6 months' paid leave for mum?

111 Posts 31 Posters 18.6k Views 1 Watching

So those with ligation very get fatter bonus? 😂

Those on Mirena get half. Cos still got 0.5-1% chance..? :idea:

How about incentives for stay home mothers as well?

There are many SAHMs who used to be professionals.
        Though they cannot contribute to the economy after
        staying home now, they can help contribute to the
        boost in baby numbers. :please:

The govt wants working mothers.. That's why got so much incentive for WM..

And professionals who give up the work is a loss to the economy.... why would the govt wanna encourage that? :evil:

Lynn2010:

16 weeks maternity leave for mothers
        6 weeks paternity leave for fathers
        10 days childcare leave for each father & mother up to 7yrs
        5 days childcare leave for each father & mother for child from Pr 1- 6
        Employers adopting more flexi working hours arrangements
        More school based BASC
        Higher subsidy for infant and childcare (can only foresee fees going up with their push to get better qualified teachers)
        All assistance or benefits extended to married parents should similarly be extended to single parents. No discrimination.

Teenage kids also need \"teen care leave\". Growing up years are important too, otherwise turn Ah beng or Ah lian (the society doesnt want too, right?)
        (Teen care leave for children from 13 to 18 yr old), uni should be fine already

This is why I say SAHMs should have some cut in this baby production scheme. SAHMs don't trouble anyone. (at work) In fact, there are many SAHMs who are high flying professionals some of whom like myself still can do freelance work or work from home when time permits. Children are better cared for without the need for childcare centres for some of us too. Same for tuition. SAHMs also get to support, supervise and really be there for our growing teens with raging hormones, peer influence, internet crazy
        and what nots towards moulding them to be useful & gracious citizens.
        Whether we are working mothers or not who can directly boost economy, we ARE still citizens of this country AND answering that government's call (plea) :evil: for more SG babies. Now what makes SAHMs any less important from the others. (FTWMs & PTWMs) One for all, all for one mah? All inclusive?

Everyone contributes. One way or the other... be it directly or otherwise.

Lynn2010

Although i’m not a SAHM, I agree that SAHM also contributed to the society too.

My mum is a SAHM, after that SAHGM (Stay at Home Grandma), no CPF, no Medisave, no leave, etc.

Lynn2010

If (IF) everyone really start to produce one or two more children, not only the government has to increase the number of CC, pri & sec sch, etc. Entering uni is another competition. So, more tuition??

What about living space? Building the HDB to 100 levels? or reclaiming more land…

Not that it’s bad, i’m just imagining the future.

I agree that we need to increase population to boost the economy, but Singapore no land leh

ammonite

[quote] From infant,children care,tuition all need $! Tuition is not necessary but if wanted to give birth of course we must provide them with the best! Pls work on it rather than maternity leave.[/quote]
              \"Best\" is very subjective. I don't aim to give my children the \"market's best\", but only the best within my ability and means. I can't afford a $1000/month kindergarten and I don't even entertain the thought. To me it's simply out of the question and not worth the bucks. I choose what I consider is the best within my budget, and that is good enough.

The cost involved in raising children is like that of buying a house - flat, or condo, penthouse or bungalow? It can be as little or as high as you can go. Children themselves are not very particular and it is up to us to shape their money value mindset.

:goodpost: ammonite!

I share similar thoughts.

Tuition does not mean best either.

Actually If u think abt it... if children can make it without tuition is best. 😉

limlim

This is why I say SAHMs should have some cut in this baby production scheme. SAHMs don't trouble anyone. (at work) In fact, there are many SAHMs who are high flying professionals some of whom like myself still can do freelance work or work from home when time permits.
                  Did you declare to IRAS? :evil:

concern2

Namie:
                    When I saw this proposal, my heart sank. My partner at work is due to deliver at year end and already my boss told me I am not allowed to take leave or MC during the time she is on maternity leave and until she is back. She is taking the whole 4 months + her annual leave + a few more days no pay leave. I have to cover all her work. Both of us work till 8-9pm every day so I might as well sleep in office during the time she is away. My boxes told me I can get a sleeping bag to catch up sleep during lunch. Now 6 mths!

Work-life for pregnant women. What about other co-workers?

We are working in a major government agency.
                    :goodpost: , Namie! I know of many relatives who also work in govt service, and even there, the companies do not have work-from-home arrangements, and worse, they DISCOURAGE THE WOMEN from giving birth!!!!!!

You'd get asked, \"When are you getting married\", followed by \"When do you plan to have children\". followed by \"When are you planning to have another child?\"

Yet, I empathize with the employers. Something else has to be done, like making work-from-home possible, shorter shifts perhaps, part-time work, in short, being more flexible. HRs, think of something leh...you're not paid so much for nothing leh... :siam:

• O Offline
                      Oppsgal

Lynn2010:
                      Although i'm not a SAHM, I agree that SAHM also contributed to the society too.

My mum is a SAHM, after that SAHGM (Stay at Home Grandma), no CPF, no Medisave, no leave, etc.
                      Still got \"penalize\" from the subsidies when compare to working mothers, when put in childcare. For me, I put my kid in childcare for learning EQ purpose with peers.

Wondering if grandparents stay far far away, and both parents working with no maids, can kids as young as kindergarten, walk home from childcare back to home all by self? And if both parents need to do OT? Then what happen?

SAHMs do contribute to society, but maybe not in terms of GDP growth directly :?

bebe

When I was working, I had a hard time telling my boss abt my pregnancy…and to assure her that I was equally capable of managing my work and family planning. I had to train my team to take on my roles when I was on maternity leave, kept my mobile on so that they could contact me. Clear my email daily so that I will not be flooded with email after 2 months…and also to keep abreast of the current affairs in the office…arranged couriers to send banking docs /cheques for my signatures 2-4 times per week.

When kids were older, they took turn to fall sick and how to inform boss last min that my kids had chicken pox, HFMD and I had to take urgent leaves…not 1-2 days, but at least 3-4 days??? And when PILs wanted to go travel, takes time off to go for medical appointment, I had to take leave again. Govt did provide childcare leave, but it is employer’s discretion to approve. While my boss approved upfront, I suffered during my annual appraisal (for topping the chart being the employer with the highest number of MCs (cos taking turn to fall sick when kids were down with HFMD and chix pox). But I did not feel good that I had to rely on my colleagues and subordinates to make adjustment too. I felt I was not fairly treated at work and decided to quit -so much for spending 6yrs in the same company.

I did part time subsequently but it was no honeymoon - part time pay with full time responsibility…and then I did freelance (till now)…and I found that fairly manageable. But then I was lucky that my family did not need me for financial support…and my timing is flexible to adjust to different needs of my 3 kids…and my work partner is also a working mum who quit to do her own freelancing.

While I did not expect govt to support my family planning, it takes a whole society to change the mindset of employing mothers. In fact, most women would want to have babies, be it 1 or 2. It is how much time and energy we can afford to deal with the daily family and work affairs.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 7 / 12