All About London Olympics and Paralympics 2012

501 Posts 39 Posters 102.4k Views 1 Watching
      vlim

If countries with smaller pop can do it with much lesser or no monetary incentives,
      inferior infrastructure n sometimes no proper coaching, why can't we when we r better/hv more in all these aspects?

advanced amenities hinder progress and development in this sense

the kenyan and jamaican ran without shoes for their life, hence their record breaking is just a normal way of life in survival in day to day living

if the kids can walk 2hours each way to / from school in the outbacks of china, sure they will become good runners by singapore standard anytine

being chased by Hyena... :rotflmao:

vlim:

con't imaginary conversation on d podium:

FTW : want to join me in Singapore ? you could have gotten S$1m with your gold if you had joined me in Singapore! Told you last time .......

LXX : :censored: :censored:

LXX : I will be getting a house, land n adulation fr $1.3 billion Chinese, ni ne?

FTW : :censored: d SGreans r ungrateful!

FTW : please lar, where got $1.3 billion for your house and land, zhun bo ? if zhun har, I balek kampung :moneyflies: :censored:

LXX : picky aren't u? I meant to say 1.3 billion Chinese ppl, not $(money-faced) 1.3 billion! ni ma de......

FTW : oh my sky !

LXX (in perfect accented American English) : wat kind of English is ddaaat!

FTW : :oops: Chinese-infused English. Pick up fr KSP.

:rotflmao: :rotflmao: you guys having fun huh...compose your own story.. :siao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

That is how they can feel like comrades.... :rotflmao:

concern2

vlim:

[quote=\"Way2GO\"]

If countries with smaller pop can do it with much lesser or no monetary incentives,
          inferior infrastructure n sometimes no proper coaching, why can't we when we r better/hv more in all these aspects?

advanced amenities hinder progress and development in this sense

the kenyan and jamaican ran without shoes for their life, hence their record breaking is just a normal way of life in survival in day to day living

if the kids can walk 2hours each way to / from school in the outbacks of china, sure they will become good runners by singapore standard anytine

being chased by Hyena... :rotflmao:[/quote] :rotflmao: I walk my kids everyday, and I did wonder what's the missing formula, now I know! :rotflmao:

concern2

con't imaginary conversation on d podium:

FTW : want to join me in Singapore ? you could have gotten S$1m with your gold if you had joined me in Singapore! Told you last time .......

LXX : :censored: :censored:

LXX : I will be getting a house, land n adulation fr $1.3 billion Chinese, ni ne?

FTW : :censored: d SGreans r ungrateful!

FTW : please lar, where got $1.3 billion for your house and land, zhun bo ? if zhun har, I balek kampung :moneyflies: :censored:

LXX : picky aren't u? I meant to say 1.3 billion Chinese ppl, not $(money-faced) 1.3 billion! ni ma de......

FTW : oh my sky !

LXX (in perfect accented American English) : wat kind of English is ddaaat!

FTW : :oops: Chinese-infused English. Pick up fr KSP.

Aiyo, where got so complicated one? Should be this:

FTW: Remember last time we were on a podium like this? Deja vu, don't you think?
            LXX: ------ (not replying but thinking: Shhhhh! Let me enjoying this moment while I can! Donno go back what people are going to say this time!)

fightingmom

Way2Go and vk2010 like 小夫妻。。一唱一和 ! 😆

eh, u salah liao, w2g is a man ...... or that makes me a woman ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

concern2

usa-sing-1:
                  ...I think it just needs to \"raises its own bar\" of quality in the areas where it has achieved success in those regional \"subsets of the Olympics\". If tiny Grenada and impoverished Dominican Republic can score golds (as they did this year in London), I am pretty confident that Singapore can do it too...in the reasonably near future.

There is indeed that much one can do. Other than the hardware, the infrastructure and the incentives, the rest is up to the individual - the internal drive and perseverance of the athletes.

When our athletes are interviewed, I hear blame, I hear things somehow went wrong somewhere, I hear how being in the Olympics is a wonderful experience itself, I hear happiness in meeting personal best. I am not saying it is wrong, but I have yet to hear one who says \"I wanted to win, I haven't done enough, I know I can do much better!\" It is the case of a glass full and a glass half empty - this time, applied differently in viewing one's own potential. I believe the mind of a Champion works differently. If we continue to belief that China will always be the ones who will dominate in Table Tennis, the battle for us is already lost even before we begin.

But of course, like said, it is easier said than done. But then again, if China thinks this way, they won't have caught up in swimming this time, or any other games.

concern2

eh, u salah liao, w2g is a man ...... or that makes me a woman ? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

Yikes! A case of mistaken identity again?

fightingmom

Of course I know lah ...

But if u want to .. I can call u ajjumma and way2go ahjussi ! 😆

[quote=\"fightingmom\"]:rotflmao: :rotflmao:

If u want to .. I can call u ajjumma and way2go ahjussi ! 😆[/quote]oh what animal is that ?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 40 / 51