[Jurong East/Jurong West] Preschools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    504 Posts 125 Posters 17.6k Views 1 Watching

sTresSmUm:
      Nope, no swimming pool. 😞 I would not mind paying extra if there is one, at least i wont need to bring him for swimming classes if the school can do it.

So far the experience with the teachers has been wonderful. They came across as very caring and patient, bother to explain and assured me that his insecurity is normal (my son was sobbing....hanging onto me liked a koala bear when i told him that i am leaving!!).

After 4 days of class, i realised that my son could identify the sounds for 4 letters of the alphabet taught in phonic lesson. Is that consider a good start? :lol:

What about you? Any luck with baby inc or school by the bay?

As i am trying to settle my son into his nursery class. Suddenly it hit me that maybe it is hightime to start sourcing for a PRIMARY SCHOOL. ahaha...
      Some parents would prefer no swimming pool in case the security is so lax that the kids wandering outside might drop into the pool, so maybe it's a good thing after all πŸ˜‰

Most kids are koala bears when it comes to leaving the parents - unless they are so bored at home that they welcome the new friends and excitement in the child care centre.

Kids are super absorbent between 2-4 years old... that's why the brain training centres focus on this age. The question is more about what interest them enough to want to learn. Don't be surprised if your kid picks up all the phonics by the end of the month and start spouting the Queen's English to you :lol: .

I've heard and seen good things about Schoolhouse by the bay. I think it's an experimental project by a government-affliated society, so it should be quite interesting. But quite expensive, because there is no government subsidy at all - MCYS don't consider it a child care service! That's rubbish because it was as child care as any others I've seen :rant: .

Problem is arranging for transport since they only do half-days for pre-nursery kids.

So you think you are starting a bit too early for your P1 search? Some angmohs in other countries already started booking places in highly prestigious schools as soon as they get pregnant! And they call us kiasu. So yes, better start preparing by identifying your target school and start cho-choing the principal by showing how useful you are to the school. Never too early to do that.

sTresSmUm

Yap, i was told that their brain works liked a sponge at this tender age, which is the reason why i send him to shichida when he was 18 months old. ahah..kiasu me.

And yes, transport is an issue esp if there is no school bus arrangement. That is why, i kinda of regret living at the west. Probably it is a high time to move as it came across to me that most of the \"popular\" school seems to be all over singapore but not in the west.

Speaking of identifying target primary school. Any suggestion of what i should look for? I am scratching my head as i am posting this reply. :roll:

Wah... yet another kiasu mum! Well done, and welcome! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

There are loads of people in our community who have or are currently experimenting with Shichida, so don't be shy, ok?

Anyway, the starting point of any search for Primary 1 schools is from yours or your husband's or your older children's primary school... alumni and family get the first right of refusal. Next, you look for the \"better\" schools in your neighbourhood. Finally, if you still decide that it is meaningful for you to still try that ultra-branded school that is on the other side of the country, you had better start buying that flat/house/condo right next to it so you can maximize your chances.

Actually, people get very creative when it comes to that last option. Some are lucky enough to have relatives staying near, so they can make arrangements for their kids to actually stay there during week days and go home only during weekends. More desperate ones would try to \"buy\" addresses from residents around the area just for registration - this is completely ILLEGAL and while they might get away from it, it might catch up with them one day and both they and their innocent child gets severely penalized for their moment of folly. Not worth it lah. The garmen not stupid too, you know, and the rest of we kiasu parents won't let such cheaters get away so easily πŸ™‚

Anyway, once you have made up your mind on the school, start talking up the principal to create \"mindshare\". Every parent need to do this, as long as they are not alumni. You essentially market yourself as being indispensable to the school with whatever skills or talents you possess, from cleaning the schools toilets to organizing excursions or giving voluntary extra-curricular lessons. OK.. I'm exaggerating on the cleaning toilet part, but that's to give hope to those without any skills to market.

Or you can simply join the dialect clan or any governing associations the school belongs to, that works too assuming you are lucky enough to have a father that qualifies you. This costs money, but heck, what doesn't?

Sometimes, even if you jump through all those hoops, you will still find yourself enjoying the balloting process along with others who did the same hoops but... sigh... there're only so many seats in the class. The good news is, even if you did not make it in the first balloting process, there're at least 2 more for you to enjoy.

Confused yet? Don't worry, you have another 3 years to sort it out. However, you have to start the process in earnest 2 years before the registration, otherwise, welcome to dreaded Phase 2C.

Here're the details from our very own http://www.moe.gov.sg/esp/schadm/p1/phases.htm.

sTresSmUm

thanks for the info.

will be joining the hokkien clan, although i have not decided which school to register my son. As per said..Kiasu! Joined now and worried later.

Speaking of MMI, the branch that my son is attending... appears to me that there is \"JUST enough nos of teachers\". If one teacher goes on MC or leave, teacher from kindergarten or nursery class will hv to take over or teachers have to help out at reception...etc. Not sure if this is the norm? :?

Just find that it is disruptive to a class if the main teacher has to run other errands and not focusing on the children.

Am i being too picky or what???

sTresSmUm:
              thanks for the info.

will be joining the hokkien clan, although i have not decided which school to register my son. As per said..Kiasu! Joined now and worried later.

Speaking of MMI, the branch that my son is attending... appears to me that there is \"JUST enough nos of teachers\". If one teacher goes on MC or leave, teacher from kindergarten or nursery class will hv to take over or teachers have to help out at reception...etc. Not sure if this is the norm? :?

Just find that it is disruptive to a class if the main teacher has to run other errands and not focusing on the children.

