Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 439.3k Views 1 Watching
      Imami

keroppi:
      Imami:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]Anyway, why is it important to know a child's IQ? Unless you suspect the child has a learning disability or is immensely gifted.

neither! My question was triggered by 2ppaamm’s post on the different categories of giftedness.

Otherwise it's just an exercise in vanity. In my opinion anyway. 🙂
      agree on this.

If you were to ask me, I would also say no need to know one lah. My kid entered and sail through 3 yrs of GEP without much help from us - up till now I have no idea which catergory he belongs to and if he is even \"gifted\" :? But back to the topic if \"is GEP really necessary?\" ... for me it is a \"yes\", it benefited my kid a lot - the curriculum suited him. It's not for everyone though, I have seen others doing badly or hanging on with lots of tuition or parents busy doing their kids' projects.[/quote]is it in SG context “no need to know”? I am just very curious… but no, I am not disillusioned or anything like that - my child is not gifted. I just hope to understand more.

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

:censored:

ruohoo97

2ppaamm:
          ruohoo97:

Oh, 2ppaamm, why not you write a book, about educational system, educational experience, gifted or not-so-gifted so on, I am sure it will be very popular.

I know this is a cheap excuse, but I have no time. Or better excuse... I have got things I want to spend more time on. Have some papers to write, have my patents that I want to exploit, have some kids I need to mother to, have this husband I want to make this home nice, nice to, have this boy going NS, have these girls wanting to become the next Lee Ka Shing, have the littlest ones I have to make lunch boxes for everyday, have meals to cook 4 times a day, have new recipes to try everyday, have house to sweep and laundry to do, have a growing bunch of young adult students whom I want to nurture, have a bunch of colleagues I need to add value to... also have an absolutely fantastic boss to be accountable to. Haha.

So maybe when one or two of those tasks are done, I will write something. Meanwhile, KSP is simply great! I know my voice will not be heard and my opinions will not matter in higher places, already tried those. They are too good for my suggestions, opinions or experiences, so I know my place, and am simply happy with whatever small audience I manage to draw. :imcool:

It is certainly a EXCUSE!. You can get up to post on KSP at 6:23am and talk, talk talk for (how many pages has gone through?, I am afraid i have lost the track)....certainly you got time to write! 😂

• Z Offline
            Zann

keroppi:
            Imami:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]Anyway, why is it important to know a child's IQ? Unless you suspect the child has a learning disability or is immensely gifted.

neither! My question was triggered by 2ppaamm’s post on the different categories of giftedness.

Otherwise it's just an exercise in vanity. In my opinion anyway. 🙂
            agree on this.

If you were to ask me, I would also say no need to know one lah. My kid entered and sail through 3 yrs of GEP without much help from us - up till now I have no idea which catergory he belongs to and if he is even \"gifted\" :? But back to the topic if \"is GEP really necessary?\" ... for me it is a \"yes\", it benefited my kid a lot - the curriculum suited him. It's not for everyone though, I have seen others doing badly or hanging on with lots of tuition or parents busy doing their kids' projects.[/quote]Same here. My ds has been enjoying the past three years GEP courses and we parents enjoying the pleasure of not having to get involve too since he could do it by himself. The most is we ensure he keep to his schedule for his work submission. Still remember at P1 -3 we tend to get negative feedback from tr , be it not paying attention or classroom discipline issue... :sad: So long as he his happy with his school life, we dun chip in to help , we dun bother if his project will be selected for presentation as sch tr will guide him along. So for us it is a yes as it benefited him.

ammonite

Zann:
              Still remember at P1 -3 we tend to get negative feedback from tr , be it not paying attention or classroom discipline issue... :sad: So long as he his happy with his school life, we dun chip in to help , we dun bother if his project will be selected for presentation as sch tr will guide him along. So for us it is a yes as it benefited him.

This is heartening to hear! 🙂

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

ruohoo97:
                2ppaamm:

[quote=\"ruohoo97\"]Oh, 2ppaamm, why not you write a book, about educational system, educational experience, gifted or not-so-gifted so on, I am sure it will be very popular.

I know this is a cheap excuse, but I have no time. Or better excuse... I have got things I want to spend more time on. Have some papers to write, have my patents that I want to exploit, have some kids I need to mother to, have this husband I want to make this home nice, nice to, have this boy going NS, have these girls wanting to become the next Lee Ka Shing, have the littlest ones I have to make lunch boxes for everyday, have meals to cook 4 times a day, have new recipes to try everyday, have house to sweep and laundry to do, have a growing bunch of young adult students whom I want to nurture, have a bunch of colleagues I need to add value to... also have an absolutely fantastic boss to be accountable to. Haha.

So maybe when one or two of those tasks are done, I will write something. Meanwhile, KSP is simply great! I know my voice will not be heard and my opinions will not matter in higher places, already tried those. They are too good for my suggestions, opinions or experiences, so I know my place, and am simply happy with whatever small audience I manage to draw. :imcool:

It is certainly a EXCUSE!. You can get up to post on KSP at 6:23am and talk, talk talk for (how many pages has gone through?, I am afraid i have lost the track)....certainly you got time to write! 😂[/quote]My dear, I am in a different time zone, today is a public holiday. 😉

ruohoo97

:snuggles: opps, sorry i forgot that. ok patiently waiting.

ForumWriter

2ppaamm:

To be very honest, my son found the topics not challenging at all at GEP. Tell you what is really hard for him to cope. The expectations of the teachers that he could not understand at all. Not the work. I found it complicated too, that they cannot mark their students' work and have to meet with 8 other schools etc etc. That they could not understand the vocab he was using. This is comical to me. Sometimes, I think the teachers are just as lost, and kept looking for MOE for directions. :siao: On one hand, they are the best teachers, on another, they cannot handle the kids. What's wrong with these folks. And then, have to mark together? 😆
                    Once again, I would like to point out that the word \"best\" has many definitions.

