PM Lee: What future do you want for Singapore?

525 Posts 50 Posters 113.9k Views 1 Watching
      Lshawn

Daddy 😧
      http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/pms-national-day-message-what-future-do-you-want-singapore

[quote]What should Singapore’s future look like?

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong offered his answer in the National Day message which was aired at 6.45pm on Wednesday evening.

He named three things in particular: the country must offer hope for the future, it must have an inclusive society and it must be a home that everyone loves.

To help achieve that vision, he announced that a new ministerial committee would be set up to conduct a broad-based review of policies. It will be chaired by Education Minister Heng Swee Keat and will include a number of younger ministers.
      Hope for future: Invest more in our children's development
      Inclusive society: Increase CPF contributions for PRs
      Home that everyone loves: Less crowded and less condo launches
      :celebrate:[/quote]Haha..this is funny

Daddy D

Lshawn:

Haha..this is funny
        FTW... and you saved this for your 10th post... 😆 :rotflmao:

Josephcmtan

GLORYmum:
          Josephcmtan:

It is a seriously problem. Our pace of progress is just too fast and everyone feared that our children be left behind. All these pressure and anxiety makes one wonder if they want parenthood. I have eaten all my words about not concerning about the social norm. Today all my 3 gals attend montessori plus attending enrichments. KS mindset lah. This mindset very difficult to reversed. Even if all expenses taken care off, the kids still need your TIME and ATTENTION. Now how to manage that? Only have 24 hours/day. i have to give my time to 3 kids and my wife. Shiong!!!

Precisely !!! Teachers teach less and expect the children to learn more from their tutors ! Non-gep teachers complain they are given the \"privilege\" to teach bigger class size.

Were our parents ever more KS than us? Sometimes i envy them as they are spared from the agony and anxiety state we have become in our chase for faster page of progress ! The fear of lagging behind ... ... :stompfeet:

My time, my mum very down to earth. Cannot study go work. Relief her burden. Save some time and learn from society's school of hard knock. I am so scared tt I forced myself to study. Am average student but still managed to get to uni with no tuition. Tdy, kid have no fear. They know that we the parents will find a way for them. I think tt is the difference. I have told my gals. Can study, study. Otherwise go and go to the society and work ur way up. If u r not happy, than go back study. I have friends who have gone astray, only to rtn sch years later. At tt age, with maturity, they do well actually. Of coz e qns do we have the stomach to see our kids suffer.

Also tdy's student study to pass exam. Not interested in knowledge. I teach in sec and poly and am disappointed when I shared outside textbook, e kids say waste of time. At this rate, no need to study Liao. Just google lor.

Hope tt moe cut down class size to 1 to 20 and air con the classes. Put all the bosses in a non air con rm to justify my point. educate kids beyond academic. Teach them how to manage problem, stress and cope with failure. Isn't these prob awaiting for our kids in life.

Govt not easy job lah.. They can only provide the basic. If we want more than work smarter and harder lor. Otherwise just look across the water and thank God that we are actually in a ok environment. actually the more is given, e more complacent we become and the more we want. How to satisfy everyone?

Daddy D

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1220098/1/.html
            [quote]Only 2 per cent of companies reported that they would be increasing staff salaries by more than 5 per cent.
            A slight majority of 52 per cent of respondents reported that they are currently finding it tough to hire Singaporeans.
            The remaining 48 per cent stated that they are not encountering any such difficulty.
            The majority claim that Singaporeans are too choosy when it comes to the nature of work, working conditions and hours and workplace location.
            Twenty three per cent of respondents said Singaporeans are demanding too high salaries while 20 per cent of companies reported that they simply received no response to job advertisements.[/quote]I hope SG employers stop saying SG employees are choosy and demand high salaries. How to get married and have kids?
            要马跑又要马不吃草.... :faint:

Daddy D

I want all the \"si ginnas\" to ROM 1st before they can have COE...

Complain no $$ to get married and have kids, but got $$ to buy car into their 1st jobs :faint:

• 3 Offline
                3Boys

1) I wish Singaporeans would think about the impact of policy changes before suggesting them and raising a hue and cry when ignored

2) I wish Singaporeans would think before they hit the ‘post’ button on forums

3) I wish Singaporeans would think about getting off their bums and doing something about an issue before complaining about it to ah gong

4) I wish Singaporeans will regain their ‘can-do’ spirit and just get on with getting things done instead of always looking for handouts.

5) I wish Singaporeans would stop this ‘us versus them’ attitude to the foreigners who help build our nation, consume goods and services, and pay taxes. The British welcomed Mo Farah (5K/10K gold winner emigrated from Africa, trained in USA) into their fold, we should do the same to our sportsmen holding red passports.

All definitely OPEN to challenge or debate, no point posting otherwise.

Daddy D

又来指桑骂槐...

妈妈, 坏小孩又来了.... :faint:

Imami

1) I wish Singaporeans would think about the impact of policy changes before suggesting them and raising a hue and cry when ignored

2) I wish Singaporeans would think before they hit the 'post' button on forums

3) I wish Singaporeans would think about getting off their bums and doing something about an issue before complaining about it to ah gong

4) I wish Singaporeans will regain their 'can-do' spirit and just get on with getting things done instead of always looking for handouts.

5) I wish Singaporeans would stop this 'us versus them' attitude to the foreigners who help build our nation, consume goods and services, and pay taxes. The British welcomed Mo Farah (5K/10K gold winner emigrated from Africa, trained in USA) into their fold, we should do the same to our sportsmen holding red passports.

3Boys, if I can add on to your suggestion:

3) I wish Singaporeans would think about getting off their bums and doing something about an issue instead of complaining about ah gong

• 3 Offline
                      3Boys

Imami:

4) I wish Singaporeans will regain their 'can-do' spirit and just get on with getting things done instead of always looking for handouts.

5) I wish Singaporeans would stop this 'us versus them' attitude to the foreigners who help build our nation, consume goods and services, and pay taxes. The British welcomed Mo Farah (5K/10K gold winner emigrated from Africa, trained in USA) into their fold, we should do the same to our sportsmen holding red passports.

3) I wish Singaporeans would think about getting off their bums and doing something about an issue instead of complaining about ah gong

I actually think its ok to complain to ah gong for valid things, but its only valid after one has made an attempt to understand it fully and made an effort to do something about it.

Imami

Imami:

[quote=\"3Boys\"]1) I wish Singaporeans would think about the impact of policy changes before suggesting them and raising a hue and cry when ignored

I actually think its ok to complain to ah gong for valid things, but its only valid after one has made an attempt to understand it fully and made an effort to do something about it.[/quote]Oh no no, I am not saying “cannot complain to ah gong”. What I am trying to drive at is blaming ah gong for anything and everything.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 17 / 53