By Election for Hougang
daisyt:
After watching DC 28.20 speech, I thought I am in a 剧场看话剧. :yikes:
我深有同感。哈哈,感觉讲稿是出自一个PRC的手。 -
MMM, illegal gathering.
Chapter VIII: Offences against the public tranquillity
Unlawful assembly – An assembly of five or more persons is an "unlawful assembly" if the common object of the persons composing that assembly is —
(a) to overawe by criminal force, or show of criminal force, the Legislative or Executive Government, or any public servant in the exercise of the lawful power of such public servant;
(b) to resist the execution of any law, or of any legal process;
to commit any mischief or criminal trespass, or other offence;
(d) by means of criminal force, or show of criminal force, to any person, to take or obtain possession of any property, or to deprive any person of the enjoyment of a right of way, or of the use of water or other incorporeal right of which he is in possession or enjoyment, or to enforce any right or supposed right; or
(e) by means of criminal force, or show of criminal force, to compel any person to do what he is not legally bound to do, or to omit to do what he is legally entitled to do.[34]
The punishment for being a member of an unlawful assembly is imprisonment of up to six months, or a fine, or both.[35] -
znzyzyzx:
almost fainted after listening to his speech....machiam cctv movie script.... didn't know he so ba.....lack of sincerity....like that, how to communicate with the voters....daisyt:
After watching DC 28.20 speech, I thought I am in a 剧场看话剧. :yikes:
Ok. I go listen now…haiz, so tempting.
almost fainted after listening to his speech....machiam cctv movie script.... didn't know he so ba.....lack of sincerity....like that, how to communicate with the voters....[/quote]Had a good laugh. At some points, I thought he would turn to look at the sky and sing \"我问天,我问天...\" quite Taiwan drama-ish.znzyzyzx:
[quote=\"daisyt\"]After watching DC 28.20 speech, I thought I am in a 剧场看话剧. :yikes:
Um, just feel he very emo. Started wondering if HG is like the promised land…full of love and promises. Maybe I should move there and feel the love.
Sorry but the first part where he kept looking around and beaming in all directions didn’t cut it for me. The aunties probably loved it. -
Unfortunately, it is not possible for a paradigm shift yet since these younger batch of PAPers still think under the influence of LKY. How did he used social engineering that sacrifices many so that he can consolidate his own political power? Likewise, don't be surprise that the present PAPers will sacrifice many Singaporean just so that they can cling on longer in power.well said hokkiengirl! some more hokkiengirl can write very well .... thought may be you only write in hokkien
one thing that pisses off lots of people is the vengeful setbacks given to HG voters when they first voted in the opposition
c'mon, are't they fellow citizens ? don't they pay income tax and gst ? don't they contribute to the economy ? so why victimize them ? even the rain rains on both the righteous and the wicked, and so does the sun shines.
no upgrading for HDB flats ? withdrawal of bus services, remember ? now, who own the HDB or the bus company ? are they owned by a political party ? stat boards are supposed to be separate from politics, right ? likewise civil servants are clearly not political party based
I think PAP despite having done a good job running the country VERY well since self government (even before being kicked out from M'sia)....but has been very stupid.
If they have put HG first in the priority in upgrading and with more convenient services (buses and everything else) introduced, they could have won back HG long ago....but then they played their card wrongly, always rubbed the wrong way, being reactive rather than accommodating and looking out for their welfare. Giving LTK great amount of ammunition for 20 years and built up so much resentment among citizens over 20 years. Now people can always judge the PAP to be very vindictive. Even sorry could be too late.
Sometime politicians need to have paradigm shift too and think out of the box, including ballot boxes, and do some unconventional things. -
Whatcha talkin' about it? It ain't COOL to be Hokkien; it's Super SART!!
you mean it is cool to be hokkien ?
Intermezzo:
Hi, Intermezzo!
hi hokkiengirl,
yes personally i think that would be nice...
but i can also foresee what is likely to happen.. another group of parents would take a look at the new textbooks and start a new round of KPKB about stressing out our kids, teaching too much, loss of childhood etc...
no matter how, there will always be people who complains..
But no matter, we don't have to wait for MOE to change the textbooks, whether they intend to or not. I just thought of a quick solution for your worry above.
It is said that the Science textbooks are the worst culprits. They are always not up to the level tested, correct?
So for PSLE, it is said that they test some secondary school stuff right?
Don't worry, just go to the Popular Bookshop, get some secondary 1 or 2 textbooks, O levels, whatever level your child can handle and enjoy. I think that would make a good backup for a motivated student if the teacher is really awful, what do u think?
Yup, I already have back-up plans for if my kids' science teachers are awful. That's how kiasu I am. Oh, wait, that means I'm in the right forum.
Frankly, there will always be unhappy people. I think (think only ah) that the majority will just be super-relieved that life is within control again. It's actually all about astute testing and setting of papers. It is too easy to set exam papers which are difficult or obviously requiring external info. It is much harder to set papers which draw info from the prescribed texts and which somehow test the child's ability to infer, analyse and present answers. I'm in no way implying that MOE is guilty of the former because my kids are not in upper primary, so I have no idea what the exams are like. I'm just saying that once the texts and exams are fixed, I would just ignore the complainers because it would really be MORE of a level playing field. It's never perfectly level for all sorts of reasons (natural drive, natural intellect, parental support, etc); we just want something as close to it as possible.
Ok, ok, I think we've hijacked the HG thread long enough. I'll leave you all with a song: Jiu Kan Tang Buay Boh...
(translation: Any wine bottles for sale) (to be sung in plaintive tones)
hokkiengirl:
sure you are not Su Rui ?
Ok, ok, I think we've hijacked the HG thread long enough. I'll leave you all with a song: Jiu Kan Tang Buay Boh...
(translation: Any wine bottles for sale) (to be sung in plaintive tones)
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.