How to save electricity?
For aircon, DH told me to set the fan speed (eg to low) and not put to auto. This will ensure steady stream of airconditioning rather than speed up and down (more electricity). dunno if that is correct but this what we do.
We turn off all tvs etc once not needed - nothing is placed on standby becos that sucks energy still. Aircon also turned off at the switch.
BTW, airpots are a big no-no. They eat energy quietly like nobody biz. Iβm referring to that are to be left on 24x7. My MIL got rid of hers sometime back and was amazed by the sudden drop in electrical charges. -
That's the normal logic. But hor, mine is not leh. On hot days, it still can generate normal wind. Not hot at all... I like.
if the weather is hot.. fans will blow hot air.........janet_lee88:
Switch on more fans in the house to cool down instead of air con. But if really hot, have to switch on air con. Heat is unbearable. -
That's what I heard about airpots-the energy consuming part. But when mine finally retire, I didn't see a significant drop in my electricity bill (I switch to kettle boiling water on gas). So I wonder :?For aircon, DH told me to set the fan speed (eg to low) and not put to auto. This will ensure steady stream of airconditioning rather than speed up and down (more electricity). dunno if that is correct but this what we do.
We turn off all tvs etc once not needed - nothing is placed on standby becos that sucks energy still. Aircon also turned off at the switch.
BTW, airpots are a big no-no. They eat energy quietly like nobody biz. I'm referring to that are to be left on 24x7. My MIL got rid of hers sometime back and was amazed by the sudden drop in electrical charges. -
haha.. same goes to ours!!
Lynn2010:
Not sure about electrical consumption, but ours has never been off for Y..E..A...R...Svinlene:
How about modem? It is on 24/7 in our house.. Does it consume alot of electricity? We were told by the service provider guy that it is okay to leave it on 24/7 but i wonder will the box get spoilt by the heat it generated? :roll:
I only boil enough water for each use and get room temp drinking water from filter without boiling.
For tank heater, if u r not using a bath (tub), can choose the smallest tank...heat up faster and limit time in shower coz limited hot water!
Imami:
Airpot does consume a LOT of electricity..
That's what I heard about airpots-the energy consuming part. But when mine finally retire, I didn't see a significant drop in my electricity bill (I switch to kettle boiling water on gas). So I wonder :?hquek:
BTW, airpots are a big no-no. They eat energy quietly like nobody biz. I'm referring to that are to be left on 24x7. My MIL got rid of hers sometime back and was amazed by the sudden drop in electrical charges.
However, it's a compromise between savings and convenience. I decided to get one after weighting all the benefits. I want to have hot water for coffee any time as and when I want, so the convenience is worth the $ on bills.
I got the Vacuum Electric type, which is stated to consume 24W to keep the water at 90Β°C. This work out to be around $6 in electricity bills every month. There is another version which is even more efficient using only 17W, but much more expensive.. iirc, the one from tiger consumes approx 65W to keep water hot.. and it is also VE type.
As for other no brand type, I presume they eat electricity like nobody's business.. especially those w/o vacuum insulation. Probably in the order of tens of dollars every month to keep water hot. If you have one, just put your hand on the flash.. it should be warm and not hot. if it is hot.. it means the insulation is no good and will eat a lot of electricity to keep it hot. The hotter, the more wastage.
In terms of heating efficiency, airpot are definitely more efficient than kettle. As they produce heat within the vessel as compared to kettle for which heating is from outside. As for those VE type, the heat lost during heating is even much reduced resulting in less energy wastage when boiling water.
However, in terms of cost, it is difficult to say which is cheaper, as althou VE airpot is more energy efficient, gas is still cheaper for every unit of heat produced. -
For aircon, DH told me to set the fan speed (eg to low) and not put to auto. This will ensure steady stream of airconditioning rather than speed up and down (more electricity). dunno if that is correct but this what we do.
BTW, airpots are a big no-no. They eat energy quietly like nobody biz. I'm referring to that are to be left on 24x7. My MIL got rid of hers sometime back and was amazed by the sudden drop in electrical charges.
I have an airport just to boil huge amount of water. Once boiled, switch off the power and let it cool. My family drinks a lot of water. Hot water is in a smaller flask.
Smaller flask idea comes because i want my dds to be independent - can make their own hot drink like milo. So, my 2 dds make their own hot drink from 4 yrs old. -
Another way to "recycle" water is to stand on a baby bath tub when showering. You will be surprise how much water you can collect. This can be used to flush the toilets.
Honestly i dont do this, "mah fun". We did it when we were young, when the school has this save the water campaign. Yah la⦠when you only do it when there is campaign; just like there are more polite people when the govt runs the "Courtesy campaign" -
Hi papas and mamas,
This discussions is power lah! Keep it coming! Many good tips!
E-mail wifey this link. haha!
(I am feeling so auntie now!!!!
) -
FQW:
:heresmyfish: ooi, I said all round leh. geddit?
No problem, next hi-tea on me [pls also bring along the helper who's gonna do the washing].Busymom:
where got so easy one... :evil:
maybe hi-tea all round
or maybe tea for 1 year in-lieu of... :scratchhead:
I scared I no chance to treat you only. :evil:
But if want tea supply for 1 year, err, Lipton Tea bags can ornot?
How can it be one year supply of Lipton tea bags? Tea at TWG more like it. Think they don't sell premium ice-cream there, do they?? :idea:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.