[Jurong East/Jurong West] Preschools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    504 Posts 125 Posters 17.6k Views 1 Watching

sTresSmUm:
      thanks for the info.

will be joining the hokkien clan, although i have not decided which school to register my son. As per said..Kiasu! Joined now and worried later.

Speaking of MMI, the branch that my son is attending... appears to me that there is \"JUST enough nos of teachers\". If one teacher goes on MC or leave, teacher from kindergarten or nursery class will hv to take over or teachers have to help out at reception...etc. Not sure if this is the norm? :?

Just find that it is disruptive to a class if the main teacher has to run other errands and not focusing on the children.

Am i being too picky or what???
      Oi... don't scare me leh... after all my research with dozens of child care centres in the east, I'm just about to go for the MMI at Katong Shopping Centre (given your good review of the MMI at Jurong :lol: )! But I suppose it is quite normal lah... teachers only human... if their own kids fall sick or something, they also have to handle it lor. At least got other teachers to cover. I think you only need to be concerned if this happens too regularly (like more than once in 2 weeks in the span of a month).

How much is the hokkien clan membership fee now? Cost us $500 last time. U did right by joining now... they only do recommendations for members of more than 2 years!

sTresSmUm

ahaha…sori lah!

Beside this, i think they are doing a great job with my koala bear son. Presumed the branch in the east is more established as compared to the one in jurong west ext being a few months old. Thus, they might not have issues liked this…

Anyway, think i will pop in and have a talk with the supervisor. At least to calm my "kiasu" mind.

Yap, $500 plus to join the clan. Did not know i need to be member for at least 2 yrs . Thanks for the info… Going to submit the FORM extremely SOON!!

otherwise, welcome to dreaded Phase 2C.

ya... confirm need balloting for the ones that I am looking at. 😄
          6 more months and counting down!

mommyvan

sTresSmUm:
            ahaha...sori lah!

Beside this, i think they are doing a great job with my koala bear son. Presumed the branch in the east is more established as compared to the one in jurong west ext being a few months old. Thus, they might not have issues liked this....

Anyway, think i will pop in and have a talk with the supervisor. At least to calm my \"kiasu\" mind.

Yap, $500 plus to join the clan. Did not know i need to be member for at least 2 yrs . Thanks for the info... Going to submit the FORM extremely SOON!!
            Hi Stressmum,

My son is now 16 months old and I'm also staying in the Jurong West area and very near to the MMI Jurong West Extension. I am looking for good playgroup centre with enrichment programmes for my son starting from 18 months.

Would you give me some inputs on MMI Jurong West Extension, to put my son from 18 months. Do they provide some Flexi care, like 9am - 12am? I'm working, but my maid takes care of my son. So, I just want him to see the outside world, play with other kids and learn as he plays. I did see your good comments on MMI. But would like to get more info from you :).

@ChiefKiasu,
            I would like to invite suggestions from you too. I'm looking for a good playgroup centre in Jurong West Area for my 18 months old and my primary focus is enrichment programmes.

Both of your postings have been very useful for me :). Inviting more suggestions..!!

mommyvan:

Hi Stressmum,

My son is now 16 months old and I'm also staying in the Jurong West area and very near to the MMI Jurong West Extension. I am looking for good playgroup centre with enrichment programmes for my son starting from 18 months.

Would you give me some inputs on MMI Jurong West Extension, to put my son from 18 months. Do they provide some Flexi care, like 9am - 12am? I'm working, but my maid takes care of my son. So, I just want him to see the outside world, play with other kids and learn as he plays. I did see your good comments on MMI. But would like to get more info from you :).

@ChiefKiasu,
              I would like to invite suggestions from you too. I'm looking for a good playgroup centre in Jurong West Area for my 18 months old and my primary focus is enrichment programmes.

Both of your postings have been very useful for me :). Inviting more suggestions..!!
              I stay in the east, so I will tell you more about the MMI @ Katong. I visited them on a Saturday, but there were still quite a number of kids there. The place is fully air-conditioned, clean and well organized. The principal is very friendly and speaks with an English accent and was so charming that my girl took to her immediately, letting her shake hands, and was quite chatty with her. The Chinese teacher was also present, and although she is Singaporean and converse well in English, her Chinese was flawless and can pass off as a China native. The whole place was bright and airy, kind of like a gym floor subdivided into sections where each group will do their activities. More like a kindergarten than childcare. I checked out their Montessori-like training materials. They were all carefully labeled and neatly segregated into tupperware, catering to very specific activities. The price is also very reasonable - $500+ for a half-day session.

