock at DC's tears, but after watching the last part of his speech, I actually burst out laughing!

He got my attention when he started with β€œζˆ‘δΊ²ηˆ±ηš„οΌŒ(pause) δΊ²ηˆ±ηš„οΌŒ(pause) ζˆ‘δΊ²ηˆ±ηš„εŽζΈ―ε±…ζ°‘....” He continued by rubbing his hands when talking about the voting this saturday, like trying to close sales. Then his tone changed to sober, he shook his head like when singing a love song, licked his lips, his hand came up like he was going to reach for the moon or the stars for you ... I just couldn't help it :sick: and burst out laughing :rotflmao: :rotflmao:
                        I actually didn't watch as I've made up my mind... I just read the write up since it was the 1st news that popped out on my computer this am.... but after hearing what you say... I will go and watch it now.... :nailbite: sorry to some of you huh but the purpose is to \"entertain\" myself. TGIF.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 68 / 93

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        PinkfluffP
                        Pinkfluff