[Clementi] Primary Schools

802 Posts 137 Posters 332.2k Views 1 Watching
      THC

THC:
      glenax:

[quote=\"THC\"]
      Please note that NHPS falls under West Coast GRC now.
      If you are opting for GRL route, then need to find a house in West Coast GRC.

By the way, getting accepts as PV for NHPS is a BIG challenge.
      I understand there is about 300applicant yearly and they choose around 30 or so.

Thanks for the tip, we were wondering abt where NHPS falls under bcos its at the border of west coast GRC.

yeah, I am wondering if after moving 1km and do PV and still dun get in I think my heart will break. but well, its always good to try before giving up. :xedfingers:

Which year is your child born?
      I will register my DS1 for P2B this year. :xedfingers:

Based on previous years of balloting history, if you are staying within 1km, chances of getting a place at P2B is very good, almost 100percent.
      The hurdle is getting qualify for P2B.[/quote]

LostInWoods

mummy of 3:

No need to buy Clementi... Buy West Coast ard Blk 517 there is also within 1km and is under West Coast GRC
        Dont think West coast blk 517 is within 1KM of NHPS. Those blks within 1KM are those nearer to AYE

puff

LostInWoods:
          mummy of 3:

No need to buy Clementi... Buy West Coast ard Blk 517 there is also within 1km and is under West Coast GRC

Dont think West coast blk 517 is within 1KM of NHPS. Those blks within 1KM are those nearer to AYE

Blk 510 is the last blk within 1 km ... Blk 511 onward fall under 1-2km.

mummy of 3

puff:
            LostInWoods:

[quote=\"mummy of 3\"]

Blk 510 is the last blk within 1 km ... Blk 511 onward fall under 1-2km.[/quote]Oh my mistake... Puff, u r right :imsorry:

LostInWoods:
              Dont think West coast blk 517 is within 1KM of NHPS.

LostInWoods is correct !

Type in address \"517 West Coast Road Singapore 120517\" into below website, & click <Search> button.
              http://www.elite.com.sg/

from \"Block 517 West Coast Road Singapore 120517\",

i) three schools found located less than 1 km (inside Blue zone) are:-

- Qifa
              - Clementi
              - Jin Tai

ii) two schools found located within 1 to 2 km (inside Red zone) are:-

- Nan Hua
              - Pei Tong

iii) other schools are > 2km (outside Red zone), like :-
              Henry Park, Pei Hwa, MGS, Bukit Timah, KeMing, Bukit View, Princess Elizabeth, Jurong, etc.

• JworldJ Offline
                Jworld

LostInWoods:

Dont think West coast blk 517 is within 1KM of NHPS.

LostInWoods is correct !

Type in address \"517 West Coast Road Singapore 120517\" into below website, & click <Search> button.
                http://www.elite.com.sg/

from \"Block 517 West Coast Road Singapore 120517\",

i) three schools found located less than 1 km (inside Blue zone) are:-

- Qifa
                - Clementi
                - Jin Tai

ii) two schools found located within 1 to 2 km (inside Red zone) are:-

- Nan Hua
                - Pei Tong

iii) other schools are > 2km (outside Red zone), like :-
                Henry Park, Pei Hwa, MGS, Bukit Timah, KeMing, Bukit View, Princess Elizabeth, Jurong, etc.

Is there a big diff in the chance for those within 1 km and those within 1-2 km? I always thought both are given same priority.

Jworld:
                  Is there a big diff in the chance for those within 1 km and those within 1-2 km? I always thought both are given same priority.

Of course BIG difference !

in the event of balloting -
                  children staying within 1 km got chance to ballot first, before children staying between 1 to 2 km (if vacancies still remain).

turn to MOE Primary 1 Registration Guideline webpage to FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions):-

What are the guidelines to be used for balloting when the number of applications exceeds the number of vacancies from Phase 2A(1) to Phase 2C Supplementary?
                  (scroll down to Balloting section, Question #1)

With effect from the 2012 Primary One Registration Exercise, should the total number of applications exceed the number of vacancies for each phase from Phase 2A(1) to 2C Supplementary, priority will be given in the order of (1) children who are Singapore Citizens (SCs), followed by (2) children who are Singapore Permanent Residents (PRs).

If the number of applicants within each category exceeds the number of vacancies, balloting will be conducted according to the home-school distance category in the following order of priority.

Children living within 1 km of the school of choice.
                  Children living between 1 km and 2 km of the school of choice.
                  Children living outside 2 km of the school of choice.

source of info
                  http://ifaq.gov.sg/moe/apps/fcd_faqmain.aspx?qst=2fN7e274RAp%2BbUzLdEL%2FmCxs7iwcgv8gv2atNDOvsLDY3Lt6YubtCWDOKJwVCIe%2FqbvjOBEg%2Fpbljt5ksk7eOWhP%2BiqXKDxkfVPMC7374RLT0zSPEjXT%2FNlovBlxk9Hk2JXfMdbZGWjJnnmE8TqcKLc0pcWlSSIXcgq5fZmSMCUHKt%2BHACmbT5fadLrq0wULjZoohRiqXgIHE0ZEEEiHuaC79hDVaNQ3UKzES%2FqiATnIIHRndMxXeA%3D%3D

example:
                  2011 phase 2C Nan Hua

< 1 km: 28 vacancies, 82 applicants (exceed)
                  balloting took place: 54 out, 28 lucky ones got in.

between 1 to 2 km: not given any chance to ballot

http://www.nanhuapri.moe.edu.sg/cos/o.x?c=/wbn/pagetree&func=view&rid=1084434

2011 phase 2C

Clementi:
                    only Nan Hua required balloting.
                    the rest: no ballot, walk in direct.

turn to page 38
                    http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=358&start=370

THC

Registration getting nearer so can't help but done a trend analysis on NHPS.

Data used obtained from KS parent and NHPS website, main objective is to try to speculate the number of vacancy in P2B.

Past years Take Up Rate (P1 to P2A2)
                      Yr 06 - 61%
                      Yr 07 - 58%
                      Yr 08 - 77%
                      Yr 09 - 65%
                      Yr 10 - 70%
                      Yr 11 - 77%

My bet for yr12 probably around 68 to 69% - 37 to 38 places for P2B.
                      At P2B, those living less than 2km will probably not need to ballot.

I can be totally OFF THE MARK cos there are simply too many variables which nobody will know correctly till registration ends but still can't help trying to figure out the vacancy/success rate. :celebrate:

cocolatte

Will try to ballot for the slot in NHPS. If my eldest DS gets into NHPS, the rest of my 2 younger DS will be assured of the place in the future.. :xedfingers:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 49 / 81