2012 P1 Registration Exercise for 2013 In-Take
Interesting side effect of the new rules, there are now schools which will have no PR pupils other than siblings and which are unlikely to have any in the future, and schools where PR kids will now be concentrated.
BaconEgg:
Recently on Today's Online - Voice, several articles on alumni system being unfair when it comes to Primary School Registration..any view? I personally feel its unfair..alumni system should be abolished to allow greater clarity..is there already a thread about this? Please move me there...
i personally like although i dun benefit as of now. but i do hope it will benefit my kids, grandchildren etc.
maybe they could give criteria. -
BaconEgg:
Recently on Today's Online - Voice, several articles on alumni system being unfair when it comes to Primary School Registration..any view? I personally feel its unfair..alumni system should be abolished to allow greater clarity..is there already a thread about this? Please move me there...
Actually, What is wrong about this alumni system that you feel is unfair? How would abolishing it allow more clarity?
At every stage of registration, there will be unhappy and happy parents. It is hard to satisfy everyone. -
If abolish alumni phase and go by distance for all other phases, then very soon popular schools like nyps, acs, scgs, rgsp etc will be schools for the rich only.
With alumni, at least kids from average or below income families still have a chance to get in.
What is distance if they can have a chance to study in these schools. -
Fully agree with the criteria in Phase 1. However why should \"guan xi\", connections with alumni, clans, churches be part of the criteria? Should proximity be the first priority so that the kid can go to school without the distance hassles? Nothing wrong with the current system if you have the any of the above associations but if you have neither a old school to fall back (cos old school closes down), no church, no clan, no PV with only distance proximity...
anyway its just my personal 2 cents....i am neither a happy nor unhappy parent at this stage..but am in the loop so that i know where i stand and whats my choices when my turn comes...
PhoBIA:
Yes, it's the carbon copy. You got your choice school without balloting? :celebrate:
Went balloting but was lucky to be in.
:thankyou: -
BaconEgg:
I suppose everyone will have different feelings depending on which side of the court they stand in.
My kids got into my primary school via 2A1. I thought it was great. It's that association with the school. Eg. kids singing the same school song, donning that uniform which hasn't change much, seeing teachers who were there during my time. Getting to know other parents who were from the school. As well as the pride we all have by being associated with the school. What's wrong with that? We share the joy together with our kids with their learning journey in the school. The key thing is that we feel for the school and I realised it goes beyond having it easy in P1 registration. -
Personally, I see nothng unfair about it ie the alumni.
One of my kids in SJIJ under 2A
and the other at St Nics under 2B
Gecko -
BaconEgg:
I wldn't think Alumni is unfair especially to independent and government-aided sch. They have their contribution to their schs in some way i.e fund raising or any other ways.Fully agree with the criteria in Phase 1. However why should \"guan xi\", connections with alumni, clans, churches be part of the criteria? Should proximity be the first priority so that the kid can go to school without the distance hassles? Nothing wrong with the current system if you have the any of the above associations but if you have neither a old school to fall back (cos old school closes down), no church, no clan, no PV with only distance proximity...
anyway its just my personal 2 cents....i am neither a happy nor unhappy parent at this stage..but am in the loop so that i know where i stand and whats my choices when my turn comes...
For Church member, as a Catholic, we only have priority to the sch under the same denomination. We are at the same position like the rest in other school.
Of course, I wld like to have priority to Catholic sch over non-Catholic since it is encourge by Catholic Archdiocese. It's just like being SC, we would like to have priority over PR. -
I think priority for home address within 1km should be abolished. There is too much complaints about people who \"cheat\" the system. Even housing agent oso in on the system. They tell me buy undeveloped condo, use address to register dc, then sell condo before it TOP. LIddat oso got chance to apply for Nanyang, ACS, SCGS and other atlas schools. No la, I say, dc oridi in atlas school, no nid.
Oops! Dun try try and pray pray with this method hor. Other P1 Mummies will CSI and call \"Matar\".
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.