PM Lee: What future do you want for Singapore?
SilentHermit:
:goodpost:
Governing a country is a complex issue. Not many people can see the complex network of things, of how a single policy can affect other aspects of the societies. Usually people speak up about issues that are directly related to their industry, immediate environment or families. The job to really understand the impact of policy is to be done by the 130,000 strong civil servants, only they have access to real data. However, they must learn to do polcy recommendations with their hearts and with Singaporeans' interest at the center. In any case, policies in Singapore are not put to vote. Even if all oppositions vote against it in parliament, their numbers are so tiny and will not make a difference. Internet and forums have become an avenue for people to voice their concerns, different from last time when only coffee shop talks take place. Government should learn to read what people are saying in such venues, otherwise, they are going to miss the points again, just like before GE2011. Meanwhile, people should continue to speak their minds even it those issues are related to only their immediate community.3Boys:
1) I wish Singaporeans would think about the impact of policy changes before suggesting them and raising a hue and cry when ignored
2) I wish Singaporeans would think before they hit the 'post' button on forums3Boys:
For many years since nation independence, the government was allowed to do whatever they want. While most of the policies were good, some of them sucks, but because of their strong mandate and strong track record, they listen very little to us Singaporeans. Then came 1995 when internet was introduced here, a more educated population emerged at the same time, now things have changed. People began speaking up and as more and more people do, others follows - some mild in tone, some harsher in approach. When people feel that they have a stong cause to talk about, they start by sharing with people who are liked-minded (more societies, associations and social groups/networks are formed over time to represent their point of views) (getting off their bums to do something).. Unfortunately, because these civic/social groupings are usually small in size, their voice cannot make much of a difference. The truth is major voices from big unions and organized groups are usually moderated. Just take NTUC for example, the largest workers union here, who are/were the main people heading it? Be it a union or an industry association, as long as they are mentally pro-government, do not expect them to make much difference for ordinary folks. I would like to think that all these members joining unions and associations thought they were doing something to make a difference (getting off their bums to do something).3) I wish Singaporeans would think about getting off their bums and doing something about an issue before complaining about it to ah gong
4) I wish Singaporeans will regain their 'can-do' spirit and just get on with getting things done instead of always looking for handouts.
Internet, on the other hand, is not regulated and is free for all to voice their concerns 24/7. This is when you see the out pouring of unhappiness from people from all walks of life over the last years. While they are complaining or higlighting their concerns here or there, Singaporeans definitely are doing it at the same time, working hard and moving our economy (think where all the growth come from if Singaporeans do not have the can-do spirit)
Another can-do spirit we are also seeing is the trend of people joining opposition parties. If one do visit a opposition rally in GE2011, it will be clearer that Singaporeans are beginning to speak up and also seen to be speaking up, unlike my parent's time when they were afraid of some repercussion after speaking up.
Talking about handsout.. well, the truth is, Singapore government is very rich and who makes it so? It is none other than Singaporeans, past and present generations. We are all economic resources, channelled into producing economic results. Taxes, COE, ERP, GST, corporate tax.. you name it, are nothing without us, Singaporeans. What we are saying now is, look here, things have become lopsided, areas where we need to pay atention, please do something about it. Example of a focused usse can be Singaporean population declining, do something about it. More general issue would be like - we are stressed up! We are all stake holders here, those money belongs to us, not the government. Asking injection of funds into somewhere needed is not asking for free handsout, we are merely saying, due to some stupid policies, inability to address issues early, poor foresight, you have created a mess, lets try to fix it now. If the fixing requires money, so be it. That is how government all over the world balance things in the society, absolutely nothing wrong about it.3Boys:
In the area of foreigners, I will talk about it next time. But on the issues of foreign sportmans, I personally see no glory in getting a medal when it is won by some imports. I would be very proud of a Singaporean climbing a mountain or getting a medal, but not some talent head hunted from overseas to help us get that title. Honestly, I feel nothing when a medal is won that way.5) I wish Singaporeans would stop this 'us versus them' attitude to the foreigners who help build our nation, consume goods and services, and pay taxes. The British welcomed Mo Farah (5K/10K gold winner emigrated from Africa, trained in USA) into their fold, we should do the same to our sportsmen holding red passports.
