Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 447.4k Views 1 Watching
    • NebbermindN Offline
      Nebbermind

You all need so much liang teh for what hah? Personally, I only need when Nebbermind's avatar appears. Whoooooooo! That one... I tell you... **hyperventilate**

Actually I'm :skeptical: abt wats going on with Nebbermind's hand under that leaf... keeps moving back n forth. But face remains straight.

Coz I m focusing on your avatar mah! The smile will come later :rotflmao:

*gasp*

Oh well... as long as it helps release uptight-ness. :politebleah:

Dnls_mum.. your posts rockz! :boogie: I loike! :please:

Did your DS eventually get to ...
          1.....do the SS topic he wanted?
          2.....not do it cos teacher didn't agree to?
          3.....to do it and score? :evil:
          4.....do another cos he can get distinction for it?

Ps how come ds is horrendous in Chinese when you n hubby are good?
          It's my assumption since both of you come from schs with rich heritage as well as himself.

tck

Focusing on small class sizes and low student-teacher ratio, the teaching sector (primary and secondary) is one where I would definitely welcome FT. What does everyone think? Of course must be quality teachers lah. Since we need many more teachers to achieve small class sizes, and given Singapore's \"limited talent pool\" (a phrase so often used by the powers that be), why not hire from the global pool? We haven't been shy about hiring FT in almost every sector of the economy.

But I think one reason this won't happen is the fear that these global teachers might bring their liberal thinking and influence our young ones šŸ˜›

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

Dnls_mum:
              2ppaamm:

This is like a chicken and egg situation. Why take in so many foreigners when the infrastructure is not even enough for our own? FT worries me a lot, and I see it here. I am an FT here, we top the schools, we go into better courses in the uni, get better jobs, and the locals are jealous, we get the same advantages, we own their lands, we lead their people, we get the scholarships. One day, I shudder to think, Singaporeans in our own lands will be like this.

Haha...so people take from your country, and you go take from other people country lor...hehehe. Same everywhere la! Maybe got a KSP forum in your adopted country now discussing this every same topic too :rotflmao:

hehe... exactly... why not? But them coming into Singapore does not hurt me one bit leh... at least not at the point I left, except that I cannot speak my Singlish and got called \"mum\" when I am not their mother.

The problem is, every first world country is short of people, every one is trying to attract people to their shores. In the event, we focus so much on attracting foreign talents, we forget to look after or groom our own. It is happening everywhere.. but, as a well-paid government, I thought we should expect more... apparently not. Nvm. I just use my credentials to the max lor... like the FTs who go to Singapore. šŸ˜‰

So roughly know their mentality... not what the government think hor... they not FT right? Only FTs know what FTs think... :evil:

Dnls_mum

Dnls_mum.. your posts rockz! :boogie: I loike! :please:

Did your DS eventually get to ...
                1.....do the SS topic he wanted?
                2.....not do it cos teacher didn't agree to?
                3.....to do it and score? :evil:
                4.....do another cos he can get distinction for it?

Ps how come ds is horrendous in Chinese when you n hubby are good?
                It's my assumption since both of you come from schs with rich heritage as well as himself.
                We let DS do the one he chose. Didn't ask him to change. No distinction, just got merit. šŸ˜„

DH Chinese good, mine so so. I was the worst among my friends in Hwa Chong :rotflmao:

DH and I communicate in English with some Chinese. I think we are all so comfortable with English after joining the work force, especially since we both work for ang moh companies. We made the mistake of speaking to our kids in English since they were young. When DH subsequently tried to speak to them in Mandarin, they all ignore him! :rotflmao: The ultimate is when my daughter came home from kindergarten one day and say that she is English and not Chinese since she speaks English not Chinese!! 😢

So now stuck with kentang kids lor. Maybe also because my parents help us with our kids and they don't speak Mandarin, just English and dialect. :skeptical:

• 2 Offline
                  2ppaamm

Realized it is a load of bad English. so delete this.

Dnls_mum

tck:
                    Focusing on small class sizes and low student-teacher ratio, the teaching sector (primary and secondary) is one where I would definitely welcome FT. What does everyone think? Of course must be quality teachers lah. Since we need many more teachers to achieve small class sizes, and given Singapore's \"limited talent pool\" (a phrase so often used by the powers that be), why not hire from the global pool? We haven't been shy about hiring FT in almost every sector of the economy.

But I think one reason this won't happen is the fear that these global teachers might bring their liberal thinking and influence our young ones šŸ˜›
                    Actually I had Brits for teachers when I was in JC. And I agree that they have influenced my thinking. My mentality is a little different...hmmmmm more anti establishment?.... :nailbite: I wonder if there are still Brit teachers around??? Actually true that cannot have all like them :rotflmao:

• 2 Offline
                      2ppaamm

Dnls_mum:

So now stuck with kentang kids lor. Maybe also because my parents help us with our kids and they don't speak Mandarin, just English and dialect. :skeptical:
                      :rotflmao: mine also kentang, with kentang thinking and kentang accent. Whenever they go back, they have to learn their Singlish to communicate and then switch back. šŸ˜†

• 3 Offline
                        3Boys

Why the distraction around the casinos? A point was made about spending more on education and basically I think we want to take a long hard look before we leap down that path.

Some folk are really masters at morphing and distracting a discussion when an uncomfortable point is made.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 127 / 154

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo