PM Lee: What future do you want for Singapore?
surely you meant 3Boys . :evil: :evil:
All 3 of you, fear no women in the forum to castrate you....just get pressure from the women here to pro-create with your wives and contribute to the country so there is less pressure on the women here to pro-create, that would be pro-active from you instead of being defensive!!!
Just do it!!! cheering for you! :celebrate:
I wonder what is the spirit of Olympic games?Lilac66:
[quote=\"GLORYmum\"]
1/3 of athletes in Team GB are immigrants from countries including Cuba etc.
GB surely more comopolitan than SIN?
I agree. I see quite a few Chinese table -tennis players with the angmoh teams. Wondering if there's such \"backlash\" in their countries also.
It's all about getting the best person for the job and rewarding accordingly.
to win, to win at all costs? or to celebrate sports? to test the limits of men? Does it matter where the fastest men come from? Is it still meaningful if sportsmen are imported? If cannot win, so be it lah.. If SG cannot produce top sportsman, so be it lah.. is \"winning\" so important?
Not as if we'll get a holiday if there's a medal for SG.. if it is really THAT important..
Of coz SG can invest in sports and train our pple. If they can achieve.. good.. if not, just accept that SG cannot produce the fastest runner or swimmer.. Why must try ways and means (like importing) to win a medal..?
Importing someone to create something like silicon valley seems more practical..[/quote]
International success attracts commercial sponsorship and govt support which brings along enthusiasm among the young. A vicious cycle really.
No news no interest no support no money no hope. -
GLORYmum:
and no GLORY
and no GLORYGLORYmum:
No news no interest no support no money no hope.
VK, you very fast on picking up things like that har.. :evil:
:rotflmao: Oi, 3Boys got 3 boys already leh.. :evil:
surely you meant 3Boys . :evil: :evil:ksi:
All 3 of you, fear no women in the forum to castrate you....just get pressure from the women here to pro-create with your wives and contribute to the country so there is less pressure on the women here to pro-create, that would be pro-active from you instead of being defensive!!!
Agree.
nicely written..SilentHermit:
SH
:rotflmao: Oi, 3Boys got 3 boys already leh.. :evil:[/quote]
surely you meant 3Boys . :evil: :evil:verykiasu2010:
[quote=\"ksi\"]
Yah then can Liao Lar. Environmentally frenly. -
and no GLORYverykiasu2010:
[quote=\"GLORYmum\"]
No news no interest no support no money no hope.
VK, you very fast on picking up things like that har.. :evil:[/quote]
GLORYmum:
Come to think of it, do Paralympic winners in Singapore get the same entitlement as the Olympic medalists?
International success attracts commercial sponsorship and govt support which brings along enthusiasm among the young. A vicious cycle really.
I wonder what is the spirit of Olympic games?Lilac66:
[quote=\"GLORYmum\"]
1/3 of athletes in Team GB are immigrants from countries including Cuba etc.
GB surely more comopolitan than SIN?
I agree. I see quite a few Chinese table -tennis players with the angmoh teams. Wondering if there's such \"backlash\" in their countries also.
It's all about getting the best person for the job and rewarding accordingly.
to win, to win at all costs? or to celebrate sports? to test the limits of men? Does it matter where the fastest men come from? Is it still meaningful if sportsmen are imported? If cannot win, so be it lah.. If SG cannot produce top sportsman, so be it lah.. is \"winning\" so important?
Not as if we'll get a holiday if there's a medal for SG.. if it is really THAT important..
Of coz SG can invest in sports and train our pple. If they can achieve.. good.. if not, just accept that SG cannot produce the fastest runner or swimmer.. Why must try ways and means (like importing) to win a medal..?
Importing someone to create something like silicon valley seems more practical..[/quote]
The reason why we do not have local talents I feel is because our government's focus has been on academics. Without the culture and environment for it, how can we breed local talents? the change came about when the sports school was started, also kids can DSA to their dream school thru sports. However, it's only in the infancy period. If we have sports people winning medals, esp Olympic medals, the passion for it will slowly but surely be generated . Seeing that there's \"future\" for sports youths, these parents will not \"wince\" if their children decide to focus on sports. With a larger pool, the chances of local bred talent winning international competitions will probably be higher.
However, my annoyance is when these foreign imports have gained so much from Singapore, they decide to go away to seek greener pastures. There should be some contractual clause stating that they spend some years here nuturing our local youths before going away.
Remember our mediacorp's predecessor SBC? We had a very inexperienced TV making unit. When SBC was first formed after RTS, we had mostly Hong Kongers who helmed the unit.We then made our very first TV serial.After many years of understudying these people, the reins have been handed to our local people. I'm esp proud that our mediacorp's CEO is our very own home grown talent.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.