Rivervale Primary

414 Posts 50 Posters 160.0k Views 1 Watching
      BlurQ

Gd that u can stretch ur child, on surface the school seems popular as of now, there are many up coming new schools

Not relying on school then wats the point of going to school?
      Wat abt those kids whose parents who do not have the capacity to teach or cant afford to send them for tution? They suffer in silence?

Wat im hoping the school have a balance in their teaching so that the standard gap between the lower and upper pri is not so huge

I did consider transfering and the idea is still there

• G Offline
        gloyt

Ok, hope u can get into your desired sch in your heart. Happy parent bring happy child to sch. Very important to stay positive n happy for the child.

This is current education in the country. Like mentioned above, tuition centers are springing all over the place. Whether u go to best,good or neighbourhoodhood sch, most parents send their kids to tuition.

Why? Because most schs can only do so much for a child. There are 1500 students to impart knowledge n teach. Teachers can only do so much, they also have own kids to teach n groom at home… Cca to run, set papers, mark papers, take part in MOE sch awards etc

Govt sch can only provide basic for all the mass That’s reality in most countries. Competitive society with lots of imports here. You want to excel , either outsourced to tuition or work hard at home. Tough being parents too.

Go n read up the PERI Framework of education. You will know that MOE moved towards providing a stress free environment for lower pri 1 to 3.
        In fact there shd not be structured tests n exams for these levels. A Sk sch is already in this PERI framework totally, everyday so called holistic education, play , dance, skate , show n tell etc. NO Homework for almost p1, p2 and p3 abit only.

That PERI sch has no homework and spelling to bring home at all. So I wonder
        Will the parents fr such sch complain no foundation or weak foundation. Or to do in P5 and 6. Eventually all sch will follow PERI. Gone were the days where kiasu sch give tons of work for pupils to bring home. Then parents stress and said no time. No childhood.

Rivervale has not totally go into the PERI yet. What it does now is to give lesser work for child to bring home to do.
        But Chinese spelling is tough- mostly in sentences with han yu pin ying .
        P3 has science spelling to drill concepts into the little minds to absorb n memories the concepts, which is a good drilling start.

Lower pri 1 and 2 oral has class presentation n public speaking skills test these are building future useful social skills than academic skills.

The kids learn Mathis thru experiment. Even the alternative assessment tests need a child to do practical . This is part of building foundation.

The way it build foundation is thru hands on practical . Not through giving homework for lower pri, that’s what I see it now.

I had gone thru all worksheets done in sch for my child, some are pretty good to build foundations and concepts. But when it comes to exams, tough questions.

I make use of the lesser homework fr sch to revise with my child. Actually learning Chinese spelling is already a chore. It took up quite a lot of time in wk ends, u can imagine if there is tons of homework…lots of working parents will have no time then.

Only feedback to do is , holistic activities not interesting. No gym, no skating class for PE. It would be great in yukulele or guitar can be incorporated into music , then pri sch education is fun n interesting.

friendship

I am not sure about current P1 and P2. They experiencing so called ‘bite-size’ assessment. Aiyah…not only this school. Every school also has ‘bite-size’. Every school also focus on P5 and P6.

The one who urge students go for tuition is not the school but parents themselves. Parents found out that CA1, the child’s result is not up to standard, find high and low for realiable tuition centres.

Activities are not enough for PE and music. They should engage external coach. Divide the class into 4 groups. one group learns skating, the other group learns rhtymic gym, one group learns archery and the other group learns the basic skills of badminton, hockey, soccer. They will rotate for 4 terms.

For music, the same thing. Divide into 4 groups. One learns the skills of playing guitar, violin, recorder, yukelele. Rotate for 4 terms.

Make parents pay for it and edusave.

mummy so kiasu

wiser:
            After today balloting ...

My heart stopped after seeing that my number was not called out.

And yet next choice Compassvale is open for PR balloting within 1km.(also full) :scared:

I dun know which school to go next :sad:

Within my 1km range :

Only choice is Sk primary or north spring.
            North spring is near to me than Sk primary

But ..... I still need some help too
            Don't be disappointed. It is not the end of the world. Your child can still use his/her P1 & P2 results to transfer to a school of your choice. Sengkang Pri is better than North Spring Pri in term of standard & PSLE result.

mummy so kiasu

friendship:
              I am not sure about current P1 and P2. They experiencing so called 'bite-size' assessment. Aiyah....not only this school. Every school also has 'bite-size'. Every school also focus on P5 and P6.

The one who urge students go for tuition is not the school but parents themselves. Parents found out that CA1, the child's result is not up to standard, find high and low for realiable tuition centres.

Activities are not enough for PE and music. They should engage external coach. Divide the class into 4 groups. one group learns skating, the other group learns rhtymic gym, one group learns archery and the other group learns the basic skills of badminton, hockey, soccer. They will rotate for 4 terms.

For music, the same thing. Divide into 4 groups. One learns the skills of
              playing guitar, violin, recorder, yukelele. Rotate for 4 terms.

Make parents pay for it and edusave.
              Your suggestion sound interesting, but not so pratical. No all parents willing to pay for them & not all kids keen to learn all the musical instruments or sports. Those who are interested can join sport council, community club or music school.

• G Offline
                gloyt

Wiser, you can put ur child in waiting list . Still got chance if the results are within Rivervale range. My friends children got in this yr , previous sch were Sk pri too.

Agree enrichment actitivits can tap on pupil edusave grant, so parent do not need to take out money at all. All pupils rich or poor are of equal opportunity to participate since can used edusave grant. Local pri child has $200 put in by govt annually to use on enrichment classes.

friendship

Can tap on edusave grant right?

Furthermore this is group activities, not expensive compare to external enrichment.

whether kids keen to learn or not, it is up to individual. The school has tried their best for holistic learning.

Come on lah, the school comes out with policy, 100% people agree meh? Take majority. Not happy, can transfer anytime. They are so many people under waiting list especially from the North Vista Pri.

daranic

I am surprised to hear parents here complaining Rivervale Pri is giving too little h/w for its lower pri. My 2 girls (1 just left the school this year and another in P5 this year) had so much h/w when they first joined the school that I was so shocked. Almost everyday I saw them working on their worksheets.

My P3 boy is in a branded boys’ school and yet I see that he has really little h/w. I suspected that being in a branded sch and in the rich man’s area, the school is expecting the kids to have their own private tuition since they don’t have much enrichment classess (so unlike my girls when they were in P3). I am a true blue parents who can compare neighbourhood and branded schools since I have kids from both.

Parents complain when there is too much h/w. Parents also complain when there is no h/w. There are always gd and bad in every sch, so stop complaining and criticising the school. If you are not getting what you expect from the school you have chosen, then by all means, get transferred!

friendship

Heard that today’s Maths paper is difficult, is this true?

This is a good step to raise up the standard.

About 3 - 4 years ago, it was so easy to get 100%, infact about 10 students could score 100% for maths or 20 students scored 91 above. Ridiculous.

• G Offline
                        gloyt

What level Mathis?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 42