Alex Ong, 25, pushes elderly lady off the bus
I think this young man really got some issues. Already so much trouble liao he still write this kind of thing. Public will be even more angry with him and so doesn’t help his case if he really kena charge. Never eat medicine in the morning to control emotions.
WeiHan:
Oh please. Do not turn an incident about an individual into a govt issue.Some of you probably also see another news about a 40 yo female gorilla heating a 72 yo cleaning lady at tampines food court for being slow.
This is how it will be like when government gives subtle message that old people are useless. It creates a subtle overbearing psychological influence on people attitude. \"send your parent to JB for retirement\"...older people should be replaced by foreign workers...it is normal for old people scrapping cardboards for a living....
I think any of you should presson with the issue and don't let the lazy police waive the issue away with just a warning. Physical harming to others is a serious crime and the maximum punishment isn't a two days jail term. Anybody can just make a police report with the video clip as evidence and press on the issue. -
In a way, I’m thankful for the internet, stomp,facebook and youtube. Now everybody can be a "police" for our society. If not for the fact that the incident was loaded on video, this Alex Ong would have gotten away.Also if he had not been flamed and under pressure from netizens, I doubt if he would have shown any remorse.Ditto for the cases like the foreign scholars labeling and calling Singaporeans names.
But it’s also a double-edged sword as cyber-bullying is now easy and has been known to drive some of these victims suicidal.
I guess now we parents have alot on our plates, and it’s really up to us to teach and guide our children and hopefully they’ll grow up morally sound and resilient. -
Sim TT:
Unfortunately, government policies does have an attitudinal influence. Of course the obvious message is that one needs to work till 65 (the official retirement age) but the gov policies is contradictory, many retrenched people at age 40 can't find a job of similar pay anymore. Also, if the gov is materialistic (using ONLY quantifiables to measure success), then slowly and definitely, people will be shepharded in that direction.
Dear friend, are u serious? I think respect for elders is taught in family first leh. Don't politicise the issue lah. I think the subtle msg from govt is not old people are useless but we must take care of ourselves when we old, if not our children take care, if not siblings take care...basically don't depend on govt to take care. So if we really affected by this subtle msg, den we should really take good care of our old folks right... -
I see a trend....there are more and more bullies nowaday. not an incident.
Oh please. Do not turn an incident about an individual into a govt issue. -
WeiHan:
And you blame government? Come on, give me a break.
I see a trend....there are more and more bullies nowaday. not an incident.Funz:
Oh please. Do not turn an incident about an individual into a govt issue.
I also see a 'blaming' trend, whenever something bad happened, it can never be our fault. Someone else must have caused it, usually it is the government. -
True there is a trend but it is not necessarily the govt’s fault. We need to stop attributing everything to the govt. And it also could be that this has always been the case but now it is because we are more into social media and people take pictures and videos and post them, that is why there seems to be more of such cases.
coolit:
True there is a trend but it is not necessarily the govt's fault. We need to stop attributing everything to the govt. And it also could be that this has always been the case but now it is because we are more into social media and people take pictures and videos and post them, that is why there seems to be more of such cases.
Good point. Now if you scale Everest successfully the world will know it instantly but it took 3 days before the news of Sir Edmund Hillary's successful climb reached London back in 1953. -
OMG, how could such incident happened and happended again in Singapore. I think the world is tearing apart and people are sinking deeper and deeper in sin. May God bless the victims and the perpetrators be punished mercilessly.
Jane422:
OMG, how could such incident happened and happended again in Singapore. I think the world is tearing apart and people are sinking deeper and deeper in sin. May God bless the victims and the perpetrators be punished mercilessly.
I think the point to note is the more common use of technology these days to capture everyday event. It is possible that in the past, misbehaviors of these sort may have been going on without us realizing.
When I showed DH the video, what he noticed was how he seemed to be able to control WHO is got angry over - just that lady, not any other people around him. For someone who has trouble controlling his emotions, he would have shouted at whoever was in his way, like the whole world is against him. In any case, we aren't any psychologist..so I stop here.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.