By Election for Hougang
That's great. I don't mean this sarcastically. I really think it was a nice and helpful remark. I don't see anything wrong with what you did.
look chen, if u ask me why this why that, i oso dunno why..Intermezzo:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
So.... don't test secondary stuff at PSLE and in P5 and P6. Also... why don't schools switch their chick lit Science textbooks for 'O' level texts? Then parents dun have to buy 2 or 3 books?
there is whole spectrum of parents and kids out there.
do they all think PSLE is difficult?
do they all want to read O level texts?
all i'm trying to do is to offer a possible solution to a motivated parent who is concerned NOW.
But I did not appreciate that you \"sian\" me for doing something else which I thought equally helpful - trying to ensure that parents don't NEED to take the piecemeal approach you suggested. I don't see what is wrong with what I am doing either... to warrant posts from you that drip with sarcasm.[/quote]
I find it refreshing to read about this from 2 diff perspectives... -
Yeah, dat n d internal bickering.
I sort of agree with what you said. I feel that Mr Chiam actually had poor succession planning and this served as a good reminder to WP as well. I guess it's really not easy to find good calibre people who are willing to serve in opposition party. Eg. People like CSM is probably a rare find. I think Mr Chee would be good if he is not an extremist.
But also heard that PP lost it because of some new flats/ developments in that area?
Not dat he didn't try, but both his proteges eventually turned against him.
u heard right abt d new developments.
Besides d old market in HG, MIW also torn down a block of flats (or was it 2?)
Look out for a repeat. -
did anyone read the newpaper today about the blogger who made a few man famous lol
wonderm:
thanks wonderm for all your input ~Intermezzo:
Don't worry, just go to the Popular Bookshop, get some secondary 1 or 2 textbooks, O levels, whatever level your child can handle and enjoy. I think that would make a good backup for a motivated student if the teacher is really awful, what do u think?

This is a good suggestion for an interested, self motivated student. But that will mean learning much more than what is going to be tested, doesn't help someone who only wants to know enough to handle ALL exam questions. :roll:
yes that's why hokkiengirl specifically said \"for kids who are willing to\".
i think it's a personal decision HOW you want to handle PSLE.
to reply to your earlier post, i'm not against tuition per se.
what i said was \"I think parents are LARGELY to blame for the tuition phenomenon\".
ie, the δΈηͺθ kind of phenomenon of signing up for tuition without a clear idea of whether the child needs / benefits from it, or whether they have time to play and rest and develop their own interests.
ζ°΄θ½θ½½θοΌ δΊ¦θ½θ¦θγ
Tuition / enrichment used by parents in the right mindset is very beneficial for the child, this i agree 100%.
eg. For a child who doesn't have a condusive chinese speaking environment at home, who enjoys interacting with other people, i think a fun activity-based chinese enrichment class would be great.
what i am driving at is that we can all think more about what our kids need, and explore more motivational methods to help them become self-learners with a positive attitude, before sending them off to tuition.
wow...so drama....i will go and watch later....Oh dear, MMM, at first, I didn't think it appropriate to mock at DC's tears, but after watching the last part of his speech, I actually burst out laughing!
He got my attention when he started with βζδΊ²η±ηοΌ(pause) δΊ²η±ηοΌ(pause) ζδΊ²η±ηεζΈ―ε± ζ°....β He continued by rubbing his hands when talking about the voting this saturday, like trying to close sales. Then his tone changed to sober, he shook his head like when singing a love song, licked his lips, his hand came up like he was going to reach for the moon or the stars for you ... I just couldn't help it :sick: and burst out laughing :rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
Hey.... it's only been a year. Actually those torn down flats probably wasn't there since last GE??? I am getting old and I can't remember.Yeah, dat n d internal bickering.
Not dat he didn't try, but both his proteges eventually turned against him.
u heard right abt d new developments.
Look out for a repeat.
I can always remember how happy we felt when Aljunied GRC went to WP... We will glue to the tv after 8pm tomorrow. Just hope they release the WP site soon. Plssss let them have HG stadium. -
if one is to conclude what kind of person CSM is, at heart, more likely case would be the other way round - maybe he rejected PAP ?
may be he was rejected by PAP ?MMM:
Eg. People like CSM is probably a rare find.
:evil: -
That's great. I don't mean this sarcastically. I really think it was a nice and helpful remark. I don't see anything wrong with what you did.
look chen, if u ask me why this why that, i oso dunno why..Intermezzo:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
So.... don't test secondary stuff at PSLE and in P5 and P6. Also... why don't schools switch their chick lit Science textbooks for 'O' level texts? Then parents dun have to buy 2 or 3 books?
there is whole spectrum of parents and kids out there.
do they all think PSLE is difficult?
do they all want to read O level texts?
all i'm trying to do is to offer a possible solution to a motivated parent who is concerned NOW.
But I did not appreciate that you \"sian\" me for doing something else which I thought equally helpful - trying to ensure that parents don't NEED to take the piecemeal approach you suggested. I don't see what is wrong with what I am doing either... to warrant posts from you that drip with sarcasm.[/quote]ok chen, if you are offended by the word \"sian\" that i used, i sincerely apologize. it just described my own feeling at that time. i should've thought more about how you'd feel.
i have nothing personal against you. in fact, i am really impressed by the fact that you are willing to put in so much effort to help people whom you FEEL are at a disadvantage.
the thing is, sometimes i wonder on your behalf, how many of these people actually CAN do something constructive to put themselves out of their misery. -
wow...so drama....i will go and watch later....
Hey... too long... Start from around 28:40.
My impression of those tears is that he cried because it's finally coming to an end after all the hectic period and emotional engagement. To be fair to anyone in that position, he has gone so far and did so much. So it felt as though he was crying for himself rather than anything else. As a voter, I wasn't moved by those tears. -
Ya, if you can't attract the voters, bring in the voters, like they do at the rallies.[
Look out for a repeat.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.