SH -
Lilac66:
I wonder what is the spirit of Olympic games?GLORYmum:
1/3 of athletes in Team GB are immigrants from countries including Cuba etc.
GB surely more comopolitan than SIN?
I agree. I see quite a few Chinese table -tennis players with the angmoh teams. Wondering if there's such \"backlash\" in their countries also.
It's all about getting the best person for the job and rewarding accordingly.
to win, to win at all costs? or to celebrate sports? to test the limits of men? Does it matter where the fastest men come from? Is it still meaningful if sportsmen are imported? If cannot win, so be it lah.. If SG cannot produce top sportsman, so be it lah.. is \"winning\" so important?
Not as if we'll get a holiday if there's a medal for SG.. if it is really THAT important..
Of coz SG can invest in sports and train our pple. If they can achieve.. good.. if not, just accept that SG cannot produce the fastest runner or swimmer.. Why must try ways and means (like importing) to win a medal..?
Importing someone to create something like silicon valley seems more practical.. -
and you just did it[/quote]All 3 of you, fear no women in the forum to castrate you....just get pressure from the women here to pro-create with your wives and contribute to the country so there is less pressure on the women here to pro-create, that would be pro-active from you instead of being defensive!!!
Quote for the sake of quoting.. :evil:limlim:
[quote=\"3Boys\"]
As to the procreation issue, I better not say too much here, before all the women in the forum decide to castrate me!
Cheers
Just do it!!! cheering for you! :celebrate:
surely you meant 3Boys . :evil: :evil:
All 3 of you, fear no women in the forum to castrate you....just get pressure from the women here to pro-create with your wives and contribute to the country so there is less pressure on the women here to pro-create, that would be pro-active from you instead of being defensive!!!
I wonder what is the spirit of Olympic games?Lilac66:
[quote=\"GLORYmum\"]
1/3 of athletes in Team GB are immigrants from countries including Cuba etc.
GB surely more comopolitan than SIN?
I agree. I see quite a few Chinese table -tennis players with the angmoh teams. Wondering if there's such \"backlash\" in their countries also.
It's all about getting the best person for the job and rewarding accordingly.
to win, to win at all costs? or to celebrate sports? to test the limits of men? Does it matter where the fastest men come from? Is it still meaningful if sportsmen are imported? If cannot win, so be it lah.. If SG cannot produce top sportsman, so be it lah.. is \"winning\" so important?
Not as if we'll get a holiday if there's a medal for SG.. if it is really THAT important..
Of coz SG can invest in sports and train our pple. If they can achieve.. good.. if not, just accept that SG cannot produce the fastest runner or swimmer.. Why must try ways and means (like importing) to win a medal..?
Importing someone to create something like silicon valley seems more practical..[/quote]
International success attracts commercial sponsorship and govt support which brings along enthusiasm among the young. A vicious cycle really.
No news no interest no support no money no hope. -
GLORYmum:
and no GLORY
No news no interest no support no money no hope. -
and no GLORYGLORYmum:
No news no interest no support no money no hope.
VK, you very fast on picking up things like that har.. :evil:
:rotflmao: Oi, 3Boys got 3 boys already leh.. :evil:
surely you meant 3Boys . :evil: :evil:ksi:
All 3 of you, fear no women in the forum to castrate you....just get pressure from the women here to pro-create with your wives and contribute to the country so there is less pressure on the women here to pro-create, that would be pro-active from you instead of being defensive!!!
Agree.
nicely written..SilentHermit:
SH
:rotflmao: Oi, 3Boys got 3 boys already leh.. :evil:[/quote]
surely you meant 3Boys . :evil: :evil:verykiasu2010:
[quote=\"ksi\"]
Yah then can Liao Lar. Environmentally frenly.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.