What is a \"best\" teacher? A teacher who can make the lessons interesting? A teacher who has lots of academic knowledge? A teacher who is hardworking and dedicated?

I'm inclined to feel that GEP teachers are those who are able to make the lessons interesting. They are able to engage and facilitate the discussion of ideas.

Besides, the meeting with other teachers is probably to standardise marks, not so much as to discuss on what the essay means.

No one ever said that teachers must have more out-of-syllabus (general) knowledge than students. Didn't I just show you that the GEP kid taught the GEP teacher how to solve a 3-dimensional Schroedinger equation (solution is vastly different for different elements, quarks, bosons, fermions and leptons)?

But that doesn't mean the teacher is incapable. As long as the teacher is able to inspire and empower, he/she has done her job.

ForumWriter

ForumWriter:

Sadly, this doesn't work outside of GEP, because everyone will misunderstand and say you are an arrogant elitist.
                      2ppaamm:
                      When you are truly bright, there are people holding guns out ready to shoot you, looking for your faults and your 'hao-lian-ness'. And with this terrible attitude, he is asking for maximum trouble. Problem is, GEP has the problem of breeding this sad, false, overinflated ego within the children.
                      Point proven. 2ppaamm is definitely not from the GEP.

That's exactly why GEP students can't continue this once they have left the programme.

Too many people focus on \"holding guns out ready to shoot\", but don't reflect on themselves why they gave others an opportunity to make that statement in the first place (i.e. why they are unable to score well). Most of the time, it's simply because they didn't concentrate and didn't work hard, not because they are much less intelligent. If a student is only slightly less intelligent than his/her peers, as with students in top schools, hard work can still make up for the disparity.

Academics is not simply a matter of intelligence. Didn't my statement above just prove that competitive spirit can drive people to achieve greater heights through hard work?

People need to learn to quit denouncing others as \"arrogant\" and \"elitist\" and learn how to deal with such remarks. People need to learn to react positively instead of letting emotions take over.

In the future, if the boss says \"you suck\", are they going to work harder or sit back in a corner and cry?

• 2 Offline
                        2ppaamm

ForumWriter:

Sadly, this doesn't work outside of GEP, because everyone will misunderstand and say you are an arrogant elitist.

2ppaamm:
                        When you are truly bright, there are people holding guns out ready to shoot you, looking for your faults and your 'hao-lian-ness'. And with this terrible attitude, he is asking for maximum trouble. Problem is, GEP has the problem of breeding this sad, false, overinflated ego within the children.
                        Point proven. 2ppaamm is definitely not from the GEP.

That's exactly why GEP students can't continue this once they have left the programme.

Too many people focus on \"holding guns out ready to shoot\", but don't reflect on themselves why they gave others an opportunity to make that statement in the first place (i.e. why they are unable to score well). Most of the time, it's simply because they didn't concentrate and didn't work hard, not because they are much less intelligent. If a student is only slightly less intelligent than his/her peers, as with students in top schools, hard work can still make up for the disparity.

Academics is not simply a matter of intelligence. Didn't my statement above just prove that competitive spirit can drive people to achieve greater heights through hard work?

People need to learn to quit denouncing others as \"arrogant\" and \"elitist\" and learn how to deal with such remarks. People need to learn to react positively instead of letting emotions take over.

In the future, if the boss says \"you suck\", are they going to work harder or sit back in a corner and cry?

:rotflmao: of course not. i'm too old! during our time, we don't even know our PSLE subject results unless we did splendidly. i was fortunate to do well enough to know i topped my psle cohort, which does not mean a thing. 😆

We are at different levels, as you clearly pointed out, I'm not interested to talk about my credentials to prove my point, and apparently, this is important in this discussion. I think you have forgotten that many parents here are great achievers, from PhD, to professors, to scholars, high ranking government officials, who are writing in nicknames. Some might have become homemakers but nonetheless smart and capable. \"Elitist\" has nothing to do with which school you come from, or which stream you went to. If by that definition, I am an elitist, too. But I am not. People don't mind working and chatting with you, and will never call you an elitist if you are humble and fun to work with, and not excessively competitive, or talk no end about where you come from. Humility is the key to survive, as I have learnt. GEP+lack of humility is the worst combination ever. With your humility, people are kinder to your mistakes, gentler with their comments, easier with their promotions, and more generous with their goodwill. And, no matter how great we are intellectually, everyone of us benefits from grace and mercy. Well, I have said enough, I guess you will have to figure that out when faced with those problems real-life.

So, here. I'm out of here :siam: because I am not GEP, as most parents old enough would not be, as you have clearly pointed out, and I am sure you will be enlightened on what I said one day. BTW, no boss has ever said I suck, and as a boss, I have never ever said that either, there's always a civilized way of putting things, and attract people saying civilized things to us and I never had to sit in a corner and cry, and neither have I made anyone cry save same retrenchment. I work hard not because I want to be better than my colleagues, but because I want to add value to the organization and contribute to the society as whole so that my existence counts with a good purpose. Consequently, I am always a top performer at all my jobs for the last 20+ years. When the competition is within and not without, the achievement and inner peace transcends the temporal trophies you can get from beating your closest competitor. It is something so profound, no GEP can teach you, neither can I, only life can. Unfortunately, in many schools, societies and especially in GEP, they teach the opposite, stressing the importance of senseless competition, and the joy of beating just a peer.

And, we don't have to be emotional about things, especially in KSP. I am never emotional about things outside family, so I guess that's not targeted at me. :imcool:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 36 / 154

EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo