THE YEARS -1940's, 50's , 60's...by Patrick Teoh

61 Posts 17 Posters 10.6k Views 1 Watching
      Scorpion

Hi Kiddo,

Actually, I wasn’t from a rich family. Both my parents were common salaried workers.

Fitzpatricks was a once a year thing. So was going to CK Tang for CNY shopping.

Yeah, 10 bucks back then seemed like so much money!! Nowadays just go to KFC and its gone at once.

Haha…your neighbour must be really sick of people peeping into his home. If the same thing happened now, they would probably call the police.

• NebbermindN Offline
        Nebbermind

I vaguely remember a Cold Storage near the current Holland V bus stop. Hope it is not my imagination! 😄

Outram Pk and People's Pk were where we go for our wkend outings...later there was Yaohan @ Plaza Sing....probably the 1st supermart + dept store + amusement centre.

kiddo

Scorpion:
          Hi Kiddo,

Actually, I wasn't from a rich family. Both my parents were common salaried workers.

Fitzpatricks was a once a year thing. So was going to CK Tang for CNY shopping.

Yeah, 10 bucks back then seemed like so much money!! Nowadays just go to KFC and its gone at once.

Haha....your neighbour must be really sick of people peeping into his home. If the same thing happened now, they would probably call the police.
          From what I can see,your parents have a head start for you ,
          Fitzpatricks and CK Tang is quite up market even if it an annual affairs :evil:

So it a good feeling to remember the way we are :hi5:
          I vaguely remember a Cold Storage near the current Holland V bus stop. Hope it is not my imagination! 😄

Outram Pk and People's Pk were where we go for our wkend outings...later there was Yaohan @ Plaza Sing....probably the 1st supermart + dept store + amusement centre.
          Remember People's Emporium ........... :boogie:

Just4Fun

kiddo:

That's called Oriental Emporium , right ?

Love this thread ( all the sweet memories) , but hate this post ( am so old meh ? Such a long long time ago !) .

To add :
            Self-made toys / Games:
            1, Paper Dolls.
            2. Empty cigarette box for handbag : Fold into half, and insert a rubber band
            3. Paper-planes/boats
            4. Spiders fighting
            5. Catching fish in drain.

Old ppl \"tucked\" coins security behind ears .
            Ladies \"tucked\" handkerchiefs into their sleeveless blouse
            Children running abt with Chinese word \" tiger\" written on their face to get rid of their \"mumps\" ( ? or something like that !).
            Inserting tabacco in between toes, if u hv worms there ..

Just4Fun

BTW, who is Patrick Teoh ??

• NebbermindN Offline
                Nebbermind

Just4Fun:
                kiddo:

That's called Oriental Emporium , right ?

Think Oriental Emporium is the biggest grp among the local departmental stores.

There were a couple of chinese/taiwanese emporiums in People's Park.

Outram Pk has this store called 'Da Ren' (big person?).

Think there was People's Emporium which had a branch in Bt Timah Plaza top flr.

Then there was Da Zhong at Queenstown/Margaret Dr area.

Still remember Costplus for cheap electronic goods?

Isetan was at Havelock Rd.

Scorpion

I think there were two Cold Storage stores at Holland V area, even till today. One is in Holland V shopping centre itself, the other is further down the road at Jelita.

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

Scorpion:

I think there were two Cold Storage stores at Holland V area, even till today. One is in Holland V shopping centre itself, the other is further down the road at Jelita.
                    The space occupied by Cold Storage at Holland V shopping centre used to be some western (Han's type) restaurant.

The corridor at the end of the building just outside Cold Storage used to have a mamak selling 2nd hand books

Scorpion

There were the songs I heard as a kindergarten kid...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKCnHWas3HQ, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttTZL8YPXls&feature=related, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Ga9Bs4fzSY, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKn6h2x5IcY

And these were the songs from my adolescent years...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKn6h2x5IcY, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1TcDHrkQYg, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNBjMRvOB5M

I still have all these songs in MP3 format, in a thumb drive inserted into my car's player. Whenever I give younger friends a lift, they always exclaim \"wah lau, uncle! Still got people listen to this kind of music ah?\".

I always replied that up to the 80's, there was music. After the 80's, there was only noise.

concern2

:scratchhead: ... :scratchhead: ... :scratchhead: :rotflmao: 🦆

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 7