What I hate about the current Singapore

650 Posts 81 Posters 150.0k Views 1 Watching

Seriously, technology just makes it easier but the society landscape has changed dramatically and rapidly, a little too fast for the society to respond well to it. If anything, we are weak in change management.

Can’t reconcile wat u said with d oft repeated loud refrain dat dis gahmen prides itself on planning at least 5, 10 years ahead.
      So wat has gone wrong here?

We know right?
      Planning is essential, execution is crucial.
      A best plan is as good as its execution.

• FunzF Offline
        Funz

[quote=\"ksi\"]
        Seriously, technology just makes it easier but the society landscape has changed dramatically and rapidly, a little too fast for the society to respond well to it. If anything, we are weak in change management.

Can’t reconcile wat u said with d oft repeated loud refrain dat dis gahmen prides itself on planning at least 5, 10 years ahead.
        So wat has gone wrong here?

We know right?
        A best plan is as good as its execution.[/quote]You are right in saying we are weak in change management. Yes we plan 5-10 yrs ahead. Problem is when executing, die oso stick to the plan, even when the climate has changed. Die oso must fit that square peg into a hole that was once square but have over time lost its edges and become round.

And when finally realise need to change and try to effect change cos of the different climate now, you get people saying your plan says this and the outcome should be like that then how come now you say must change and why the outcome not like that, and out comes the complaints and the petition and all the 'oh where is my old singapore'.

limlim

maybe it is according to plan…?

Stop at TWO! decades down the road, good reason to mass import foreigners and rich biz laugh all the way to the bank…

maybe it is according to plan..?

Stop at TWO! decades down the road, good reason to mass import foreigners and rich biz laugh all the way to the bank..
            the \"stop at 2\" was implemented single-mindedly

the same policy could be used on the importation of FT as well with the same doggedness in implementation

Way2GO

We know right?
              A best plan is as good as its execution.
              For instance wrt to FTs, d gahmen did execute as planned initially.
              however in its execution, d power-dat-is miscalculated on d groundswell against n many negatives resulting fr d large influx.

You are right in saying we are weak in change management. Yes we plan 5-10 yrs ahead. Problem is when executing, die oso stick to the plan, even when the climate has changed. Die oso must fit that square peg into a hole that was once square but have over time lost its edges and become round.

Not changing a plan to move in accordance with situational changes on d ground is a recipe for disaster.

maybe it is according to plan..?

Stop at TWO! decades down the road, good reason to mass import foreigners and rich biz laugh all the way to the bank..

the same policy could be used on the importation of FT as well with the same doggedness in implementation

I am sure Old Lee realised his mistake and I believe he has angst over it as well.

To be candid, even without Old Lee's proposition, I will predict the same outcome for SG now, we will still face the shortage in population. With a rapidly rising economy in mind and industrialization efforts, people then will naturally spend less time making babies.. So with or without Old Lee's campaign, the same outcome will happen. It was unfortunate for him to start that campaign.

As mentioned earlier, having babies is a personal decision, hardly a campaign can help much. Whatever campaign now, I see people having children still basing on individual circumstances, never driven by incentives whatsoever. Incentives help to relieve the burden, it is NOT a driver so by now I am certain people have or not have children, it is ultimately a personal reason.

We have courtesy campaigns for many years but it was never successful so I really do not give all credit to the 'stop at 2' campaign for the reduced population. It was actually \"people spent a lot of time working, building Singapore\"

dolphinsiah

I remember long long time ago.....during 1 GE election the MIW , promised all Singaporeans a

Swiss Live-by 2020.....

I don not see this happening, expect that life in this little island is getting stressful....

A lot of people will be diagnose to have IMH problem..... :siao:

Way2GO

[quote=\"limlim\"]maybe it is according to plan..?

I am sure Old Lee realised his mistake and I believe he has angst over it as well.

To be candid, even without Old Lee's proposition, I will predict the same outcome for SG now, we will still face the shortage in population. With a rapidly rising economy in mind and industrialization efforts, people then will naturally spend less time making babies.. So with or without Old Lee's campaign, the same outcome will happen. It was unfortunate for him to start that campaign.

As mentioned earlier, having babies is a personal decision, hardly a campaign can help much. Whatever campaign now, I see people having children still basing on individual circumstances, never driven by incentives whatsoever. Incentives help to relieve the burden, it is NOT a driver so by now I am certain people have or not have children, it is ultimately a personal reason.

We have courtesy campaigns for many years but it was never successful so I really do not give all credit to the 'stop at 2' campaign for the reduced population. It was actually \"people spent a lot of time working, building Singapore\"[/quote]Can't totally agree d 'Stop at 2\" was a mistake.
                    It was an appropriate measure at a time when population growth was increasing faster than Lau Lee can find jobs n he was worried.
                    But they possibly missed out on d after-effects,
                    n its coming back to haunt us.

• FunzF Offline
                      Funz

Can't totally agree d 'Stop at 2\" was a mistake.
                      It was an appropriate measure at a time when population growth was increasing faster than Lau Lee can find jobs n he was worried.
                      But they possibly missed out on d after-effects,
                      n its coming back to haunt us.
                      Haha, he never expected so many Singaporeans to be such over-achievers that not only did we stop at 2 a lot of us stop at 1 or even totally stopped.

Lilac66

Lilac66:

[quote=\"dolphinsiah\"]

Can't help but wonder if the 2 bodies found at MBS are related to gambling, and what statements are these people trying to make by killing themselves there.

Convenience? :roll:
                        one gambles at MBS, loses his pants there, is in a daze n feeling lost,
                        retires to d rm to expire or launch himself fr d top of MBS.
                        Very convenient, no need to go to Bedok Reservoir.[/quote]
                        I know I shouldn't be doing this , afterall we're talking about suicide. But Way2go, you are :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 65