ST 23/8 Teacher cuts pupil's hair, mum files police report
btw the photo of the boy before the teacher cut his hair showed that the fringe was indeed long and looked like he was in need of a haircut actually :evil:
If the boy did not do well bec of this 'trauma', then I think he was simply too 'sheltered' for his own good. -
True, true....over zealous teacher.
The teacher newbie ah?
Really 自找麻烦....
Just let the examiner penalize the pupil if really the case...
Waiting for the teacher's parent to call mata also... :siao:
But, if pupil are being penalised. Teacher will still be blamed by parent. Probably be asked why never take immediate action to prevent it from happening.
Really not easy to be a Teacher in Singapore. -
The Principals also side with the parents...Eh..I read from the New Paper just now - thought the school did sent out reminder letters to those children who need haircut before PSLE Oral. It is the boy who forgot to give his mum the PN.
So now, who is the more embarrassing one ?
So the teachers are always wrong...
LPPL...
No pride being teachers nowadays... -
Me thinks teacher geram already after repeated warnings. Dont think this is a one-off run in with this young punk. So she blew a fuse. During exams, many FTs equally stressed. But she needs to be sent to notti corner to reflect on her behavior.
This mother hor, should know better la. When in primary school, teach your son to follow school rules. Want to be trendy, there is a time and place. And the price of haircut?, dont make others laugh, keep the amount to yourself. Tsk tsk. -
In this case really lah. The teacher went overboard. Was there any attempt made by the teacher to talk to the parents before taking this action? If having a proper haircut is so crucial the proper thing would have been to call the parents up at the very least 1 day before.
The Principals also side with the parents...fightingmom:
Eh..I read from the New Paper just now - thought the school did sent out reminder letters to those children who need haircut before PSLE Oral. It is the boy who forgot to give his mum the PN.
So now, who is the more embarrassing one ?
So the teachers are always wrong...
LPPL...
No pride being teachers nowadays...
Insisting that the kids abide by the school rules is not wrong, how she went about it though, is not exactly ideal. -
I also think the biggest joke is the $60 haircut...
:rotflmao: -

I also think the biggest joke is the $60 haircut...
should be $120 bec they made another trip to restyle the hair after the 'trauma' :evil: -
Initially, the haircut costs 7.6 times more than my boy.
Now, 15.2 times.
And my boy is only in Sec 1 who pays $7.90 to Malay barber. Furthermore, the Malay barber can do all sort of stylish cut at the same price. $120 self-pawned. -
The teacher was too extreme in my opinion. If she wanted the boy to give a good impression to the examiners (as TNP article states), she could have made sure the boy’s hair was neat by the day before. And if she deemed it really necessary, wield the scissors to him then (although I don’t endorse this). Why go up to the boy minutes before his Oral, ruffle his concentration and shake his confidence by giving him an amateur haircut? Strikes me that the teacher was out to ‘get’ him and the other boys because her instructions were ignored.
CookiesMonster:
True, true....over zealous teacher.Daddy

The teacher newbie ah?
Really 自找麻烦....
Just let the examiner penalize the pupil if really the case...
Waiting for the teacher's parent to call mata also... :siao:
But, if pupil are being penalised. Teacher will still be blamed by parent. Probably be asked why never take immediate action to prevent it from happening.
Really not easy to be a Teacher in Singapore.
Teacher is very inexperienced in handling disciplinary behaviour. I've never heard any teacher cutting the kids hair, but the parent should just focus on the issue on not on the $60 or $120 haircut.
Becoz of the cost of the haircut, it's more justifiable for her extreme actions?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.