How to save electricity?

556 Posts 63 Posters 149.6k Views 1 Watching
      fightingmom

Imami:

I cannot wait for 3 small biz to flush loo. Very smelly...at most tahan twice.

As for heater, I usually switch it off after 15 min. Bathing with hot water strips the body of its moisture.

Hardly use dryer unless it is year end rainy season.

Switch on more fans in the house to cool down instead of air con. But if really hot, have to switch on air con. Heat is unbearable.

Pour some dettol into the toilet bowl to remove that pee stench. But seriously, must flush after each pee. The stench can be very bad.

I have a ceiling fan in the living room. It's good! Even on very warm day, we don't need aircon in the hall. Maybe you all can consider installing ceiling fans?

I Have wall fans in all the bedrooms, but it seems ceiling fan is more powerful. Shd have installed ceiling fan.... Easier to clean too :sad:

Hi just OT a little since we are talking about ceiling fan.

If you do intend to install ceiling fan, pls don't buy those that come with lighting in the middle . (hope I describe it properly). I installed that before and found that when I switched on the lights and ceiling fan, it cast a shadow of the fan blades circulating and it was extremely tiring to the eyes when we were reading.
      At my parents' place , we installed a ceiling fan and the ceiling lights are separate away from the fan in the living room so the air circulation is good and no shadow casting . Just sharing. šŸ˜„

limlim

Switch on more fans in the house to cool down instead of air con. But if really hot, have to switch on air con. Heat is unbearable.
        if the weather is hot.. fans will blow hot air.........

hquek

I used to think that of ceiling fans (the light will be interrupted by the whirring fan blades). but the newer ones nowadays have their light under where the fan blades are.

I installed one some months back and so far very happy with it. True, fans can only circulate hot air - but some circulation better than none. Ceiling fans very power, floor standing types cannot fight.

hquek

For aircon, DH told me to set the fan speed (eg to low) and not put to auto. This will ensure steady stream of airconditioning rather than speed up and down (more electricity). dunno if that is correct but this what we do.

We turn off all tvs etc once not needed - nothing is placed on standby becos that sucks energy still. Aircon also turned off at the switch.

BTW, airpots are a big no-no. They eat energy quietly like nobody biz. I’m referring to that are to be left on 24x7. My MIL got rid of hers sometime back and was amazed by the sudden drop in electrical charges.

Imami

if the weather is hot.. fans will blow hot air.........

That's the normal logic. But hor, mine is not leh. On hot days, it still can generate normal wind. Not hot at all... I like.

Imami

For aircon, DH told me to set the fan speed (eg to low) and not put to auto. This will ensure steady stream of airconditioning rather than speed up and down (more electricity). dunno if that is correct but this what we do.

We turn off all tvs etc once not needed - nothing is placed on standby becos that sucks energy still. Aircon also turned off at the switch.

BTW, airpots are a big no-no. They eat energy quietly like nobody biz. I'm referring to that are to be left on 24x7. My MIL got rid of hers sometime back and was amazed by the sudden drop in electrical charges.
                That's what I heard about airpots-the energy consuming part. But when mine finally retire, I didn't see a significant drop in my electricity bill (I switch to kettle boiling water on gas). So I wonder :?

vinlene

haha.. same goes to ours!! šŸ˜„

Lynn2010:
                  vinlene:

How about modem? It is on 24/7 in our house.. Does it consume alot of electricity? We were told by the service provider guy that it is okay to leave it on 24/7 but i wonder will the box get spoilt by the heat it generated? :roll:

Not sure about electrical consumption, but ours has never been off for Y..E..A...R...S

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

I only boil enough water for each use and get room temp drinking water from filter without boiling.

For tank heater, if u r not using a bath (tub), can choose the smallest tank...heat up faster and limit time in shower coz limited hot water! šŸ˜‰

limlim

Imami:

BTW, airpots are a big no-no. They eat energy quietly like nobody biz. I'm referring to that are to be left on 24x7. My MIL got rid of hers sometime back and was amazed by the sudden drop in electrical charges.

That's what I heard about airpots-the energy consuming part. But when mine finally retire, I didn't see a significant drop in my electricity bill (I switch to kettle boiling water on gas). So I wonder :?

Airpot does consume a LOT of electricity..

However, it's a compromise between savings and convenience. I decided to get one after weighting all the benefits. I want to have hot water for coffee any time as and when I want, so the convenience is worth the $ on bills.

I got the Vacuum Electric type, which is stated to consume 24W to keep the water at 90°C. This work out to be around $6 in electricity bills every month. There is another version which is even more efficient using only 17W, but much more expensive.. iirc, the one from tiger consumes approx 65W to keep water hot.. and it is also VE type.

As for other no brand type, I presume they eat electricity like nobody's business.. especially those w/o vacuum insulation. Probably in the order of tens of dollars every month to keep water hot. If you have one, just put your hand on the flash.. it should be warm and not hot. if it is hot.. it means the insulation is no good and will eat a lot of electricity to keep it hot. The hotter, the more wastage.

In terms of heating efficiency, airpot are definitely more efficient than kettle. As they produce heat within the vessel as compared to kettle for which heating is from outside. As for those VE type, the heat lost during heating is even much reduced resulting in less energy wastage when boiling water.

However, in terms of cost, it is difficult to say which is cheaper, as althou VE airpot is more energy efficient, gas is still cheaper for every unit of heat produced.

Lynn2010

I have an airport just to boil huge amount of water. Once boiled, switch off the power and let it cool. My family drinks a lot of water. Hot water is in a smaller flask.

Smaller flask idea comes because i want my dds to be independent - can make their own hot drink like milo. So, my 2 dds make their own hot drink from 4 yrs old.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 56