MOE Relooking P1 registration - Too much priority to alumni
:goodpost: good pointjanet_lee88:
Are you sure those kids who take bus from JB attend Nanyang? I thought I saw documentary like this before...they take buses to attend schools in woodlands area. 4 or 5am, these poor kids are already on the bus. But Nanyang?
There are kids staying in JB, non SC.
They come out very early morning cross the busy causeway attend schools in SG. Schools located in Woodlands is one area. However, not all target only Woodlands schools - no doubt Woodlands is nearest to causeway. Some also attend Nanyang primary, + some other schools along Bukit Timah belt + some other parts of SG as well, including Tampines.
http://www.edvantage.com.sg/edvantage/news/news/531420/School_s_top_student_from_across_Causeway.html
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=4406&start=730
issue is :-
after so many years, already close to nearly 30 years or even more, why didn't they convert their child into SC, by now ? Knowing that SCs are fighting over scare, limited seats, key important issue is - going forward, do fellow Singaporeans feel that they still deserve priority ?
I have the same questions like you. If Singapore is good and worth their kids to travel to and fro from Monday to Friday then why after so long they have not convert to SC :skeptical:
Why why why ? Because they want to have the best of both world. To study in Singapore (our educational system is well known over the world) and yet to be able to return to their country or anywhere in the world just not in Singapore. -
Blessedwife:
You seem to imply that Singapore has the best education system in the world. In my opinion, the only advantage singapore's education system has over Malaysia is its bilingual policy, with English as the main language at that. And English is a useful language to be equipped with. Other than that, they probably saw Singapore as not that an attractive place to live and retire in. And what's wrong with wanting the best of both worlds? The only people who are unhappy with others having the best of both worlds are probably those who don't have it.phtthp:
:goodpost: good point
I have the same questions like you. If Singapore is good and worth their kids to travel to and fro from Monday to Friday then why after so long they have not convert to SC :skeptical:
Why why why ? Because they want to have the best of both world. To study in Singapore (our educational system is well known over the world) and yet to be able to return to their country or anywhere in the world just not in Singapore. -
rains:
For practical reasons. logistics, etc.
Back to the topic, I don't see why giving priority, and unlimited vacancies at that, to Phase 2A is wrong. Any normal, logical parent who takes pride in his own alma mater would want his kids to study at his own school. If I had lived in the east, I would want my own kid to study at my alma mater as well. I find it incomprehensible why parents want to register their kids in other schools unless their alma mater have been closed down or they are ashamed of their alma mater.
Many parents are practical as compared to being sentimental.
Why not put it this way. if you are so proud of your alma mater, why don't you move to a place near it?
Isn't it doing a kind favour to your kids so that they do not have to travel long distance everyday to reach the school?
I find it incomprehensible why would a parent torture the kids to force them to enter a school far far away. just bcoz it is their alma mater.
or, are your comment only apply to rich kids who does not need to take school bus or public transport and get chauffeured to school every day?
btw, I couldn't find my primary school in the MOE list anymore. -
rains:
And what's wrong with wanting the best of both worlds?
Nothing wrong.. at all.
There is also absolutely nothing wrong in a citizen wanting to reserve/protect the precious resource such as education for their own kind.
so, if you are not a citizen and do not intend to be one..
Don't expect the citizens to welcome you for a piece of the pie at their precious resource and enjoy the \"best of both worlds\" at their expense. -
Practicality - you said it. That's exactly why people want to register at phase 2A, so that we don't have to scramble for limited vacancies at phase 2C, so that we don't have to go through the stress of balloting and uncertainty of whether we would get that seat.
For practical reasons. logistics, etc.
Many parents are practical as compared to being sentimental.
Why not put it this way. if you are so proud of your alma mater, why don't you move to a place near it?
Isn't it doing a kind favour to your kids so that they do not have to travel long distance everyday to reach the school?
I find it incomprehensible why would a parent torture the kids to force them to enter a school far far away. just bcoz it is their alma mater.
btw, I couldn't find my primary school in the MOE list anymore.
If I'm certain that my child would have a place at Nanyang/RGPS/Scgs, why would I want to pull my hair out vying for a place at say, Marsiling Primary?
It's only common sense, not rocket science. As long as it doesn't take two hours of travelling, most parents would want their kids to study at their alma mater. Hardly incomprehensible. But then again, like I said, some people are not able to understand or appreciate the sentiment of an alma mater, for that I can't explain as it baffles me.
Oh, to answer the obvious, not everyone can afford a house at Bt Timah or other prime areas to be near their alma mater. Believe me, if I had four million dollars to burn, I'd shift immediately to save my kid the insufferable agony of traveling for an hour on public transport. Er that's sarcasm by the way. -
That's underhanded, personal attack and I am not going to entertain that, just so that the ugliness of xenophobia doesn't take over this thread.rains:
And what's wrong with wanting the best of both worlds?
Nothing wrong.. at all.
There is also absolutely nothing wrong in a citizen wanting to reserve/protect the precious resource such as education for their own kind.
so, if you are not a citizen and do not intend to be one..
Don't expect the citizens to welcome you for a piece of the pie at their precious resource and enjoy the \"best of both worlds\" at their expense.
Just remember don't take advantage of the currency exchange to 'enjoy the best of both worlds'. -
Aiyoh,
not everyone can afford the property next to the alma mater lah. What if the house he could best afford is 3km away from school.
So alumni phase is the only phase whereby pp who can't afford to move near to the school have the best chance to study in a good school which so happens to bethe alma mater. :boogie: -
The current system of P2A without taking into consideration the home school distance and admits all makes a mockery of the policy's intention of a child should study in a school near their house.
Over here, P2A children may come from 3km, 5km, maybe 8kms and the authority accepts that. Over there, for P2B and P2C, why is home school distance suddendly so relevant that everything is determined by that leh?
Just don't understand why over here and over there different treatment lor.
Discuss only hah, cannot fight one hah!

Correct me if I am wrong but I believe there is distance priority in phase 2a.
The only difference between phase 1, 2a (group a) n phase 2b,2c (group b) is there is no cap on group a.
Someone in this forum said balloting at phase 2a was conducted by a school some years agoโฆanyone remember this or can confirm this? -
There is no distance priority in phase 2A
which is why the outcry.
No la. Balloting was never done at phase 2A in the history la. Maybe you misread what I typed earlier on: I said that I would really have to ballot IF the number of children registered at phase 2A doubled that of the previous years - because I saw that it doubled at phase 1 and phase 2A1.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.