PM Lee: What future do you want for Singapore?

525 Posts 50 Posters 113.9k Views 1 Watching
      lynntan15

My wish list…

To do away with Normal Technical in Secondary School. All students should be given a chance to do "N" level or "O" level at their appropriate age. If the kids still don’t do well by "N" level, then, going to ITE will be the alternative route and not the ONLY road for NT student.

• G Offline
        GLORYmum

The obligation to impart Correct moral values becomes a secondary task in school as academic pursuits determine the success or failure and labelling of a good or unpopular school.

Thus the duty of such is left to the parents who work day and night some into the wee hours to keep their job secured and to fight off the competition from FTs who are flooding the job market.
        Thus the duty is passed on to their helpers who have their own set of moral values which may or may not be quite suitable.
        Then, Some helpers pass this sacred duty to the tv set or internet which we all know will inculcate double sided values often the more popular ones but not necessarily the correct ones.
        Who are we to blame when the kids do wrong or become socially irresponsible ?? They are stressed very stressed too as they are streamed again and again at such young age. They are forced to mature earlier than they rightfully should by competitions between peers, schools and parents and the fear of elimination from the race.
        This is the meritocratic society we are living in where there is only competition and the fittest survive while the weak is streamed away and sidelined so as not to become the stumbling block of others.
        This is not the society I wish to live in.
        I wish that our children and their children enjoy their childhood and live like children.
        世风日下 道德沦陷 功名优先

• KissguramiK Offline
          Kissgurami

•\tInfant Care cost is severely high hence it is deterrence to young couples. Additional Subsidized Infant Care and government regulation on fee hikes as each time there is a subsidy. The centers will also increase their fees which makes the subsidies irrelevant.

•\tDesignated Infant Queue at Polyclinics to help families who are unable to afford PD or private care. The current waiting time is 1 – 2 hours since the queue is lumped together.
          •\tEnsure bilicheck is made available across private and government clinics
          •\tRe-look at the waiting time at KK Children’s
          •\tMandatory reduction for K1 and K2 class size from 25 to 15. This is to facilitate active and interactive learning.
          •\tPrimary School Classes should reduce from 30 to 20 classroom size.
          •\tOffer support and funding to the sports scene. If you take a look at the Badminton, Tennis or other websites, it shows lack of engagement for young people who would like to try the sport in a competitive manner.
          •\tAbolish COV and impose penalties if someone flouts the rule by doing under table payments.
          •\tLook at the real estate properties and what justifies for them to triple hike rental fees which cannibalize small shops and give way to monopoly. This is stifles people who wish to start a business in a retail front.
          •\tSTOP trying to make everything NEW!
          •\tAllow the option of maximizing CPF to cover maternity bills instead of a CAP.
          •\tIntroduce Science from P1. (without grading please)
          •\t1 month paternity leave and 20 days flexible paternity leave during first 18 months of the child.
          •\tCCL is capped at 6 days overall. Regardless of the number of children, the total childcare leave entitlement for each parent is capped at six days per year until the year the child turns seven years old. This is as if they expect kids to fall ill all at the same time :s . CCL should be staggered to the number of kids you have.

limlim

GLORYmum:

Thanks limlim for the advice. I am a newbie on ksp, was expecting discussion in more amicable fashion rather than aggressive and interrogative manner.
            well.. some will tend be a bit like \"aggressive and interrogative\".. you can engage in healthy debate with your reasoning or ignore them if the style is unacceptable to you..

of coz there will also be discussion in amicable fashion as there are other members too.. 😉

Anyway, you are free to voice your opinions and state what you want for SG. 3B is also free to voice his opinion/comments (even if he appear aggressive).. bcoz he may feel that what you want for SG maybe \"not in the best interest of SG\"? (subjective, of coz).

We respect freedom of speech ya? So we respect what you say as well as allowing him to express what he wanna say (as long as its not personal).

Just don't reply him lor.. if you feel uncomfortable.. :evil:

limlim

Regardless of whether we agree or disagree with another person's view, I feel we should not attempt to exclude anyone, or express that someone is unwelcomed.

We support freedom of expression ya?

You can choose to engage, or ignore, a particular person if the style is not comfortable for you.

But chasing someone away seems.. un-gentlemanly leh..

Daddy 😧

[quote=\"Imami\"]I don't think Daddy D mean any harm/offense. You don't take it to heart. 😄

Dun worry, I can handle myself. I think's he's just clueless.

Haha! Really is 冤魂不散.... 🕺 🕺[/quote]

Daddy D

Regardless of whether we agree or disagree with another person's view, I feel we should not attempt to exclude anyone, or express that someone is unwelcomed.

We support freedom of expression ya?

You can choose to engage, or ignore, a particular person if the style is not comfortable for you.

But chasing someone away seems.. un-gentlemanly leh..
                Internet censorship ver1.0.... Only hear the good stuffs. 😆
                Now we know why SG needs so many laws...

limlim

What I want for SG

Efficient, Clean, Reliable and Affordable public transport.

I feel that the govt should do whatever it can do to encourage public transport. For those who seek more luxury, they can take taxi also.

Public transport like trains, buses, is more EFFICIENT. Per liter of fuel burnt carries more person from one place to another compared to private cars, where the fuel is expended in carrying metal more. WASTE fuel and causes unnecessary POLLUTION.

How about taxi? let look at the space occupied by each vehicle on the road. A taxi and a private salon car occupies around the same space… But a taxi probably spend >50% of the time ferrying pple around, whereas a private car spend like 90% of the time in the car park occupying a parking lot on land scare Singapore doing NOTHING!

Also, I feel that LTA and TP could step up their patrol and arrest those inconsiderate pple on the road who modify their vehicles illegally or never maintain their vehicles causing a lot of air and noise pollution to our environment.

Upz for a Cleaner and Greener Singapore!

LOLMum

I want a 清正廉洁 政府。 you can be friendly buddy with the rich, but should the friends 犯法,there shouldn’t be any close one eye or go easy intervention by anyone in the govt .

Singaporeis very small, though most of us might not be a friend of a friend or you know me, I know you, there are still some groups whereby it is "I know u, u know him, he knows me"…let’s not be like one such country whereby the rich has too much of say n power.

limlim

What I want for SG

Extra school holidays like 10th Aug, youth day etc… should be made into public holidays so that parents can spend more time with kids.

Extend childcare leave entitlement to parents until the kid completed PSLE.

pirate

What I want for SG *non-debatable*?

No freakin' nuclear power plant, no matter how \"safe\" it's supposed to be. :lightrod:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 53