How to save electricity?
Lynn2010:
Imami, do you mean the increase is $10? Should be ok. I know of people staying in 5 rm HDB paying more than $500 a month for electricity bill. I think it is alot. Another person told me he paid about $800!!!
the $10 increase case is likely to have faulty meter, same as for the $800 per month bill of HDB flats :rotflmao: -
FQW:
sing power is laughing all the way to the bank ..... why suspicious ?Oh dear, I've 6 air-con units at home and none of them is inverter type. Those inverter types are so expensive. My utility bills come up to $200+ per mth - one air-con turned on 9 hrs a day + son doesn't shower but bathes. I actually clean the air-con filters myself. Quite simple, all I need is a ladder.
How does one hit bills reaching $500 or $800? :yikes: Won't Sing Power become suspicious? -
peapot:
u make me feel good about my PUB billsOh my goodness, my utility bill each month is $350. I have cracked my brain many times how to cut down on the bills but doesn't seem to work.
Do you guys turn off the power for TV and computer? Or just off the power at the equipment itself? I heard you need to remove the plug out from the socket to be effective. -
although the amount of electricity saved by switching off at the socket is so miniscule, there is one element I guess most people are unaware off -- when there is a power surge, the power supply unit in the plasma TV may get knocked out and it cost a lot to replace if your set is outside warranty period
No.peapot:
Do you guys turn off the power for TV and computer? Or just off the power at the equipment itself? I heard you need to remove the plug out from the socket to be effective.
Removing the plug is no difference from switching off at the socket.
As for whether to off the socket power switch.. it's up to you. Yes, it makes a difference (compare to remote control OFF), but most likely you wouldn't feel it.
The truth is, when you off the TV using the remote, it is actually in \"standby\", and a miniscule amount of electricity is running (that is why it will respond to the remote when you \"on\" it).
Generally, appliances uses about 0.5W or less on standby.
It will cost you about 22cts/2000 ~ 0.011cts every hour, or ~8cts every month to keep it on \"standby\". Assuming current tariff is 22cts / kWh.
speaking from experience, so better to switch it off totally from the socket, no need to pull out from the socket....(if anyone feels better to pull out the cable from the socket, may I suggest it is even better to dismantle the power supply unit from the appliance ....) -
you don't smell or the toilet doesn't smell ? :?Busymom:
Just a thought although I won't do it.. how about putting some of those aromatherapy oil in the toilet. Can get rid of smell??
The problem is already solved once they flushed. Was away for 3 weeks and I recently observed that I don't smell that anymore. So I think it works :boogie: -
peapot:
Yes we must think of cutting down the cost of bills. But toilet cleanliness is something I cannot compromise. Everywhere can be dirty except toilet.
mind over matter -
Busymom:
:heresmyfish: ooi, I said all round leh. geddit?
No problem, next hi-tea on me [pls also bring along the helper who's gonna do the washing].FQW:
[quote=\"Busymom\"]
where got so easy one... :evil:
maybe hi-tea all round
or maybe tea for 1 year in-lieu of... :scratchhead:
I scared I no chance to treat you only. :evil:
But if want tea supply for 1 year, err, Lipton Tea bags can ornot?
How can it be one year supply of Lipton tea bags? Tea at TWG more like it. Think they don't sell premium ice-cream there, do they?? :idea:
:rotflmao:[/quote]and the FQW recycles the tea bags :rotflmao:
If not doing so all along, can still switch off from main now? Reason being my sis says she switched off the main of her TV after reading that it will help save $, then her TV died! Or is it just coincidental?
although the amount of electricity saved by switching off at the socket is so miniscule, there is one element I guess most people are unaware off -- when there is a power surge, the power supply unit in the plasma TV may get knocked out and it cost a lot to replace if your set is outside warranty period
speaking from experience, so better to switch it off totally from the socket, no need to pull out from the socket....(if anyone feels better to pull out the cable from the socket, may I suggest it is even better to dismantle the power supply unit from the appliance ....) -
august24:
wah she so fast read my post ? coincident lah :rotflmao:
If not doing so all along, can still switch off from main now? Reason being my sis says she switched off the main of her TV after reading that it will help save $, then her TV died! Or is it just coincidental?verykiasu2010:
speaking from experience, so better to switch it off totally from the socket, no need to pull out from the socket....(if anyone feels better to pull out the cable from the socket, may I suggest it is even better to dismantle the power supply unit from the appliance ....)
the Panasonic people told me one, turn off the power at the wall socket -
IIRC, sometimes the BTU of the compressor is much lower than the sum of all the output at the fan coil units. Eg, a 3-split each having 9000 BTU while the compressor is only 21,000BTU. I remember the saleperson ever told us that if all units are turned on, the effectiveness of each unit will go down.
Using 2 will use less electricity than 3. How much difference.. is difficult to say..Busymom:
Actually we have 3 aircons in the living room, due to the L-shape design. DH said that even if we just on 2 units, it is equivalent to having 3 on... hence the high consumption of electricity. Makes sense?
So do we save any electricity by switching on 2 instead of 3, or no difference? :scratchhead:
Normally, you turn on additional appliances (doing same function) only when you are worried that the main appliance might \"overwork\". If the main appliance is capable of the load, there is no need to use additional appliances.
If that being the case, then using 2 units = 18k BTU while using 3 units max at 21k BTU.
Since having 3 have better distribution of cooled air, perhaps the cooling will be more efficient.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.