All About Autism
yes, kkh is helping us via hbp but is only once per week and only barely 1 hr. where gto enough.. all the trouble travel there jus get 1hr session tat excluding warming up lor. i think KKH mus think of a way to really geniuely wan to help lor. tat my point.
but u see the website say at least 20hrs per week... where go get those $$ & time
yes, kkh is helping us via hbp but is only once per week and only barely 1 hr. where gto enough.. all the trouble travel there jus get 1hr session tat excluding warming up lor. i think KKH mus think of a way to really geniuely wan to help lor. tat my point. if touch & go what the point. mus well dun help.. is not effective or effecience and not even cost effective.. all $ will be gone and gain nothing through such system.
but u see the website say at least 20hrs per week... where go get those $$ & time
helplessmum3:
Maybe you can check with your therapist what you can do at home with your child every day? Like tuition, the child also needs to study on his own. Just 1 hr a week won't be enough....yes, kkh is helping us via hbp but is only once per week and only barely 1 hr. where gto enough.. all the trouble travel there jus get 1hr session tat excluding warming up lor. i think KKH mus think of a way to really geniuely wan to help lor. tat my point. if touch & go what the point. mus well dun help.. is not effective or effecience and not even cost effective.. all $ will be gone and gain nothing through such system.
Stay positive
Helplessmum
Actually once a week is pretty good unless u have mountains of money. This applies even in other countries. I think they are really trying to help already with a once a week appointment. And u must also remember that children’s attention span is very short. 1 hr is the norm. Usually they will give a list of things for u to practise at home. Yes, like what Lavina said, it’s like tuition. U still need to work on it at home. Like those learning piano or any musical instrument, u can’t expect them to know how to play just by simply attending the weekly session without practice. U gotta practise everyday at home. No point if u go to the centre and practise the same skill everyday. That’s wasting your money. It’s better to do it at your own home. In this world, we gotta help ourselves too. We cannot expect pp to spoon feed us. Therapy is not a school. So we shouldn’t be expecting them to be regular like a school. -
Lavina:
i always involve in the session for 1hr, i always see when my son start to get started the lesson is ending..
Maybe you can check with your therapist what you can do at home with your child every day? Like tuition, the child also needs to study on his own. Just 1 hr a week won't be enough....helplessmum3:
yes, kkh is helping us via hbp but is only once per week and only barely 1 hr. where gto enough.. all the trouble travel there jus get 1hr session tat excluding warming up lor. i think KKH mus think of a way to really geniuely wan to help lor. tat my point. if touch & go what the point. mus well dun help.. is not effective or effecience and not even cost effective.. all $ will be gone and gain nothing through such system.
Stay positive
mashy:
i work with my son every second & mins, whenever i have the chance i will take the chance to do it.. example, if things drop, i say OOps, pick up. or ask him tosay pick up things like tat.. if i still depend on them ah.. i think hor...my son wont go this far already...Helplessmum
Actually once a week is pretty good unless u have mountains of money. This applies even in other countries. I think they are really trying to help already with a once a week appointment. And u must also remember that children's attention span is very short. 1 hr is the norm. Usually they will give a list of things for u to practise at home. Yes, like what Lavina said, it's like tuition. U still need to work on it at home. Like those learning piano or any musical instrument, u can't expect them to know how to play just by simply attending the weekly session without practice. U gotta practise everyday at home. No point if u go to the centre and practise the same skill everyday. That's wasting your money. It's better to do it at your own home. In this world, we gotta help ourselves too. We cannot expect pp to spoon feed us. Therapy is not a school. So we shouldn't be expecting them to be regular like a school.
without therapists help , we home teach just by myself & hubby now.. every day and every single time we with him...
like i say, 1hr is jus a warm up session u noe.. really. u try to go in with the therapis when u thre -
I agreed with Mashy, I think whatever we learnt, we need to apply it at home consistantly. And exposure to the kids are important as well esp in the NT environment.
I feel my son are getting more and more normal already. To outsiders, they might just think he is a very quiet and shy boy. Now I am starting to worry about his academics. He lately refuse to do his K1 worksheets. I dun want him to go to school feeling left out or dumb, not knowing anything. HF ASD kids are not dumb, they just dun like to socialize.
Parenting is hard already, parenting a special needs child is even harder. But it also makes us better parents. I think all of us here are good parents, otherwise, we won’t be in this forum at all. -
Nuggets . Wow I’m so happy for u!
My son now will smile at strangers n even at playground he will invite another child to sit w him n play by tapping the child n say sit sit.
So far my son with kkh OT for just 3 seasons n 1 hr each that all the rest are our home teaching…
Leo magan only 3 sessions too also 1hr eac
I have stopped Leo magan n kkh OT already cuz they are not helping at all instead they pull my son down . -
At Leo Magan my son already know how to speak in sentence yet they teach him one words only n also his peer in group la
For kkh OT , once when she ask my son to request which my son did very clearl . And she is not aware… Duno is it lack of experience ?
And again 1hr get no way one really waste $$
At least must hav 2hrs per session . -
mashy:
As far as I know, if the diagnosis has been early enough, the psychology assessment for school placement is recommended at about 5 and half yo. I have been told that this is the optimal age cos if too early, the child may not be developed sufficiently and if too late, this may affect school placement options as these things usually need waiting and processing time.ImMeeMee
Not really, the psychology assessment is only when the parents send them in for assessment plus the waiting time. So not necessarily 5.5yrs old. My son was officially diagnosed one month before he starts P1 and after his school orientation.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.