What I hate about the current Singapore
Laura02:
If doctor say it is elective, optional, or \"cosmetic\", then, that is the line.Er ... I think that people who go for cosmetic procedures will swear that the improvement in their appearance will have a positive impact on their lives, or their psychological well being. Sometimes, its hard to decide what it a \"necessary\" cosmetic procedure, and what is not.
Where do we draw the line? -
Dumb... Dumber... Dumbest?!.... Is what I hate abt current SG...
Then the kids will most probably follow how the parents talk... and do (e.g. Beat up elderly)
:siao: -
[quote=\"limlim\"]but, how likely is it for one to \"squander\" away CPF savings on healthcare? Is there really a big danger of abuse?
We don't know, do we? If its there, people tend to use it. Look at housing, who doesn't use CPF to finance their property? We have to be really careful here and not make knee-jerk decisions.
But, if you're not sick, why would you squander your CPF money away?[/[/quote]
sorry, I have to disagree with this statement . I've seen a relative's father squandering away all the CPF money when he was hale and hearty. When the money was gone, and he was plagued with health problems, he became a \"liability\" to his loved ones. It's true that when one suddenly has a humongous sum of money in front of him, not everyone will know how to use it wisely . In that sense, I think the govt is not wrong in trying to \"protect\" this sum of money.
The help for the needy can come in other forms, and more should be done for them -

Dumb... Dumber... Dumbest?!.... Is what I hate abt current SG...
Then the kids will most probably follow how the parents talk... and do (e.g. Beat up elderly)
:siao:
Again I feel that if an air of cordiality and civililty is maintained in this forum, it'll be helpful. Everyone is entitled to his opinion. -
I don't think you can withdraw and squander your CPF medisave or medisheld right? CPF got so many components... One has to be specific.
And CIVIL of cos'.... A lost art in current society....
:celebrate: -
Apologies if I missed the CPF medisave part coz I thought it's just CPF in general. Also a remember a post about using CPF for housing, that's why the confusion, thought \"Ordinary Account\" is also in the discussion.
CPF medisave ,then I believe not so easy to \"squander\" away.
ps: was searching for the post on housing, then realised it's embedded in my own earlier quote. PAiseh :oops: -
Lilac66:
Not so easy to spend away due to the restrictions still in place now.Apologies if I missed the CPF medisave part coz I thought it's just CPF in general. Also someone mentioned about using CPF for housing, that's why the confusion.
CPF medisave ,then I believe not so easy to \"squander\" away.
Probably good to have restrictions cos 'money that cannot be seen are usually easily spent'. But I believe a detailed thot proces is required so that its sustainable for everyone in the long term.....not 'my money up to me to spend'.
Perhaps good to know what is being approved currently, how much per year etc. And what u support to be included further..... -
Lilac66:
On medical care?limlim:
But, if you're not sick, why would you squander your CPF money away?[/
sorry, I have to disagree with this statement . I've seen a relative's father squandering away all the CPF money when he was hale and hearty. When the money was gone, and he was plagued with health problems, he became a \"liability\" to his loved ones. It's true that when one suddenly has a humongous sum of money in front of him, not everyone will know how to use it wisely . In that sense, I think the govt is not wrong in trying to \"protect\" this sum of money.
The help for the needy can come in other forms, and more should be done for them
Do note that we're discussing wrt using CPF for essential medical treatment only, if you're following the debate.. I do not suggest \"free for all CPF withdrawal\".
ps: I saw your later post
I can't delete so leave it as it is. -
It has to be reciprocated.. :evil:
:celebrate: -
It has to be reciprocated.. :evil:Daddy

agree agree agree.. can't agree more.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.