THE YEARS -1940's, 50's , 60's...by Patrick Teoh
Have been following this thread. Though i don't belong to that era, I find all the posts interesting.

Thank fightingmon, nothing seem silly, embarassing or out of line in those days...
We have balcony and railing in HDB flats with maybe 2 family living under one roof in a 2 room flat ...never heard kid falling over in our whole block.
The minimum no of children in a family is 5 in our block ...some family with as many as 10 children with one toilet and bathroom in a 2 room flat.
Jalan Satu Old Airport Road Block 53....anyone from there :please:
It demolished now and sit right behind the now Old kallang Airport road
hawker centre that sell the Lau pan tau hua .....
We use to have 2 family living in this 2 room flat
Family 1= parents+grandma+4 kids
Family2=parenst+6 kids
total in the household= 15 :evil:
Mind you with this no of people...the house runs like a clockwork
by itself................we sure have fun :boogie:
None of the door knob works after a while imagine the wear and tear
except the front door knob ... :rotflmao: we need this one close at nite :rotflmao: -
Yes we need to know this one FIRE CRACKERS ........
on \"zhi kau meh\" the nite before first day of CNY
Each HDB block try to compete with each other ...we have
cracker hang around 7-8pm while we have our Reunion dinner at home
and then send someone to light the Crackers and
mind you the sound around the block is deafening.....
The Fire cracker straddle from the top 7th floor all the way down
to the ground .... the lighting started from the ground and
Bang ................pom pom piak paik ...
:imcool:
:boogie:
:grphug: :rahrah: :hugs: :snuggles: :celebrate: -
Remember my dad told me that they usually don't lock their house main gates then - still safe at night. Everyone's friendly and helpful. The best part of their entertainment was the fun fair then. I think my aunties took up a game stall to earn some cash back then.

kiddo:
Anyone still has such photos to upload for us to see? :please:Yes we need to know this one FIRE CRACKERS ........
on \"zhi kau meh\" the nite before first day of CNY
Each HDB block try to compete with each other ...we have
cracker hang around 7-8pm while we have our Reunion dinner at home
and then send someone to light the Crackers and
mind you the sound around the block is deafening.....
The Fire cracker straddle from the top 7th floor all the way down
to the ground .... the lighting started from the ground and
Bang ................pom pom piak paik ...
:imcool:
:boogie:
:grphug: :rahrah: :hugs: :snuggles: :celebrate: -
Funny thing was that why we never complaint to our parents that the teacher punished us with wooden ruler, pulled our ears or being caned.
I remembered no parents marched to the the school or complained to MOE.
What were the titbits that you all usede to eat? Anyone sells them nowadays? -
friendship:
1. \"Crocodile meat\" satay stick : very chewry & sticky. Used to cost 5cts/stick, but now u can get a packet ( abt 15 to 20 sticks) for less than $1 @ Ang Mio provision shop. Still very cheap but taste not as nice as before.Funny thing was that why we never complaint to our parents that the teacher punished us with wooden ruler, pulled our ears or being caned.
I remembered no parents marched to the the school or complained to MOE.
What were the titbits that you all usede to eat? Anyone sells them nowadays?
2. Ken Ken cuttlefish .. still can get from Malaysia shops
3. Xiang Zai Kor - red round pieces that came in a roll
Also some other games like tikam ... My dad owned a provision shop so I used to help him \"make\" the prizes. This game can be adictive; most housewives were \"hooked\" to this game ! -
Mawar:
Yes, flying dusters. We had our share of those. Either our teachers had good aim or we were hardy. No one got hurt, no one complained, no parents came marching. Oh, flinging exercise books was their specialty too. Textbooks were expensive, so cannot fling those. We hardly got photocopied stuff or workbooks. Everything was copied into exercise books.
During assembly the prefects would conduct spotchecks. We had to wash and blanco our canvas shoes over the weekend. So we all shared the dusters, dusting on our shoes. If we were unlucky, the dusters would powder our shoes with shades of pink or blue.
One of my girl classmate was punished by my Male teacher ... lots of harsh words + pulling of ears.. all because of some mistakes in the exercise book. The poor girl was crying, and being so timid ( most of us were like dat last time ), it took another brave student to inform the teacher that he had punished the wrong person as dat exercise book belongs to another boy student ! The teacher was so paiseh , and since damage cannot be undone, he told the poor girl to pull dat boy 's ears in return.
Like dat aso can, If happened today, the teacher would hv gone to court ! -
Just4Fun:
heng hah ...........this male teacher did not live in this Era ,Mawar:
Yes, flying dusters. We had our share of those. Either our teachers had good aim or we were hardy. No one got hurt, no one complained, no parents came marching. Oh, flinging exercise books was their specialty too. Textbooks were expensive, so cannot fling those. We hardly got photocopied stuff or workbooks. Everything was copied into exercise books.
During assembly the prefects would conduct spotchecks. We had to wash and blanco our canvas shoes over the weekend. So we all shared the dusters, dusting on our shoes. If we were unlucky, the dusters would powder our shoes with shades of pink or blue.
One of my girl classmate was punished by my Male teacher ... lots of harsh words + pulling of ears.. all because of some mistakes in the exercise book. The poor girl was crying, and being so timid ( most of us were like dat last time ), it took another brave student to inform the teacher that he had punished the wrong person as dat exercise book belongs to another boy student ! The teacher was so paiseh , and since damage cannot be undone, he told the poor girl to pull dat boy 's ears in return.
Like dat aso can, If happened today, the teacher would hv gone to court !
he would be slap with indecent action to the student and
brought to court with all his past reveal :oops: :oops:
:rotflmao: :rotflmao: -
I also played tikam-tikam. The best would be a 20c coin wrapped inside a waffle biscuit, the worse of course was nothing but still get to eat the biscuit. Others included picking at random a rolled paper from a board for 5c, open it up to see what kind of prices you have won.Usually it was $$ ranging from 5c to 50c (that amt was a lot in those days).
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.