I would have sent my kid there if not for a subsequent preview of Kinderland Academy in Katong. Although more expensive by more than $100, Kinderland finally won out due to what we perceived as a full curriculum, almost as good as what is offered by the rather snobbish but top-notched NAFA Kindergarten. Not surprising since Kinderland is a Crestar franchise, so it offers the equivalent of Yamaha's Music Wonderland courses along with speech and drama, math and language classes. They even offer Japanese classes to full-time students, all at not extra cost!

mommyvan

mommyvan:

Hi Stressmum,

@ChiefKiasu,

I stay in the east, so I will tell you more about the MMI @ Katong. I visited them on a Saturday, but there were still quite a number of kids there. The place is fully air-conditioned, clean and well organized. The principal is very friendly and speaks with an English accent and was so charming that my girl took to her immediately, letting her shake hands, and was quite chatty with her. The Chinese teacher was also present, and although she is Singaporean and converse well in English, her Chinese was flawless and can pass off as a China native. The whole place was bright and airy, kind of like a gym floor subdivided into sections where each group will do their activities. More like a kindergarten than childcare. I checked out their Montessori-like training materials. They were all carefully labeled and neatly segregated into tupperware, catering to very specific activities. The price is also very reasonable - $500+ for a half-day session.

I would have sent my kid there if not for a subsequent preview of Kinderland Academy in Katong. Although more expensive by more than $100, Kinderland finally won out due to what we perceived as a full curriculum, almost as good as what is offered by the rather snobbish but top-notched NAFA Kindergarten. Not surprising since Kinderland is a Crestar franchise, so it offers the equivalent of Yamaha's Music Wonderland courses along with speech and drama, math and language classes. They even offer Japanese classes to full-time students, all at not extra cost!

Thanks a lot, ChiefKiasu. Going to the Open house of MMI Jurong West Extension this weekend. Hope things go well 🙂

mommyvan:

Thanks a lot, ChiefKiasu. Going to the Open house of MMI Jurong West Extension this weekend. Hope things go well 🙂
                  You're most welcome. Sorry I wasn't able to comment on the MMI @ Jurong West Ext.

Actually, if you have the time, it's probably better you take a peek when they are actually in operation, to see first hand what the kids are doing. Going on a Saturday will only allow you to see (and smell :)) the premises. Normally only a few kids will be around, and probably just watching TV and passing time since there are no official programmes on for them.

sTresSmUm

Harlow mommyvan,

Sorry for the late reply. I presumed you have been to the open house at MMI…did you managed to get the info you needed?

I have personally seen how the teachers handle the children in the playgroup when my son was there for a trial in nursery class. They came across as very experienced, it happens to be the beginning of school term and everyone seem to be CRYING!!

To my knowledge, there are 6-7 children to 2 full time teachers in the current class. To me, this number is GOOD as it is SMALL.

Or have you looked into other schools in our area?

sTresSmUm:
                      ... I have personally seen how the teachers handle the children in the playgroup when my son was there for a trial in nursery class. They came across as very experienced, it happens to be the beginning of school term and everyone seem to be CRYING!!

To my knowledge, there are 6-7 children to 2 full time teachers in the current class. To me, this number is GOOD as it is SMALL...
                      2 FT teachers for 6-7 kids is amazing! I don't think even Eton House provides such ratio. Not sure if that is a temporary thing or they are just waiting for more kids to sign up.

sTresSmUm:

... I have personally seen how the teachers handle the children in the playgroup when my son was there for a trial in nursery class. They came across as very experienced, it happens to be the beginning of school term and everyone seem to be CRYING!!

To my knowledge, there are 6-7 children to 2 full time teachers in the current class. To me, this number is GOOD as it is SMALL...

2 FT teachers for 6-7 kids is amazing! I don't think even Eton House provides such ratio. Not sure if that is a temporary thing or they are just waiting for more kids to sign up.

sometimes cos it is the beginning of school term, the centre will arrange for teachers from the older kids' class to help out in the nursery class.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 51