Travel: Australia - Perth

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    241 Posts 59 Posters 231.8k Views 1 Watching
      concern_mum

hi, has anyone been to Rottnest Island? Pls share with me your experience and how to get there.

bebebub

concern_mum:
        hi, has anyone been to Rottnest Island? Pls share with me your experience and how to get there.

Nice n relaxing if your idea of vacation is spending a day by the beach doing almost nothing or cycling ard an island exploring flora n fauna. Rottenest Island is a nature reserve n public vehicles r not allowed on the island. Best way to explore is on bike, available for hire on the island. Can walk la, but tiring lor. Think there are bus services on the island but I've not taken them before.

If u r staying in Perth city, can buy ferry tickets from Barrack Street Jetty. Ferry services are also available from Frementle.

Pack a picnic basket n enjoy a lazy afternoon/day on Rottnest.

Dun say I never warn u huh, my Singaporean friends say I :siao: to waste time ( :moneyflies: ) there. But I find it quite nice leh

concern_mum

thanks bebebub. Do i need to book the ferry tickets earlier?

bebebub

concern_mum:
            thanks bebebub. Do i need to book the ferry tickets earlier?

Unless things have changed, else, there is no need for advance booking.
            To plan for your trip, you can google for Rottnest ferry ticket price n timings.

miffy_ang

Hi, I’m planning to go to Perth with my 1yo and 3yo.

Day 1: Perth city: bell tower and king’s park
              Day 2: caversham wildlife park, Whiteman park and chocolate factory
              Day 3: Fremantle
              Day 4: Busselton Jetty, Mandurah
              Day 5: Magaret River and farm stay
              Day 6: return to sg

Wonder if it’s too hectic a trip with 2 young kids? possible to combine Busselton and Mandurah for 1 day?

kohbee2.06303gmail.06303com

miffy_ang:
                Hi, I'm planning to go to Perth with my 1yo and 3yo.

Day 1: Perth city: bell tower and king's park

Wonder if it's too hectic a trip with 2 young kids? possible to combine Busselton and Mandurah for 1 day?
                Fremantle to Mandurah will be about 1 hour drive. Then from Mandurah to Busselton Jetty will be another 2 hours. We had thought of doing both Mandurah and Busselton when we were there a few years back. But realised that the dolphin boat out will need advance booking and might also upset the timing as we have to find our next motel near Busselton. So we decided not to risk it. Can be done but can be touch and go. Depends on your preference. And timing must be right. For 1 year old, might not be so meaningful.

Where are you staying at Busselton? Just curious. We stayed at one resort near Abbey which was good.

miffy_ang

JR:
                  miffy_ang:

Hi, I'm planning to go to Perth with my 1yo and 3yo.

Wonder if it's too hectic a trip with 2 young kids? possible to combine Busselton and Mandurah for 1 day?

Fremantle to Mandurah will be about 1 hour drive. Then from Mandurah to Busselton Jetty will be another 2 hours. We had thought of doing both Mandurah and Busselton when we were there a few years back. But realised that the dolphin boat out will need advance booking and might also upset the timing as we have to find our next motel near Busselton. So we decided not to risk it. Can be done but can be touch and go. Depends on your preference. And timing must be right. For 1 year old, might not be so meaningful.

Where are you staying at Busselton? Just curious. We stayed at one resort near Abbey which was good.

Hi JR,

Thks for your reply. I am not taking the dolphin cruise, planning to go to the Abingdon Minature Village at Mandurah. Then over to Busselton jetty. Haven't decide on where to stay, at Mandurah or Busselton...

krazy

Dolphin tours on boat only takes place during the weekends and there is only 1 timing: 11am. This is for winter.

kohbee2.06303gmail.06303com

miffy_ang:
                      JR:

[quote=\"miffy_ang\"]Hi, I'm planning to go to Perth with my 1yo and 3yo.

Hi JR,

Thks for your reply. I am not taking the dolphin cruise, planning to go to the Abingdon Minature Village at Mandurah. Then over to Busselton jetty. Haven't decide on where to stay, at Mandurah or Busselton...[/quote]If it is just a visit to the minature village, then you can control the timing. I would think you can spend the morning in Mandurah and then drive over to Busselton. I suppose you are visiting Busselton jetty. We spend about 2 to 3 hours there if you include the visit to the underwater observatory.

If you are going on to Margaret River, then I would suggest you stay near Busselton as it is nearer to Margaret River. No point going back to Mandurah and back again past Busselton the next day...

miffy_ang

Thks. Where did you stay in Busselton?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 25