Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 442.8k Views 1 Watching
    • 2 Offline
      2ppaamm

[quote=\"Sun_2010\"]

LJ has good support of his sec school, so how come it becomes MOE's failure I dont see. Yes he was not talent spotted early on but once his calibre was known , he has been provided with good support.

Precisely Sun! LJ is a good example of not having to go thru the pain of doing English the GEP way and yet getting a good support in other ways to pursue his passion. I thought he was a positive example of our education support system but somehow he has been construed and made to look as a negative example for GEP screening failure. *thud* :faint:

poor LJ....kena left and right[/quote]No lah, never kena, he is the hero. šŸ™‚ :please: so proud of him and his parents, also will be proud of Sheldon when he achieves the same things. Both worked hard and deserve all the credits, GEP or not.

Chenonceau

Rightly or wrongly... I had assumed that Lim Jeck owed his achievements to his parents. Why would the MOE claim credit for LJ's achievements in mainstream? In primary school, in a class of between 40 to 44, I doubt he was much better taught Math than others. In mainstream, would he have achieved what he did to get into NUSH WITHOUT mathematician parents?

When students do poorly in mainstream, it is the parents' fault. When students shine in mainstream, the system is robust?

:?
        I believe his mother has made it clear that he would suffer the GEP English.
        This statement is response to which question of mine above? I don't quite see the link to my comment.
        Btw his parents are not mathematicians, they own an IT business.
        http://wwwdontmesswith6a.blogspot.sg/2012/08/mad-about-maths.html

The newspaper clearly states that the parents did the enriching in Primary school. The school looked good because he won. His parents enjoy Math... like Math... good at Math (so are Mathematicians). Maybe in secondary, the school was important in bringing out his talent. But certainly not BEFORE he got to NUSH. So I still don't see how this shows up as MOE's success.

If his parents had not enriched him in Primary school, he would be nowhere today... maybe in and out of IMH?

• E Offline
          Edureach

2ppaamm:
          Edureach:

In NS, to get to know their mates, the following are some of the most common questions as far as jc cohort is concerned:

1. Which jc?
          2. What's your rank pt?
          3. Which uni and course, both local and overseas.

Among my ds' company which includes future doctors, lawyers, accountants, engineers, teachers, businessman, public servants etc, no one not a single one ever mention he hailed from gep.

His is an enhanced leadership batch which includes some of the top psle scorers and many from the dream schools that we parents hope our kids will study there.

That should be the way! But your DS time no DSA advantage, right?

At that time, yr 2005 psle cohort, my ds didn't apply because he prefered to gain admission thru his T-score.

Also to share with u here, all new soldiers share their woes and happiness training together irresspective which uni or courses one is heading to.

Family background and academic prowess take second place here is more of being broadminded, social skills, the practice of leadership and the humanities.

Off for lunch now. Nice talking to u!

Trapwithin

osim:
            She is an all rounder but she wants to be a writer. She may not earn much if she does that unless she becomes next JK Rowling but it's her life...as long she is happy and living in coherence with what she think is good for her šŸ˜‚

You are a very wise mom.

If his parents had not enriched him in Primary school, he would be nowhere today... maybe in and out of IMH?
              no lah! is the parents at KSP argue until siao liao

Chenonceau

no lah! is the parents at KSP argue until siao liao

:rotflmao: Gotta go work now. Thanks for the light moments.

Trapwithin

Mychildren:

Hi, my DS's friend got in too because was prepared before hand. So I do somewhat agreed on the above in blue. I don't want to say so much cause his mum might be reading this.

You must be kidding to expect a 100% accuracy.
                  1. MOE can only try their best to be prudent in their processes to minimise but cannot eliminate. There is definitely a % of HA in there because between 1% and 1.1% any difference?

2. If that child is trained, the child already has the pre-requisite of innate ability. My personal experience is all those that I know who trained, DID NOT get in...and trained a few years...but academically doing above average in mainstream.

Actually, the word \"training\", \"hothoused\" might meant differently to each individual. Some treat \"training\" as sending for GEP Prep class, but some treat \"training\" simply as knowledge acquisition, learning new things. One is driven by passion, the other driven by goal. Passion will definitely go a longer way.

Whatever the definition might be, I still think it cannot be truly \"trained\". The kids must have certain ability to understand. For example, we teach a kid \"Fraction\", they must be able to understand the concept, if not, when the question twist ... they will not be able to solve the question. Or a certain EL vocal list, they can surely memorised and use the words, but usually there will be a lack of \"flow\" in the comp.

My point is certain knowledge just cannot be \"forced-feed\" into a child. Thus it is important to keep them learning at a pace that they are comfortable and happy .... of course occasionally we can stretch them a bit .... but stretching them based on our/society expectations ... will back fired somethings - it snaps.

keroppi

Trapwithin:

Whatever the definition might be, I still think it cannot be truly \"trained\". The kids must have certain ability to understand. For example, we teach a kid \"Fraction\", they must be able to understand the concept, if not, when the question twist ... they will not be able to solve the question. Or a certain EL vocal list, they can surely memorised and use the words, but usually there will be a lack of \"flow\" in the comp.

My point is certain knowledge just cannot be \"forced-feed\" into a child. Thus it is important to keep them learning at a pace that they are comfortable and happy .... of course occasionally we can stretch them a bit .... but stretching them based on our/society expectations ... will back fired somethings - it snaps.
                    I tend to agree with this.

The child must have some innate ability to understand concepts at a higher level even if they were to go through training.
                    As a matter of fact, I never knew such preparatory classes existed (such exorbitant fees too!) until I joined this KS forum.

Trapwithin

atutor2001:

(d) HA kids who are not passionate about their study and who forget to wake up will disappear.
                      They just disappear from the education system, but might be very successful in life later on in their lives .. we just do not know. šŸ˜„

• NebbermindN Offline
                        Nebbermind

keroppi:

I tend to agree with this.

The child must have some innate ability to understand concepts at a higher level even if they were to go through training.
                        As a matter of fact, I never knew such preparatory classes existed (such exorbitant fees too!) until I joined this KS forum.
                        Perhaps it's coz u didn't see GEP as a die-die must have. Your kids in pretty good schools, ya?
                        Getting transfer out may not be such a good thing sometimes...lose your affiliation status and come PSLE....PANIC!!! :stupid:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 90 / 154

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        andychuaxoA
                        andychuaxo
                        karen2010K
                        karen2010