Am i being too picky or what???
              Oi... don't scare me leh... after all my research with dozens of child care centres in the east, I'm just about to go for the MMI at Katong Shopping Centre (given your good review of the MMI at Jurong :lol: )! But I suppose it is quite normal lah... teachers only human... if their own kids fall sick or something, they also have to handle it lor. At least got other teachers to cover. I think you only need to be concerned if this happens too regularly (like more than once in 2 weeks in the span of a month).

How much is the hokkien clan membership fee now? Cost us $500 last time. U did right by joining now... they only do recommendations for members of more than 2 years!

sTresSmUm

ahaha…sori lah!

Beside this, i think they are doing a great job with my koala bear son. Presumed the branch in the east is more established as compared to the one in jurong west ext being a few months old. Thus, they might not have issues liked this…

Anyway, think i will pop in and have a talk with the supervisor. At least to calm my "kiasu" mind.

Yap, $500 plus to join the clan. Did not know i need to be member for at least 2 yrs . Thanks for the info… Going to submit the FORM extremely SOON!!

otherwise, welcome to dreaded Phase 2C.

ya... confirm need balloting for the ones that I am looking at. πŸ˜„
                  6 more months and counting down!

mommyvan

sTresSmUm:
                    ahaha...sori lah!

Beside this, i think they are doing a great job with my koala bear son. Presumed the branch in the east is more established as compared to the one in jurong west ext being a few months old. Thus, they might not have issues liked this....

Anyway, think i will pop in and have a talk with the supervisor. At least to calm my \"kiasu\" mind.

Yap, $500 plus to join the clan. Did not know i need to be member for at least 2 yrs . Thanks for the info... Going to submit the FORM extremely SOON!!
                    Hi Stressmum,

My son is now 16 months old and I'm also staying in the Jurong West area and very near to the MMI Jurong West Extension. I am looking for good playgroup centre with enrichment programmes for my son starting from 18 months.

Would you give me some inputs on MMI Jurong West Extension, to put my son from 18 months. Do they provide some Flexi care, like 9am - 12am? I'm working, but my maid takes care of my son. So, I just want him to see the outside world, play with other kids and learn as he plays. I did see your good comments on MMI. But would like to get more info from you :).

@ChiefKiasu,
                    I would like to invite suggestions from you too. I'm looking for a good playgroup centre in Jurong West Area for my 18 months old and my primary focus is enrichment programmes.

Both of your postings have been very useful for me :). Inviting more suggestions..!!

mommyvan:

Hi Stressmum,

My son is now 16 months old and I'm also staying in the Jurong West area and very near to the MMI Jurong West Extension. I am looking for good playgroup centre with enrichment programmes for my son starting from 18 months.

Would you give me some inputs on MMI Jurong West Extension, to put my son from 18 months. Do they provide some Flexi care, like 9am - 12am? I'm working, but my maid takes care of my son. So, I just want him to see the outside world, play with other kids and learn as he plays. I did see your good comments on MMI. But would like to get more info from you :).

@ChiefKiasu,
                      I would like to invite suggestions from you too. I'm looking for a good playgroup centre in Jurong West Area for my 18 months old and my primary focus is enrichment programmes.

Both of your postings have been very useful for me :). Inviting more suggestions..!!
                      I stay in the east, so I will tell you more about the MMI @ Katong. I visited them on a Saturday, but there were still quite a number of kids there. The place is fully air-conditioned, clean and well organized. The principal is very friendly and speaks with an English accent and was so charming that my girl took to her immediately, letting her shake hands, and was quite chatty with her. The Chinese teacher was also present, and although she is Singaporean and converse well in English, her Chinese was flawless and can pass off as a China native. The whole place was bright and airy, kind of like a gym floor subdivided into sections where each group will do their activities. More like a kindergarten than childcare. I checked out their Montessori-like training materials. They were all carefully labeled and neatly segregated into tupperware, catering to very specific activities. The price is also very reasonable - $500+ for a half-day session.

I would have sent my kid there if not for a subsequent preview of Kinderland Academy in Katong. Although more expensive by more than $100, Kinderland finally won out due to what we perceived as a full curriculum, almost as good as what is offered by the rather snobbish but top-notched NAFA Kindergarten. Not surprising since Kinderland is a Crestar franchise, so it offers the equivalent of Yamaha's Music Wonderland courses along with speech and drama, math and language classes. They even offer Japanese classes to full-time students, all at not extra cost!

mommyvan

mommyvan:

Hi Stressmum,

@ChiefKiasu,

I stay in the east, so I will tell you more about the MMI @ Katong. I visited them on a Saturday, but there were still quite a number of kids there. The place is fully air-conditioned, clean and well organized. The principal is very friendly and speaks with an English accent and was so charming that my girl took to her immediately, letting her shake hands, and was quite chatty with her. The Chinese teacher was also present, and although she is Singaporean and converse well in English, her Chinese was flawless and can pass off as a China native. The whole place was bright and airy, kind of like a gym floor subdivided into sections where each group will do their activities. More like a kindergarten than childcare. I checked out their Montessori-like training materials. They were all carefully labeled and neatly segregated into tupperware, catering to very specific activities. The price is also very reasonable - $500+ for a half-day session.

I would have sent my kid there if not for a subsequent preview of Kinderland Academy in Katong. Although more expensive by more than $100, Kinderland finally won out due to what we perceived as a full curriculum, almost as good as what is offered by the rather snobbish but top-notched NAFA Kindergarten. Not surprising since Kinderland is a Crestar franchise, so it offers the equivalent of Yamaha's Music Wonderland courses along with speech and drama, math and language classes. They even offer Japanese classes to full-time students, all at not extra cost!

Thanks a lot, ChiefKiasu. Going to the Open house of MMI Jurong West Extension this weekend. Hope things go well πŸ™‚

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 51