Primary ONE English Assignment
Let me share. This is how my school prepare the P1 for show and tell.
1. They organise speech and drama classes once a wk for the P1s, in Eng and Mandarin. This is paid for from Edusave.
I think in my DD's school, this is only optional and outside curriculum time.
2. There's a reflection kind of writing that the students will do once a particular Stellar storybook is done. This goes about helping them to write content for S&T later.
Don't think they do this all the time.
3. There are S&T practise rounds for P1s and teachers will give feedback to the students as well as the parents.
Yes, we had feedback from the practice rounds as well.
4. I also know of cases whereby students who need extra practise are given extra practise with the teacher to target the weaker areas.
Not sure about this though.
I'm sharing this to show that kids are not necessary thrown into the deep end. I'm showing a case whereby a school is trying to give the kid a chance. That it's a learning journey for the kids.
I still think pre-school education should be made compulsory and elements of show&tell must be included because it takes more than a yr to help an extrovert child to excel in S&T. MCYS and MOE should really work more closely with each other. -
I wonder how to start the idea, a note to MCYS to ask them to make pre-school edu compulsory and for them to work with MOE?
Write on MCYS facebook page?
Any ideas, other parents? -
I heard from my DD that some of her classmates who did not do well for their show and tell (the actual graded one, not the practice round), they were told to practise at home again and will be tested the next day or the day after. That was in P1.
Say, the posted sample is a \"Show and Tell\".
If the kid without any external help produces a blank page.. I wonder how he/she will be graded for \"Show and Tell\"..
Yeah.. My kids stare at the paper and wrote nothing.. if I did nothing..
How about those families who are unable to do anything.. (Not English educated etc..)?
Ah...... tuition.. anyone? :evil: -
wonderm:
:goodpost:
In this case, it is clear that parents are expected to help as the paper is addressed to the parents. It is meant as preparation for the \"show and tell\" in school - as the first few lines indicated. It is also optional to bring along items during the \"show and tell\".
Parents don't need to be too worried about it being assessment, since MOE has stopped examination at P1 level, right? Even if a grade is given, the children won't be too concerned if their parents don't take it too seriously.
It is true that very few kids are able to handle homework and school assessment completely on their own at lower primary level. At higher primary level, I also think not many students can do very well and excel in PSLE if they are left with only the teaching of school teachers. Luckily, they become independent and can do well on their own when they enter Sec school.
I see many parents here have young children at the lower primary school level. Just want to share my experience and observation since my boys have gone through the journey. All the best to everyone and your little ones!
I actually miss out that the letter was addressed to parents. :salute:
I think I'm not the only one... :siam: -
In my DD's school, they are not required to produce any written work for show and tell. So if the child made a mistake in his/her speech, the teacher also wouldn't know...
Then, maybe, the article could be a simple write-up where the kid just need to demonstrate the presentation skills instead of having to produce the article themselves?
like I said, if the kid produced a blank page, how to even conduct the S&T?
Yup same here too. During the graded S&T, DD1 told me her classmate needed to do again. Her classmate was asked by the tr to practise again at home and do it again. I thought nice of teacher to want to be able to pass all the students in her class
Thank you, buds. This is impressive.
You're welcome, SAHM_TAN.. yes, some BASCs offer pick-a-sport... some are within sports recreation centres... some are in-house (within school premises)... some are privately run but within walking distance to sports centres/halls.
This initiative is aimed at allowing students of BASC to be coached professionally in a sport they like or which they are good at. The sport is carried out after homework and tutoring/studying periods are done. The sport chosen can be similar to CCAs undertaken by the children so as to further hone the skills which can indirectly be good if children are aiming at trying out for DSA. There are centres that also offer music lessons like piano or violin as well. This, of course cannot be uniform across all BASCs as the fees charged are different and they of course are required to have the necessary manpower to run these in-ctr programmes.
In-house (school BASCs) by and large provide lunch... either catered from outside vendor or catered by the canteen vendors themselves. If not offered, children will simply eat at the school canteen before proceeding to the BASC.
The teachers supervise homework in accorded teacher:student ratio.. in separate groups of Eng/Math/Sci/MT and the students rotate classes or at times with smaller group, every subject can be done together as well.
Some childcare centres offer BASC for our primary students if space permits and manpower requirements met, so that siblings (1 in childcare + 1 in pri sch) can be placed together.
To date, feedback from cousin and a couple of friends... the in-house (in school) BASCs are offered at a lower fee as compared to the ones privately run outside.
Now, during our time, how come we didn't have such options. Not fair! :stompfeet: -
Erm... my child in K1 this year only learning number bonds within 10...Hi Imami,
Just curious hor, you sent your kid to enrichment prog since 2 yrs ago, so I think it when your child was 2?
I'm curious if you starting the prog at 2 why do you seem displeased that the academics demand from the childcare is advanced? Or is it becos the enrichment progs are not academic in nature?
My ds coming to 5 this yr, he refuses to be 5 till he's officially 5, had also started addition and subtraction with 2 digits up to 50 without borrowing for subtraction but for addition he was learning about addition with changing. These were done since term 1 of K1.
I remember seeing two-digit addition like in 2H of K2 for my older DD. -
Sun_2010:
I see, so same meaning as \"field trip\", I suppose?
Thank you busy mom.
LJ = Learning journey, the school outing
The current fashion in KSP is if one do not empathize with the \"pain\" of others, then one one is an elitist , who deserves to be bashed , right?
On your second point, I think so too. -
:?learning journey?
don't be notti lah..
I dun get it.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.