MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
zakashi:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=269&start=2900
What is the date of the Sunday newspaper? Thanks. -
Most normally stay out of 2km...so they try to do PV to get into earlier phase ie phase 2B. 2C is open to the rest who do not qualify under earlier phases. But how many parents know IT or design stuff? PVs contribute time and effort. That is commendable.
Actually I feel that is nothing wrong with it.janet_lee88:
Yesterday's ST 20/5 mentioned something about PV for P1 registration.
MOE guideline is 40 hours. Some schools have just raised to 70 and Nanyang set at 80. Is it fair for parents to have to go through such craziness prior P1? Some schools want parents to be involved in IT and design stuff. This is exploitation of parents! Surely these schools can ask MOE for resources. Just because these are popular schools?
They are Not forcing parents to do things. If the parents happy to volunteer, why prevent them from doing so? If they not happy, they can don't do.
PV is extra.. it is not as if if you don't PV, you can't take part in P2C or something like that.
As for IT and design stuff, what's wrong with it? I'll rather do IT and design stuff than to do \"bo liao\" stuff like direct traffic.. it is subjective.
True, PV is not compulsory. If not happy to do it, then don't. But schools should not set tough 'jobs'. -
tough 'jobs' -
Most normally stay out of 2km...so they try to do PV to get into earlier phase ie phase 2B. But how many parents know IT or design stuff?
True, PV is not compulsory. If not happy to do it, then don't. But schools should not set tough 'jobs'.
Not every parent working in the field of IT know how to design applications for iPhone and iPad. This is a highly specialized, unique field of IT knowledge and application.
example:
an IT personnel daily job may be in charge of maintaining web servers for an organization everyday. But he may not know how to design IT applications for iPhone / iPad. Although both are IT staff, but their skill sets and areas of focus are different. So the key question is, \"Which area of specific IT skill set(s) can you offer ? Does the school require it ?\"
usually those Primary school(s) that are IT technology savy or that're very much IT oriented in their curriculum and teaching methodology to pupils - will welcome parents to PV, offering their unique IT skill sets. Parents can do a homework background check on the nature of Primary school they interested in, first.
refer quote:-
\"Research and development engineer Chong Lip Min, 35, teaches pupils of the media club at South View Primary School to develop applications for the iPhone and iPad.\"
source
http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_760640.html -
Jav:
It is nothing wrong for PV but it has become spiral effect & parents have become obsess with the process. Is it still nothing wrong. We r talking about social stigma & expectations which form the society value. You may have parents which do not care but when you hear so & so doing these and we don't do it for our kids then right from the start we are already depriving our children & not doing the best we can for the kids.
Hence it is important for parents to look at things from the correct perceptive and not to go the wrong path.. of either doing PV and expect a place, or try to deprive others from doing it.
If you can afford, by all means. If not, just keep away lor.
We always try to offer whatever we can to our kids within our abilities..
but if you can't for some reasons or another, then, cannot be helped lor..
Generally, I do feel there is some merits for PV.. -
Most normally stay out of 2km...so they try to do PV to get into earlier phase ie phase 2B. 2C is open to the rest who do not qualify under earlier phases. But how many parents know IT or design stuff? PVs contribute time and effort. That is commendable.
True, PV is not compulsory. If not happy to do it, then don't. But schools should not set tough 'jobs'.
Personally, I rather do challenging \"tough jobs\" (aka specialized field) than mundane work.
However, I do agree that the school should set aside some \"easy\" jobs to give everyone a chance and not cut off someone just bcoz they don't have specialized skills. -
Places in some schools have the issue of demand > supply. The recent article in the papers whereby schools raised their expectation and set higher demand on PVs supports this view.
Back to the title of this thread whereby it is discussed if too much priorities were given to alumni where school places are concerned. In view of many recent developments and IMHO, the authority may need to review the extent of priorities extended to the alumni sooner rather than later.

Everyone knows that the problem lies on alumni issue. How soon will it be reviewed? Why not this year P1 registration? I really donβt understand. Does anyone know the reason?
zakashi:
Everyone knows that the problem lies on alumni issue. How soon will it be reviewed? Why not this year P1 registration? I really don't understand. Does anyone know the reason?
I think it's a bit too late for them to review this year since the p1 registration is starting right? they should make the system fairer. if not it will become an elitist society and the elitist family will definitely be at advantage over others -
kooky83:
Remember reading somewhere that MOE said it will constantly review the system. For this year, they have made changes to give more priority to Singaporeans. Now that that is done, let's hope the next item on their review list would be the priority to alumni.zakashi:
Everyone knows that the problem lies on alumni issue. How soon will it be reviewed? Why not this year P1 registration? I really don't understand. Does anyone know the reason?
I think it's a bit too late for them to review this year since the p1 registration is starting right? they should make the system fairer. if not it will become an elitist society and the elitist family will definitely be at advantage over others
Are we speaking up for alumni or non alumni now?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.